Nihari tips anyone????

I’ll be making Nihari soon following the packet directions.
Now I am not that good at following them sometimes.
Yeah even when they are right there in front
of my eyes.

Can you guys share some tips plz?
Things I must or mustn’t do.
Thanks.

Re: Nihari tips anyone????

i dunno what the packet says, but cut down on the flour, and add like a tsp of cornflour.

or go to pakistani resturant which is famous for "nihari"
and buy some

Heat the oil, then put 3 tablespoon ginger/garlic paste, stir fry quickly for 10-15 seconds , then put the meat and stir it quickly for one minute, then put the packet masala. Mix it quickly on medium heat. After 10 minutes stirring, add water as prescribed on the packet and simmer for 2-3 hours.

My mums from Dehli and she makes the best nihari ive eva had. I dont know how she makes it tho. I know its not from a packet. I must learn! But my mum says the packet mixes r pretty good as well. Let us know how it turns out Sajal.

mostly i use my own ingrediants and it taste yummy but shan nihari masla is good too,sometimes i made chicken in nihari style by this masala and it taste good,i fry garlic slices in oil then add chicken or meat fry it until it water dry then add shan masala .add water to it and cook until meat done and water dry then i i addfew tbs of yougert to it and cook ,then i take 1/2cupof soonfh and little pice of soonth and grind it with water and add this water ,chan ker dalna hai pani phir main pehlai maida bhoti hoo then i mix it with water and to the meat.and in last fry onion slices in seperate oil .when the golden brown,put some of them on the nihari and serve rest with green chillies ,lemonand green corrinaders leaves.

SAJAL: dont put AATA in the nehari in the quantity mentioned on Shan packet at once. Dissolve it in water and then add it slowly to Nehari. Normally you will end up adding only half of it (just keep on checking the texture)

You should learn from her and keep the tradition alive!

One more tip...adding like couple of paye haddiayan( u know the hooves:D) adds to taste a lot...I do that only for the bigger parties. btw we had nihari today...turned out really well...oh and also have u guys tried deep(as in flame, i think) ke frozen naan...they r really deliciousoo..as they turn out just like bazaar walle

best nihari directions

get in car
drive to devon'
go to sabri
order nihari
enjoy

Re: Nihari tips anyone???

^^ :D…I miss sabri nihari and frontier chicken:crying:

^^ me too :crying:

kyun ji dallas kay restaurant passand naheen aaye aap ko? :slight_smile:
al markaz and salt and pepper, or should I call it sod and paper based on their food quality.

sabri, usmania, JK, chopal, bhabis kitchen, khans BBQ

oh yeah.. I guess I will be hitting devon soon.

Yeh sab kya hia?

My tried and tested tips for making nihari using the packet mix:

Use a tiny amount of your own spices as well - all that you would normally use
Don't use the whole packet of masala - add half and see how it goes on, add more if required
Whisk the flour and water and add gradually

restaurants in chicago

1/2 cup of saunf???!!!
are you sure?

1/2 cup????

yes muzna i am sure,but i dont add sonf to the nihari ,i grind sonf and sonth with water and add this water to the nihari.not the sonfh