Would you prefer a nikkah contract ensuring your rights/your woman’s rights?
and what would you like to include in such contract?
Re: Nikkah contract
the right to divorce him
(j/k)
pata nahin . allah hi behtar janta hai ![]()
I ama ctually gonna have that right inshaAllah
already spoken to him about it and he doesnt mind…
Umm yeah, all my rights better be stated in that thing.. im not leaving anything upto well meaning uncles and aunties , im not gonna be those grls who does nothing and lets everyone else control every aspect of her wedding.. im gnna have a say in everything..
that's nice*chameli 420 ..* it's good to have that right.
there are a few others about haq-mehr i think.
do discuss those as well.
islaqmk real;ly emphasis on them. n :)
Sara dear, I started having that opinion as well. Now after all the sarr khaapai with families etc, I am jsut fed up and just wants to get married.
When it comes to my nikkah contract I m however more stubborn about that than the wedding party itself. I have involved a local convert imam for consultancy to both of us. in such case noone can point fingers at me being a crazy girl wanting all her rights (socho zara we still need to worry abt such stuff in 2006!!!)
i just dont know what more to state in that contract. right to divorce will just provoce everybdy…but i m not gonna let it go!!
^ Whatever ure given rights are, ure haq meher, ure right to live without inlaws
ure right to work when u feel it wont interfere with ure home duties etc.. unfortunately its yet another sad disgusting thing abt desis, grls who want their full rights r crazy and greedy ![]()
u r so right sara..last night we weer discussing this and i felt bad abt asking my right to live without in laws written in my nikkah nama…
y is that we girls always have to submit at some level…it is just too much!
You gals should also give up you your "right" to interfere in the matters of your brother's family and total right of your sister-in-law to break away from her in-laws. Amen.
I wouldnt mind if my bro would live on his own.
haha the guys are going to hate this thread.
Personally, i think it's kinda sad that girls have to put these rights in a contract. Shouldn't they just be understood and known?
But yes, i think if you're going into an arranged marriage, it is important for girls to secure these rights. . . if you're going into a love marriage, at least for me, i saw no reason for that. He understands certain rights don't need to be put on paper, they are always there. . . namely the right to be treated like a human being and not be forced to do anything you don't want to (ex. live with in-laws, etc).
And yes, i don't care if my brother lives on his own. In fact, he is living on his own right now and after he gets married, it won't be an issue.
You know what? my bro lived on his own looooong before he got married and he lives on his own with his wife as well.. so thas a moot point
And u still gotta have ure rights stated whether its arranged or love..
I really think it depends on the relationship. I’m not a fan of prenups that’s why i wouldn’t. . . but then again, i also know him quite well.
but yes, i do believe that girls need to safe guard their rights.
anyways, sara, how come you don’t see me? I’M RIGHT HERE ![]()
I think gupshup si the best way for us to keep in touch.. MSN sucks :(
And u still gotta have ure rights stated whether its arranged or love..
Hmmm..... So no one plans to relinquish the right to interfere.
^ God forbid, my parents got sick, i would damn well xpect her to help out, as I would help out myself.. Just because ure not living with them, doesnt mean u dont care abt them, or ure gnna kick them out of ure life.. shiit what is wrong with u ppl ![]()
I can clearly see where it will head to.
I totally agree!!!
Actually you dont get the right to divorce him, its his right in islam, its actually stating in nikah nama that, he is withdrawing his right & nominating his right to you so that u can divorce urself.
I'd suggest rather than having a right to divorce yourself, it would be much better if u choose to have "Divorce by mutual agreement", then u can initiate the divorce proceeding (if needed) and you will have equal right.
Though nikahnama says, boy nominates his right to girl so that she can divorce herself but in true sense of Islam, he can divorce her anytime he doesn't need to give up that right.
You guys should put adequate amount of haq-meher, something u feel u want (not what others think u should have), u can alway delay the payment of haq-meher, also you can withdraw all or part of ur haq-meher.
Pocket-money: Most of the people dont even think about it, but it would be nice if a girl says she needs to have pocket money each month apart from regular expenses. Keep in mind the inflation & put the figure accordingly, u dont have to emphasise of the payment of pocket money but keep on reminding ur husband that this is what he should keep in mind or rather pay.
If you think that pakistani in laws are the only on this earth interfereing with couples matter then I think u have wasted ur lives living abroad or even born abroad, its human nature all nationalities & races do that. If u put that in ur nikahnama then be ready to have a nice life with ur husband, because then he has a right to put in the nikahnama ... that u cannot go & see ur family when u want (mutual agreement). So what u put think five times about it.
Good luck.