Heres Mr.Wakil Ahmed Mutawakkil, foreign minister of the taleban, in a march 12 snap. Is this allowed? (under the kind of rules that prompted them to destroy the statues?)
hate is their religion....
and bringing a bad name to islam
is their sole achievement...
k, EA, so what ur saying is : not that pure, are "we"?
X-comm...what Im saying is that there should be uniformity in one's approach to their belief. If they are extreme enough to delete harmless statues, shouldnt they be extreme about pictures as well? They cannot bring up loopholes in certain issues to bail themselves out, and be so extreme in other issues that they dont even stop to see what purpose their actions will serve.
All I know is that these people have spoiled the image of muslims.
often time I am shirminda because people simply relate Islam to them as if they are the true Islam. Islam means maroo maroo & qatal & its all because of the spoiled image.
Hypocrites ..bunch of hypocrites ..they are trying their best to ruin the image of Islam
for all those who fear of their “image” of islam:
keep on fearing. this has been going on for the past 1400 years.
for all those who fear Allah:
keep smiling
Allah knows what is in your hearts.
-mehndi
we fear so much of the world, that we even fear “fear” itself.
sheraz bachay.. aap ko kya pata what kind of sawab they might be recieving on any kind of actions that government has taken on any issue.
u only see what is occuring thru the western lens
can u tell me of 1 thing the pakistani govt has done in the way of Islam?
*zia-ul-haq gave a new name to interest (but it wasnt called interest)
* rumor has it that musharaf will abolish interest
*i'm not even going near bhutto and sharif
please becareful when u use the word hypocrite...it may jump back at u.
-mehndi
umm..i dont get it..isnt picture kheenchwana a gunah according to them?
'.......I always knew looking back on the tears
would make me laugh...
But i never knew looking back on the laughs would
make me cry......'
Roshnie quote:*All I know is that these people have spoiled the image of muslims.
often time I am shirminda because people simply relate Islam to them as if they are the true Islam. Islam means maroo maroo & qatal & its all because of the *
Roshnie I understand what you are saying , however, look @ it this way
a) Christians aren't 'sharminda' cuz of KKK who call for pure white Christians among other hateful beliefs openly.
b) Hindus aren't 'sharminda' cuz of xtremists like BJB & RSS who among other hateful messages & crimes, actually encouraged & sat quietly not only on t/ demolition of Babri Mosque (among others) but also failed to denounce t/ massacre of 5,500 plus Mulsims.
No doubt, Talibans did a crime against t/ Buddhist religion & its followers. Attention, ignorance, among other factors combined who knows??. And any1 who tries to justify this hateful act is indeed a person w/ double standard.
BUT, Why is Islam being scorned upon cuz of t/ actions of some ignorant, less fortunate people?? It's just an xcuse for t/ West & non-Muslims to justify thr hate for Islam and Muslims in general.
Originally posted by mehndi:
**sheraz bachay.. aap ko kya pata what kind of sawab they might be recieving on any kind of actions that government has taken on any issue.
u only see what is occuring thru the western lens
can u tell me of 1 thing the pakistani govt has done in the way of Islam?
*zia-ul-haq gave a new name to interest (but it wasnt called interest)
* rumor has it that musharaf will abolish interest
*i'm not even going near bhutto and sharif
please becareful when u use the word hypocrite...it may jump back at u.
-mehndi**
bachay ki bachi..these statues meant alot to some ppl..if they want to take it back on their expense then i dont know why talibans had to destroy them..i dont know what sawab they would get for this..and its not really a good idea to compare any govt with corrupted paki govt
they are making the religion hard and fast for the people itself, khud banda aik din tang aakar will run away!!!
~ mera Junoon, meri DIL KI BAAT hai!!!!
ji bachi keh bachay
well… i still say.. u really dont know what “exactly” is going on there… i’m not talking about the statues right now.. i’m talking about things in general. we had a speaker a few weeks back talking about the situation in afghanistan. he had actually been there. he told us about the girls’ schools, about the opium, etc. etc. (this is b4 the statues destruction). well, prior to that lecture, i had the same views, that taliban is doing this, taliban is doing that… but now, u really dont know what their intentions are.
i’m not there to see what is actually happening there b/c i get my information thru teh western lens. the same lens that placed blame of the Oklahoma bombing on Muslim Fundamentals when it was actually one of “us” (americans).
the same lense that didnt “denounce” the Babri Mosque destruction but just told the story “as it was.”
if the shia people can practice Islam according to their interpretation, and the Wahabis and the Hanafis and the Shafai’s.. then why can’t the Taliban practice Islam that brings them greater Emaan.
i fear Allah. and Allah alone.
only Allah knows which followers are right.
remember.. 74 fiqhs.
-mehndi
Your point is?
I can take a picture of a women in Burqa and keep her picture without her will, but what can she do? I have the picture right?
My point here is to know who took the picture and who kept it and who published it? Taliban?
ooo.. good point...
btw, I don’t see him looking directly into the camera and posing. It clearly shows that his attention was somewhere else because he is looking towards his right, not straight, like normaly someone will while taking a picture.
Is the picture taken in Pakistan? I thought so.
Ps. Catching a woman naked in the Amazon jungles and taking her picture doesn’t mean that she was posing for playboy. Nice way of twisting things.
[This message has been edited by ~Mickey~ (edited March 14, 2001).]
In addition to what Mickey said, who the hell are we to question their decisions? All the information we have so far, comes through our Western Media. Who do you trust more? Your Muslim brothers? or the Media which is always trying to destroy Islam's image?
And what the hell are you doing here? Instead of trying to prove your Muslim brother right.. you people are looking for proof to make them look the bad guys? huh? I ask you who the hypocrite is now? Naam musalman aur kaam musalmanoun kay khilaf?
Did you even care about looking thro some Afghani newspapers? bothered mailing/emailing their administration(or whatever) ? I'm pretty sure NOT!. And until and unless I get their side of the story too, I will not go to these limits to prove them wrong!
Originally posted by mehndi:
ooo.. good point...
Sarcasm I see?
no i meant u are right. i said u had a good point.
here’s a link to a bbc story which reflects other destructions in history
-mehndi