No love after arranged marriage

Hello beautiful people.

A friend of mine (male) had an arranged marriage about 4 months ago, they are not living together yet due to their jobs, but they will be from jan’feb, anyway he has been very upset and withdrawn ever since the marriage and when i talked to him he told me briefly that:

when he met the girl there was nothing to say no about, she was pretty, religious, good family and education and seemed to have nice manners and so he said yes, no she is still polite with good manners etc but he does not feel anything for her at all.

She has told him how he feels about her but he doesnt say it back because its not fair too and she is now very upset and so is he because he is upsetting her but at the same time feels she is not the girl for him.

He has fallen out with his parents over it because his parents are angry with him for being this way:S which i dont understand!

Any advice people? Im not married so i dont have THAT much advice.

Re: No love after arranged marriage

Tell him to Man up and take responsibility Marriage is not about love but about making compromises.

Guys like him think it's okay to ruin anyone's life. Was he pressured into this? If he was given the right to make the decision then hes being a jerk. You cannot ruin a girl's life because 'oh now that we are married, I don't feel anything for you.'

he says he was pressurised because his parents said there is nothing to say no about, they dont believe in 'getting along' or love.

It's better to go against marriage and face the fire rather than get married and then ruin some innocent girl's life.

I agree he needs to man up, now that he is married you have to make it work, and have no choice! Its not like he can back out, he has no real reason too! When you put too people together there is no choice but to fall in love. Inshallah when they move in they will starting falling for one another! But in that mean time he should also share this with his wife, so she does not feel stupid for being vocal about her love.

so i should just tell him to grow some a p***s?

Thats a bit insensitive isnt it?

I mean you can force yourself to like someone can you?

He doesn't have to like her, but he needs to respect her. At the end of the day it was his choice to marry her. He could have behaved like an adult and said no to his parents, but he chose to accept the girl. He cannot sit back and blame his parents for the choice that he made.

Being a girl, put yourself in her shoes and see how it feels!

well if there isnt any reason not to like her and he does not like her then maybe he likes someone else.

i think he just needs time.

or maybe he is mentally ill? in that case he needs professional help.

So true..

sometimes i do think he has some issues, because he has a very poor relationship with his parents.

He is very immature even at the age of 26 and he doesnt get women at all!

If i put myself into the girls shoes i would be devastated but i also know i wouldnt say i love you after like 2 weeks...and stop him from seeing his friends.

Maybe the issue is he is not used to compromise? as in she wants alot of time and attention and doesnt like him even working with girls on projects.

If there was absolutely no 'spark' or chemistry really he shouldn't have agreed but I do understand how difficult it is to stand up to parents in these situations, my brother would see potentials and when he said 'she isn't my type' my Mum would say 'why isn't she ur type, why?????', 'she's fair, she's tall, she's a doctor, she prays five times a day, why can't u like her???' Honestly trying to explain it to her was like talking to a brick wall. Then u get the emotional blackmail 'why did we come to this country, I gave birth to u, if I have a heart attack, high blood pressure, collapse etc. etc it will be ur fault.' A lot of desi parents just can't get their heads around the fact that sometimes two people need to 'click.' I do think generally girls are better at standing up to their parents than boys tho, prob cos boys tend to be brought up in a way that they're spoiled (not usually expected to do housework, not corrected as much as girls when their behaviour is out of order etc.) and as a result of this not emotionally mature :(

I don't mean to be nosy, but is there a chance that he doesn't "like" girls? You mentioned that he doesn't "get" girls. Most guys I know who were "pressured" by their parents aren't so ambivalent towards their wives after going through with the marriage. It seems like something else is going on here.

deeba i think you are understanding the situation the best, so if this was your brother what would you say ( not that your bro is silly enough to do this) but just hypothetically?

Amana i know for a fact he is sexually attracted to women, he just cant really understand them unless they are very very easy going.

Lack of trust issues can turn anyone (male or female) off. The girl needs to understand that the guy can't lock himself at home from the outside world and nor can he walk around with his eyes closed. He will come across women in the work place. And he might have to collaborate with female colleagues in group projects. These scenarios don't necessarily mean that he will develop romantic feelings toward these women. There needs to be trust. And it's unfair of her to demand that he stop hanging out with his friends. His friends were in his life before she ever entered. Married couples need to maintain friendships outside of each other. The KEY here is BALANCE and not to be on extreme or the other. Preventing friendships reeks of insecurity and that can be a huge turn off.

NOW....moving on to the GUY! Is he not aware of desi culture? Does he not know about the huge SOCIAL STIGMA attached to divorce? You said that this guy doesn't like to compromise. Okay, so that indicates he is stubborn. So, if he's stubborn........then why was he not strong enough to stand up to his parents and tell them that he wasn't going through with this rishta? That was pretty spineless. And now it's selfish of him to only think of how he is being affected and not consider how this will have a greater impact on his wife.

Alvena, based on the little information that you've provided us with, it seems to me that **BOTH **of them are doing or not doing things that are hurting their relationship. So here are some suggestions to reflect over:

1) Marriage is a HUGE adjustment for both parties and it's unreasonable to expect that things will be sailing smoothly from day 1. Plus, in an arranged marriage, where two people don't know each other, there will obviously be some awkwardness. So.......if they haven't been married for too long.......they both need to understand that adjustment and comfort take time to develop. And it's too soon to throw in the towel.

2) Do you know the girl? If you did, then you might be able to give her some suggestions. The guy needs to reflect over what it is about the girl's behavior that is turning him off. If she's being too controlling........then he needs to calmly discuss this concern with her. He can hang out with friend.........but make it up to her by taking her out the following day. He doesn't have to forget about his needs. He needs to learn that he can do what he wants with some compromising and consoling so that she doesn't feel rejected.

3) The guy is not being specific when he says that he doesn't feel anything for her at all. What is he EXPECTING to feel? What does he want to feel? Is it passion, arousal, interest, humor, affection, curiosity, WHAT? He needs to understand that you can't be in a constant mood all the time. One week you might be content, the next week you might be sad. Similarly a marriage can't always be happy and romantic. This guy needs to figure out what exactly his expectations are and he needs to keep them REALISTIC!

4) Is he making the effort to reciprocate in the marriage? Is making the effort to talk to her, spend time with her, go out with her? Perhaps the two of them are stuck in a boring routine. Perhaps they should take a vacation. Or go out places. Surprise each other with kind romantic gestures. Try involving each other in their lives/interests.

5) If the girl is breathing down his neck, she needs to loosen up. She needs to be more confident and trust him. She needs to give him a chance to MISS her a bit (some light playing-hard-to-get). They **both **need to work on compromising and patience. If the guy is still frustrated, then consider advising him with Islamic references or perhaps refer him to an Imam. Or perhaps he should seek advice from his married friends.

That's the best I can come up with. Can't think of anything else to add. Best wishes. :)

Redvelvet you have way too much free time.:) just kidding!

Pendu Ji,

You ALSO have waaaay toooo much free time to be telling me that I have too much free time. ;) Just kidding.

If they have not lived together and he is convinced she is NOT the girl for him for whatever reason then why should he force himself to like her??????

On the other hand, how will her life be ruined? Why does she want to live with him and ruin two lives- and potentially more like children in future or family members around, not to mention neighbors,.......?

Perhaps her qualities as described are not what he likes or she has other not so likable qualities or shortcomings.

This divorce social stigma is over-rated at times.
It should be looked as case by case scenario.
Its alright to separate now than later.

i think the girl has sum mental issues. she shud stop watching bollywood movies so she can learn not to fall in love with ppl after 2 weeks. now when she knows that the guy is not into her so y she still wanna be married to him? is she really that desperate?:hmmm:

they better not wait for a miracle to happen cuz its nto gonna.