In the article Cowasjee says that Jinnah had predicted that there is no hope for this country. Is it Pakistan or India?
No hope for Pakistan; get out when you can: Cowasjee
KARACHI: The country is going to break up in the years to come and everyone who can, should pack up their bags and leave, advised Ardeshir Cowasjee to those who turned up to hear him reminisce about Karachi at The Second Floor (t2f) Friday.
“Pack up and leave if you can. There’s no hope for this country. Jinnah said, ‘Each successive government in this country would be worse than the previous one,’ and his prediction is coming true,” Cowasjee said. “In the very first article that I wrote after the entire judicial crisis started in March, I told Musharraf: ‘A good soldier always knows when to retreat.’ Retreat, damn you, the time has come!”
Re: No hope for Pakistan; get out when you can: Cowasjee
:) Well, on Cowasjee's view first, I think he's the best and his views hold great weightage. What he's saying is what we all undeniably feel from a personal perspective at one time or another, anti-Mush or Pro.
BUT, whenever he or any other smart guy with a tongue and nerve, says anything about Pakistan's hope or grim future, I refuse to listen.
Never Say Die was how Pakistan was made and Never Say Die is how it's going to survive! InshAllah!
when is cowasjee leaving? or is he afraid of going to some other country and being a bit player and nto have teh statute that he has?
as far as get out while you can, that sort of talk has been around since I can recall i.e. 80's, and as I hear my elders speak about events it appears that this talk had been around before that too.
This is not a laughing matter. It’s a very serious warning. What he is alluding to is that if mullahtic loonies and their apologists are not given the Ataturk treatment, they’ll destory the country. Because we all know how they like to curb freedom of speech. Hain na.
as far as get out while you can, that sort of talk has been around since I can recall i.e. 80's, and as I hear my elders speak about events it appears that this talk had been around before that too.
Much of Pakistan has got out, including yourself.
If Western countries granted visas to all Pakistani's applying, there would barely be anybody left in Pakistan
Much of Pakistan has got out, including yourself.
out of 160M ppl how mqany are overseas?
btw ..I never got out of Pakistan. I was not in pakistan to begin with.
If Western countries granted visas to all Pakistani's applying, there would barely be anybody left in Pakistan
yup if western countries granted visas or allowed students and temp work visa folks to stay on, there would be more pakistanis overseas.
a trend that has been present atleast since 70's or 80's. rememebr all those moin akhter jokes about dubai, i believe there was even a stage show called dubai challo.
I leave you with the punchline of amoin akhter classic "hum toh khud musqat mein betha hai"
It's disappointing but old people sometimes tend to over romanticize the past. Pakistan has survived many other worse crises. We'll come out of this one and be stronger Inshallah.
Cowasjee, worth the respect, but not when he freaks out and declares the boat is sinking and everybody should jump over! One should expect someone like Cowasjee to control his emotions to some extent... Seems the poor old mans taken detour towards senility.
No hope for Pakistan; get out when you can: Cowasjee
:
:
“Pack up and leave if you can. There’s no hope for this country. Jinnah said, ‘Each successive government in this country would be worse than the previous one,’ and his prediction is coming true,” Cowasjee said. “In the very first article that I wrote after the entire judicial crisis started in March, I told Musharraf: ‘A good soldier always knows when to retreat.’ Retreat, damn you, the time has come!”
And I am planning to move to Pakistan next summer sigh Help Allah mian help... plz!
This is not a laughing matter. It's a very serious warning. What he is alluding to is that if mullahtic loonies and their apologists are not given the Ataturk treatment, they'll destory the country. Because we all know how they like to curb freedom of speech. Hain na.
No. He's saying that Musharraf is absolutely the worst ruler (stand up Benazir haters) we have had in 60 years. Jinnah predicted as much 60 years ago.
damn yo, we dunn need to drag out benzir when we can point at Zia first. Benazir and nawaz were pretty bad as well. I actually liked nawaz when he first got into power.
we do need a change, and I am all for elections, lets get beyond this current quagmire. The nation however needs to realize that the various external and internal issues we are facing would still be there, and we would still need to tackle them and tackle them properly.
Will Musharraf listen to him and leave too? :p
will terrorist militants listen to him and leave? :)
forget them, would anyone listen to cowasjee and leave? I mean whoever wants to go, is out or is trying. Its not like someone who is happy, content and successful in pakistan reads cowasjee's column and runs to US embassy instead of going to work on Monday :D
Borrowing Musharraf's own terminology: The center of gravity of most problems faced by Pakistan today is the President himself. He's the constant in most equations. While the extremism problem will still be around after Mush leaves but most literature on the subject suggests that Musharraf has not been the best warrior in the war on terror, and that includes Pakistani authors.
damn yo, we dunn need to drag out benzir when we can point at Zia first. Benazir and nawaz were pretty bad as well. I actually liked nawaz when he first got into power.
chalo kaheen to "ittifaq" howa
we do need a change, and I am all for elections, lets get beyond this current quagmire. The nation however needs to realize that the various external and internal issues we are facing would still be there, and we would still need to tackle them and tackle them properly.
Along the same lines, ARMY needs to realize that if & when the civilian government fights those retarded elements out army MUST not interfere and take over by accusing the govt of "not able to handle situation...etc".