No Pakistani among all-time greats

KARACHI, Aug 29: The renowned Pakistani cricketers who excelled with their superiority over the years in international level matches have been ‘ignored’ by Wisden in its latest bookThe Best which includes 40 leading players in the world.

Surprisingly, no Pakistani player is in list of “All-time greats” and “The Almost-greats”. However, star batsman Inzamam-ul-Haq finds place in “The Merely Excellent” category, alongwith Graham Thorpe, Chris Cairns, Anil Kumble, Darren Gough, Damien Martyn and Ricky Ponting.

Other star performers Waqar Younis, Wasim Akrum, Saeed Anwar are in the list of “The Elder Statesman” alongside Allan Donald, Alec Stewart, Gary Kirsten and Mark Waugh.

Saqlain Mushtaf is included in “The One-day Specialists” with Michael Bevan, Jonty Rhodes, Lance Klusener, and Sanath Jayasuriya.

Other prolific players Abdul Razzaq, Yousuf Youhana and Shoaib Akhtar have not been recognised by Wisden - The Best.

Others in all time greats are Steve Waugh, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Shaun Pollock, Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne.

In the almost-great category are; Adam Gilchirst, Jacques Kallis, Rahul Dravid and Andy Flower.-PPI

http://www.dawn.com/2002/08/30/spt2.htm

I think this is about current players.
If they are talking about current players then Wasim atleast should be there.

If past one then atleast Javed and Imran should be there.

If they are talking about Current IN-FORM players then they might be right.

If it is about current players then Waugh shouldn't be there. It says all time greats.
If it is all time greats then i think whoever compiled it hasn't seen crikcet before. To leave out Imran, Wasim, Waqar and Javed. There must be something wrong.
Do you have the actual list?

Wisden is just another media made joke! :nook:

who cares....
un ke kehne se koyee player to nahin ban jata na....

** Steve Waugh, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Shaun Pollock, Glenn McGrath and Shane Warne. **

Its amazing how Mcgrath and Pollock are iin the list but not the best left-armer ever :smiley:

Pur sanoun ki :hula:

just biased goras that's all.

Re: No Pakistani among all-time greats

It is absolutely beyond me how Kallis and Dravid can be almost-great whereas Inzi lurks in only the excellent catregory.

Pollock, McGrath and Waugh make it ahead of Imran, Waqar, Wasim and Miandad???

This is ****ing stupid. Whoever came up with these awards deserved to be hung by his balls in the nearest chowk. Idiot! What a piece of ****e ICC and Wisden is.

You know something. We should complain against this load of bull crap. A reasonging/rating system/whatever should be demaned of the judges to see what criteria was used.

:kaboom: Inzi Is The Best :kaboom:

kya jhoot kaha mayn nay??

*Originally posted by dewana tera: *

kya jhoot kaha mayn nay??

Nahin Yaar :D

:hehe: :hehe: :hehe:

Ehsan uncle plese move this post to jokes forum or how about starting a new sub forum “sports jokes”

Cud any one post the complte list

No Imran , No Javed, No Wasim, No Waqar, No Inzamam, No Saeed, No Salim Malik, No nothing and wisden is compiling All Times Greats :hehe:
wisden lacking wisdom :slight_smile:

Re: Re: No Pakistani among all-time greats

:hehe: :rotfl: :hehe:

Lets nuke wisden web site :slight_smile:

BW ji is it the same Wisden you were praising so much after they didn’t include any of Sachin’s Innings in TOP 100 ??

Apni baari aayee to It lacks WISDOM ?? :hehe:

Speaking of Wisden, I'm still shocked to see Azhar Mahmood's century against South Africa is ranked no 7 in the list of all time great individual performance.
Along with VVS Laxmans 281 and Lara's 153.
Those innings were the match winning performance but where did Azhar Mahmood come from.
I will pay anybody anything to see that match.

I don't think they are biased since they have bunch of Indians and Srilankans in the list.

They are just plain dumb.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Speaking of Wisden, I'm still shocked to see Azhar Mahmood's century against South Africa is ranked no 7 in the list of all time great individual performance.
Along with VVS Laxmans 281 and Lara's 153.
Those innings were the match winning performance but where did Azhar Mahmood come from.
I will pay anybody anything to see that match.

I don't think they are biased since they have bunch of Indians and Srilankans in the list.

They are just plain dumb.

And who are those Indian and Sri Lankans????
Phir hawa me baat karne lage?any proof?