Re: newborn curved foot
Really sorry to hear that saniya did you get a second opinion ?
dr did plaster . but my baby was screaming like hell . we removed her plaster and she was fine . i m worried about her . dr had adviced us that if your baby would cry too much you have to remove. the plaster because baby could be in trouble . mujse bilkul bhi dekha nhi gaya boht ro rhi thi baby awaz hi beth gai thi brdasht hi nhi kr pai wo . akhir main kese dekh skti hun apni bachi ko itni takleef main . plaster puri leg ka hua tha or boht heavy plaster tha bachi cheekh rhi thi aisa purey month main kabhi nhi cheekhi wo .
Of course...it will be stressful and painful to watch.
From what I understand about casting...it doesn't really cause baby pain. They definitely don't like it because its uncomfortable as hell to have a cast on your legs 24/7.
Have you done any research on this? Talked to another doctor? I'd try to stick to casting...its the least invasive way to fix this. The other option is surgery.
Baby will cry....there is no avoiding that.....as long as the crying is in complaint of the restraint and not from pain, then it's okay.
My niece had a problem with her neck as a result of the birthing process. I'm not sure what it was called but it kept her from turning her head towards the right. She simply preferred to keep facing left. The doctors advised physio and showed my bro and SIL a technique in which they had to hold her still in the direction that she did not prefer for a count of 10 several times per session.
My niece used to scream and howl. She hated it. Absolutely hated it. She cried and cried everyday twice a day for the times that they did this.
Both the father and the mother would often be found crying with the baby but they did what they had to do....for her betterment.
Short term pain for long term gain.
Alhamdulillah after a few weeks of this sort of physiotherapy she was fine and they stopped.
Dr. Sohail Thobani at South City Hospital
Doctor Information : [TABLE="class: BgGrid"]
[TR="class: GridHeading"]
[TH]Department[/TH]
[TH]Name[/TH]
[TH]Credentials[/TH]
[TH]Area of Specialization[/TH]
[TH]Clinic Timings[/TH]
[TH]Contact[/TH]
[/TR]
[TR="class: txtGrid"]
PAEDIATRICS
DR. SOHAIL THOBANI
MBBS(KHI); DIPLOMATE,AMERICAN BOARD OF PAEDIATRICS;FAAP(USA), PAEDIATRIC GASTROENTERO-LOGY & NUTRITION(USA)
LIVER DISEASES IN CHILDREN;PAEDIATRIC GASTROENTEROLOGY;NUTRITION.
DAILY (10AM TO 4PM) & SAT (12 PM TO 2PM)
0333-2239910 5866838 (NEELAM) Ext 275
[/TR]
I take my daughter to him . He is a very good doctor , gives time and has a very accurate diagnosis. I also felt same like you about AKU doctors , I used to take my daughter to a Dr Maqbool Qadir , he was an excellent Dr but he left and after that I didn't find any good Ped at AKU.
For Ortho I have a lot of praises about Dr Tashfeen . My colleagues son was shot in his leg during a snatching attempt and Dr Tashfeen did his treatment and he was really happy with the treatment.
TASHFEEN AHMAD Orthopedic ** Consulting Clinic 2**
** 34861028 / 34861030**
Thursday 2:00pm to 7:00pm
Tuesday 9:00am to 12:00pm
I will advise you to go see Dr Thobani first he will then tell you where and whom to go.
Good Luck
Dr. Sohail Thobani at South City Hospital
Doctor Information : [TABLE="class: BgGrid"] [TR="class: GridHeading"] [TH]Department[/TH] [TH]Name[/TH] [TH]Credentials[/TH] [TH]Area of Specialization[/TH] [TH]Clinic Timings[/TH] [TH]Contact[/TH] [/TR] [TR="class: txtGrid"] PAEDIATRICS DR. SOHAIL THOBANI MBBS(KHI); DIPLOMATE,AMERICAN BOARD OF PAEDIATRICS;FAAP(USA), PAEDIATRIC GASTROENTERO-LOGY & NUTRITION(USA) LIVER DISEASES IN CHILDREN;PAEDIATRIC GASTROENTEROLOGY;NUTRITION. DAILY (10AM TO 4PM) & SAT (12 PM TO 2PM) 0333-2239910 5866838 (NEELAM) Ext 275 [/TR]
I take my daughter to him . He is a very good doctor , gives time and has a very accurate diagnosis. I also felt same like you about AKU doctors , I used to take my daughter to a Dr Maqbool Qadir , he was an excellent Dr but he left and after that I didn't find any good Ped at AKU.
For Ortho I have a lot of praises about Dr Tashfeen . My colleagues son was shot in his leg during a snatching attempt and Dr Tashfeen did his treatment and he was really happy with the treatment.
TASHFEEN AHMAD Orthopedic ** Consulting Clinic 2**
** 34861028 / 34861030**
Thursday 2:00pm to 7:00pm
Tuesday 9:00am to 12:00pm
I will advise you to go see Dr Thobani first he will then tell you where and whom to go.
Good Luck
my baby cried alot after getting plaster. i cried as well . i cant see her crying and screaming like hell. my husband couldnt see her and we took off her pkaster. i think she is too small for this treatment . which type of sergery it is? plaster is not a good option in my view . my husband is saying i cant see my baby in pain i would wait for few years when she will be able to bear the pain . i am worried .. mere saath aisa q hoa or iski kya waja hui hy kuchh samaj nhi aya. sirf rona aa rha hy apni qismat per . meri baby bohy cute hy mager paun aisa hy dekh kar boht takleef hoti hy .
Saniya you have to be strong. You baby won't even remember this treatment. If you don't do it the deformity will stay with her for life and make her life miserable. It is hurting her now but think of the long term consequences. With this treatment she will be able to walk, run, like any other kid. Don't deny her that. I hope you do the necessary treatment
Also she will never b able to bear the pain. Do you think it will be easier to do surgery on a 5,6 year old kid and nurse them through that when the results won't even be that good? This is a non invasive procedure with maximum cosmetic results. You have already wasted a lot of time.
my baby cried alot after getting plaster. i cried as well . i cant see her crying and screaming like hell. my husband couldnt see her and we took off her pkaster. i think she is too small for this treatment . which type of sergery it is? plaster is not a good option in my view . my husband is saying i cant see my baby in pain i would wait for few years when she will be able to bear the pain . i am worried .. mere saath aisa q hoa or iski kya waja hui hy kuchh samaj nhi aya. sirf rona aa rha hy apni qismat per . meri baby bohy cute hy mager paun aisa hy dekh kar boht takleef hoti hy .
Hugs .... I know your pain it's more painful for parents to see their baby in pain. Whom did u consult in aku and whose treatment you r following right now ?
It is never easy to see your child in pain. NEVER.
But consider this....any treatment you do in infancy will not be recalled/remembered by her when she is even a toddler. She will forget it all.
Wouldn't you rather do this than to let her become old enough to understand and remember?
Be strong. Don't let your current weakness and emotional state become a life-long suffering for your child.
This is what parenting is about: making and enforcing those tough decisions that our children are unable to make for themselves.
And when you wonder why this is happening to you, consider that Allah is giving you an opportunity to show that you are a good parent. That you have what it takes to seek the best options for your baby. Please don't cry for your qismat.....you are so much better off than those millions of parents that long for a child and can't have one.....or those millions who have a child that faces much greater challenges than your gudiya ever will.
The OP said in her post that the doctor asked them to remove the cast if the baby cried too much as it would be a sign something might be wrong. Take the baby to the doctor and see what he has to say, also consult another doc as people have suggested.
Yes...that's true.....but we have no way to know whether the "baby cried too much" or the parents just couldn't tolerate seeing the baby cry.
I remember going in my bedroom and shoving cotton in my ears when my brother and SIL had to do the physio for my niece. Both ammi and I would hibernate in our rooms because our hearts were weak and we didn't want to see/hear the baby crying. Again....the parents knew what was good for their child and they did not falter.
At the end of the day we need to trust that the doctors are taking good care of the child and that the parents are comforted and re-assured.
The rest is in the hands of the Almighty, may His mercy reign supreme, ameen.
Saniya,
Please think about one thing. Right now, you can not bear her crying and you have the ability to take her plaster off to get her to stop.
When she's older...she will cry because she might not be able to run and play like the rest of the kids and there's nothing you'll be able to do to fix her pain at that point. Because it won't just be physical, it will also be emotional.
So please, try to be strong and understand that this treatment is done when the child is VERY small...within a few weeks of birth so the child has a chance at a normal life. I hope you see how important it is to give your child the ability to lead a normal and healthy life.
My doc was born with this issue and he had surgery as it was the thing to do in the 60's...surgery is MUCH more bothersome...it is in fact painful for a child to deal with it versus simple casting.
Casting is not only the least invasive but its also much more successful than surgery.
That's true but the physio is for a short time while the cast is on 24 hours. I think the doctor should check it out. I have seen babies in casts before and they do calm down after a while.
Yes...that's true.....but we have no way to know whether the "baby cried too much" or the parents just couldn't tolerate seeing the baby cry. I remember going in my bedroom and shoving cotton in my ears when my brother and SIL had to do the physio for my niece. Both ammi and I would hibernate in our rooms because our hearts were weak and we didn't want to see/hear the baby crying. Again....the parents knew what was good for their child and they did not falter.
At the end of the day we need to trust that the doctors are taking good care of the child and that the parents are comforted and re-assured. The rest is in the hands of the Almighty, may His mercy reign supreme, ameen.
That's true but the physio is for a short time while the cast is on 24 hours. I think the doctor should check it out. I have seen babies in casts before and they do calm down after a while.
That's the thing though...the caste takes a little bit to get used to but eventually babies get used to it.
The family member I was referring to earlier had casts on for a few months and then switched over to bracing which only happens at night and during naps I think. Meaning, its possible for the curve to go away completely in just a few months with the casting process.
I do think there's a second opinion needed here too.
i will ask for half plaster . because her boans are okay . today i went for her check up and dr has adviced me to consult with dr pervaiz at akuh ..
My nephew suffered an injury at the hands of his babysitter when he was 7 months old.
It ended up that this forearm was broken and it had to be placed in a cast for 8 weeks. He had just learned to crawl.
It was horrible for him. He cried and cried…he could barely lift that arm and for the first few days he was miserable. We had to constantly distract him as he got used to having that weight and restraint on.
Eventually he got used to it and would roam about the house on his hands and knees. We would hear the “thump, drag, thump, draaag” of his movements on the hardwood floor. ![]()
The Best Advice would be that of the Doctor in this case.
Saniya - let us know how your daughter is doing.
my husband isnt interested in ponseti method , few of his friends has told him that there is no need of any treatment just massage is enough for correcting her foot and one of his friend also told him that his child has the same issue n he did nothing when his child started sitting in walker his both feets corrected on his own .. now i am all disturbed he is not giving me money and saying wait for the time she will be allright till 4 months .. what should i do ? he is educated , he loves his baby but still he is doing this:(
kindly let me know how to handle baby with plaste?
how can i make her feel comfortable?
does plaster remains as heavy as first day?
what if i ask from dr for half plaster ?
kindly suggest any good tip to prepare my husband for plaster he is nice but i dont know why he is ignoring her foot for any treatment
my husband isnt interested in ponseti method , few of his friends has told him that there is no need of any treatment just massage is enough for correcting her foot and one of his friend also told him that his child has the same issue n he did nothing when his child started sitting in walker his both feets corrected on his own .. now i am all disturbed he is not giving me money and saying wait for the time she will be allright till 4 months .. what should i do ? he is educated , he loves his baby but still he is doing this:( kindly let me know how to handle baby with plaste? how can i make her feel comfortable? does plaster remains as heavy as first day? what if i ask from dr for half plaster ? kindly suggest any good tip to prepare my husband for plaster he is nice but i dont know why he is ignoring her foot for any treatment
Are ur husbands friends doctors, actually not just docs, are they ORTHO docs?
If u had listened to the dr and done the treatment u would have been done with it aur baby would be fine too, instead its the same old cycle with u.
Parh likh kr bhi kuch nahi sekha