Re: Nikkah..
i agree....get all dressed up for pics and all...but keep the event itself simple...at a masjid or something. there is more barakah (bessings) this way.
I dressed up in a lehnga and all, had pics and videos taken, but the event itself was simple and intimate. I loved it!
the one's ive been to recently...the family had the nikkah's done at the local mosque and then held a reception (valima) at a later point.
it was v. simple and there was a nice lecture on the rights of the wife and husband in islam...in the mosque. its a nice beginning to a beautiful relationship.
do consider it sarah. :) inshaAllah
My Nikkah was done in a Mosque after Jummah Namaaz . both parties had quite a few relatives and friends during nikkah but I went there very simple. no dress up, no makeup and pictures extra. but I had Mehndi on my hands and feet:wub:
Then I had elaborated rukhsati a day after in a banquet hall
some advice from the highly acclaimed book: “How to have a proper Nikah - the do’s and dont’s”
your dress and your jewellery should be an afterthought, your guests should be your first priority
its all about the food. have great tasting appetizers…the more the better and atleast a six course meal with two vegetarian, two meat (desi), and two other main courses not desi. the dessert table should be a seperate issue. If you reside in the USA for example you must have both desi sweet dishes and non-desi desserts at the table.
DO hire a professional DJ. guests arent there to sit on their butts u know.
DO make sure the guests (esp close friends and bridesmaids) are
photographed and video’ed well and sufficiently.
DONT make it all about you, its not all about you ![]()
DONT get pissed if the bridesmaids dress better than you. ![]()
DO invite good looking guys at your wedding for the viewing pleasure of bridesmaids.
Lastly remember the importance of Thank yous. Thank bridesmaids and guests by handing them beautifully wrapped gifts like mint chocolate, jewellery, decorative candles on their way out.
follow these and It will all be good. ![]()
We had our nikkah the day before the actual leaving of the bride
for the groom's home. Does that count? :D
The nikkah was pretty simple, the imam came
at my wife's home, did the whole nikkah
ceremony in the presence of her immediate family
and mine. Afterwards, we had our uzbek traditions
done and they Pakistan's. But we both dressed up
so did everyone in our immediate families.
Eventhough the wedding was much more festive, the
nikkah was more intimate yet rich.
Oh yeah my advice, go all out. You get married only once.
Personally I think that nikkah should be a much bigger
deal than rukhsati. The reason is that islamically nikkah
is all there is to it to be married, the rest is all traditional.
Go all out and celebrate.
And congratulations again.
Sure, just don’t get pissed off when i come dressed lik ea dulhan to ur wedding ![]()
u’ll have four loud pesky kids with their nose running pulling at your hair by that time. u wont have the patience for a lengha.![]()
your dress and your jewellery should be an afterthought, your guests should be your first priority
**No, i’m selfish, i’m american, how i look is my first concern of that day ![]()
DO hire a professional DJ. guests arent there to sit on their butts u know.
you can do it for free :biggthumb
DO make sure the guests (esp close friends and bridesmaids) are
photographed and video’ed well and sufficiently.
don’t want a video made..save that for honeymoon ![]()
DONT make it all about you, its not all about you
**YES IT IS
i been lookin forward to this day for years, it is MY DAY **
DONT get pissed if the bridesmaids dress better than you. :)**
Don’t get pissed if i accidentally spill my salan on u **
DO invite good looking guys at your wedding for the viewing pleasure of bridesmaids.
**Dun be starin at my groom
Lastly remember the importance of Thank yous. Thank bridesmaids and guests by handing them beautifully wrapped gifts like mint chocolate, jewellery decorative candles on their way out.
**JEWELRY?? WTF ![]()
follow these and It will all be good. ![]()
Yeah these are good ideas actually ![]()
I am going through the same dillema with my parents..its actuall the other way around. i want to be a simple family thing but they want it to be sort of big, not too big but nice. They say the same thing aalhan said that you get married only once, try to make sure you dont have any regrets. Like my mother wishes she had had a bigger wedding, more friends, more clothes and stuff at her wedding.
Actually, the actual nikah was done at a masjid...men were in mosque and women at home..i wore a blue suit...and after that when the men came home...few cousins sang some songs..this was done in oman. The next day we had a function where i was dressed up in red and had makeup and stuff....because i had to sponsor my husband.....and we had to submit photographs and video for the immigration.
:LB:
Whine whine whine whine whine ![]()
Nikahs are supposed to be simple. A lot of people do it in the Masjid. We, however, invited the Imam at her house. She was in a simple dress and I was wearing khakis and a polo shirt (tucked in). Since there is khutba after nikah that you must listen to, I guess that's why there's no music. Having said that, if you want to do anything (music, dancing etc.) with friends later that night, it shouldn't be a problem.
hmmm my nikaah was done when i was 18 yaers old many years ago and i was like rukhsati wali dulhaan with light zewar and full make upand
haath paao pe mehndi, but my husband was simple with shalwaar kameez and proudly smile
We had a lot of gustes in the hotel, it was like a shadi function.
Rukhsati pe na haath mai mehndi na hotel mai gustes woh aayee aur hume le gaye aur hum chal diye
It might feel wasteful to spend so much twice.
Sara516 is desperate in getting married ![]()
Koi baat naheen Sara, ho jaeey gi tumhari Shadi kisis ABCD sey. don’t look for any inferior DESI… go for a superior “confused” DESI be it an American Canadian or British ![]()
That’s the way it should be done. Friday in a Musjid for the sake of Allah (SWT). Not those people who just come for the appetizers.
Sahar, I know, i just had that moment of being xtremely immature.
Shikra, if the rukhsati was gonna happen right away then I would not mind a very simple nikkah. It's only because rukhsati/shadi function is not anytime soon that I do want to celebrate my nikkah. Also because nikkah is the most important thing, that point we're actually married, so i feel it deserves more than just staying at home, not dressing up or anything. This is my personal take on it, of course every1 is welcome to have it their way, it doesnt mean that anyone who does something different or elaborate is any less deserving of blessings u knw? :)