Newly converted couple stoned to death

India Abroad News Service
Sept. 18, 2000 19:48 Hrs (IST)

Sargodha (Pakistan): A Christian couple, who had embraced Islam, were stoned to death by the wife’s family near Sargodha in the Punjab province of Pakistan.

The husband, identified simply as Alam, and his eight-month pregnant wife Noreen Bibi embraced Islam a year ago after marrying against the consent of Noreen’s parents, NNI news agency reported.

Due to a backlash from the Christian community, the couple left their native village after marriage and settled in Sargodha, NNI quoted a report in The Nation newspaper.

Almost eight months after they settled in Sargodha, Saeed Masih, an uncle of Noreen, approached the couple and assured them the family had reconciled to their decision of becoming Muslims and marrying against her (Noreen’s) parents’ wish.

After Saeed Masih’s assurance the couple returned to their native village, where Noreen’s father, Bashir Masih, and her two brothers, Yaqoob Masih and Pervez Masih, were waiting with a pile of stones and bricks.

The family immediately attacked Alam first beating him up and then stoning him to death before turning to Noreen. Ignoring her pleas for mercy she too was stoned to death, the report added.

NARROW MINDED, INHUMANE, UNFORGIVING, HEARTLESS DOGS!
sowee ppl…but that is just !#@%$#!!!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad3.gif

It is very sad indeed. There's is absolutely no justification for this kind of behaviour. Whether it happens in Sargodha or Timbuktu. Whether the victims are Muslims or Christians.

I'ld like to know Mohabbat's point of view on this article.

[This message has been edited by outlaw (edited September 18, 2000).]

LOL..we'd all like to know mohabbat's point of view on any of the articles.....

I have heard stories of Christians in Pakistan killing in the name of "honour" i.e. "honour killings".

So sadly what this proves is that the evil of stoning people to death and so-called "honour killings" are sick cultural traits rather than anything to do with religion...<<

Well the Hindus and Sikhs and Budhhists and Jains and Bahais or in other words all the religions that originated in India do not have this tradition.

Stoning people to death is most famously condemned by Jesus Christ when he said whoever has never sinned is to throw the first stone.

So Malik bhai please talk for your own religion.

Originally posted by Andhra:
**>>So sadly what this proves is that the evil of stoning people to death and so-called "honour killings" are sick cultural traits rather than anything to do with religion...<<

Well the Hindus and Sikhs and Budhhists and Jains and Bahais or in other words all the religions that originated in India do not have this tradition.

Stoning people to death is most famously condemned by Jesus Christ when he said whoever has never sinned is to throw the first stone.

So Malik bhai please talk for your own religion.**

I can rest assure you Mr. Andhra, It was only a tradition in pre Islam Arab societies and it has nothing to do with Islamic law.

You might be pleased or displeased to know that "stonning to death" is not an Islamic (or Quraanic) confinement.

The incedent in question is purely an individual matter, no matter how cruel or un cultured, but Christanity or Islam is not to be blamed as non of the two doctrines has such impostition.

AS per the Indian traditions, it is considered to be an insult for any family where a daughter "committs such a sin" to flee with her boy-friend, disregard to be a Sikh, Jain, Bhai or Brahmin , Shoudra etc.

How would you react Mr. Andhra, if your sister or daughter does the same? Well! I hope you will not opt to "stonning to death"

My dear readers,

I almost threw up when I read this statement from one Sophia Muhahid:

She says and I would like to ask her the reasons for the fabrication:

"I can rest assure you Mr. Andhra, It was only a tradition in pre Islam Arab societies and it has nothing to do with Islamic law.

You might be pleased or displeased to know that "stonning to death" is not an Islamic (or Quraanic) confinement."

Sophia:
The punishment of "Stoning to Death" is a valid & very enforceable Islamic Shariah laws that is cariied out in Saudi Arabia and also Iran. Under this law - women found guilty of adulterous relation are stoned to death.

Could you pls explain your statement!

All the Christians in Pakistan should be given ultimatum that they can either all convert to Islam or they can go and live in a christian country. As far those who are responsible for killing the newly converted Muslim couple, they have committed an unforgiveable crime. According to the holy Prophet (pbuh), the life of a believer is worth more than the non believer.

Also as the woman was pragnent it means that three muslim lives have been lost.

Insha Allah, one day the whole human race will be of believers. But at the moment those kafirs who harm any believers, must be dealt with sevearly.

Boy! dont we love to hear faceup’s anti-Islamic point of view

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/sleep2.gif

Stoning someone who has committed adultery, a disgraceful sin in Islam, is not the same as this sitution. This couple was Christian and their family stoned them to death.
However, stoning an adulterer is different. Are you suggesting that those who commit adultery be left alone??

Tauba

All the Christians in Pakistan should be given ultimatum that they can either all convert to Islam or they can go and live in a christian country. As far those who are responsible for killing the newly converted Muslim couple, they have committed an unforgiveable crime.

All muslims living in majority christian or Hindu countries should also be given ultimatum that they should either convert to Christainity (or Hinduism) otherwise move to an Islamic country...because Christians believe that true path to heaven is through Jesus and Hindus don't believe Abrahmical religions....get ready to pack your bags.

According to the holy Prophet (pbuh), the life of a believer is worth more than the non believer

All human life is scared ...your kind of racist and discriminatory philosphy has no place in civilized world. People who think like you should live in Afganistan or Pakistan...away from people of other religions.

I don't condone killing of anybody but what you are saying is even worse. With this extreme views you have no right to judge others. Non-muslim actually look down on people with your kind of views and call them barbaric.

[This message has been edited by Rani (edited September 21, 2000).]

HK

Are you suggesting that those who commit adultery be left alone

Are you saying that people commiting adultery should be stoned and killed. I bet if this is followed a lot of muslim men would be killed. I think you should start with Pakistani soldiers who raped Bengali women during 1971 war.

Arey tauba tauba!

I don’t think that you need to put forward any new suggestions about the Pakistani Christians. The Pakistani Govt. has taken care of that by making the law 295. Just visit the following pages and you might start to feel sorry for the poor Christians in Pakistan.

First go to
http://www.cbn.org/newsstand/stories/980923.asp

Then go to
http://www.mcjonline.com/news/news3495.htm

Insha Allah one day Islam will prevail all over the world. We ruled India before and we will rule India again one day. The whole of the Indian subcontinent was fought for and concoured by the Muslims and therefore it belongs to the Muslims. So it is the hindus and the sikhs in India who will have to be converting to Islam one day.

tauba tauba
I hope my post makes you a very happy man

hk

How about poor bill clinton then?

Andhra: ....So Malik bhai please talk for your own religion.

According to Islam, it is the state that will carry out the sentence and it could only be done while the state provides for everything to everyone. There is no muslim country with muslim rules and above all Islam doesn’t allow people to go out and decide the fate of other people. A lot of people tend to give example of Pakistan or muslims doing this and that. This just proves their lack of ability to read a little about Islam as you can’t just criticise any religion because what people are doing. It is the religion which you should question and not the people.

hasinooN kay chehray meri tasbeeh kay daaney haiN!!
nazar say girtay rehtay haiN ibaadat hoti rehti hai

Originally posted by Rani:
**HK

Are you suggesting that those who commit adultery be left alone

Are you saying that people commiting adultery should be stoned and killed. I bet if this is followed a lot of muslim men would be killed. I think you should start with Pakistani soldiers who raped Bengali women during 1971 war. **

Ohhhh great!! As long as we're talking about soldiers, we certainly dont want to leave the Indian soldiers that have raped thousands of Kashmiri Muslim women, alone!
Oh and please stop picking on Pakistanis. Why dont we go back to the English and other European courts of centuries ago, where men of the nobility and kings and princes had several mistresses while their obedient wives were supposed to turn a blind eye to their husbands. Or why dont we talk about Prince Charles. Stop treating this like this is a Pakistani problem. Adultery is prevalent everywhere in the world and especially in the West. And NO one suggested that they be killed, they should be punished. This converted couple was severely stoned and killed to death for converting to Islam, NOT for adultery.
Stoning someone for adultery would be different I suppose. Im shocked that instead of agreeing on this, people are actually DEFENDING adulterers!! What is wrong with peoople's morals today.

HK,

Stoning someone for adultery would be different I suppose. Im shocked that instead of agreeing on this, people are actually DEFENDING adulterers!! What is wrong with peoople's morals today.

I think of adultary more of a social, charcter problem and upbringing problem. People get punished by society ...loss of face, divorce ets.

To make it a criminal problem would require state to be in its citizens bedrooms. Stoning or criminal punishment for charcter faults is pretty barbaric...where would you stop, would you stone people for lying or for not praying five times.

Originally posted by faceup:
**My dear readers,

I almost threw up when I read this statement from one Sophia Muhahid:

She says and I would like to ask her the reasons for the fabrication:

"I can rest assure you Mr. Andhra, It was only a tradition in pre Islam Arab societies and it has nothing to do with Islamic law.

You might be pleased or displeased to know that "stonning to death" is not an Islamic (or Quraanic) confinement."

Sophia:
The punishment of "Stoning to Death" is a valid & very enforceable Islamic Shariah laws that is cariied out in Saudi Arabia and also Iran. Under this law - women found guilty of adulterous relation are stoned to death.

Could you pls explain your statement!**

I reapeat: "Stonning to death is not an Islamic confinement". The word "Rajam" is not even available in Quraan.

The rules against "zina" are clearly mentioned in the Holy Book. Will you please (ever) bothere to open Quraan and search if there is any order for Stonning to death?

Don't make others laugh at you and your faith, its the sincerest advise from your sister in Islam!