my new born has curved foot , i am worried about hrr foot, when i move her foot she never cry or doesnt react, her born is okay , dr is asking for her ultrasound and plaster, few people r saying it will be perfect after some time on its own and thrre is no need of any treatment, did anyone face this problem ? kindly share your experiences with proper treatment , my baby is 2.3 kg dr had said that when her weight will b 2.5 kgs he will start any treatment …
Re: newborn curved foot
My niece had the same issue when she was born. She had no defect in her walk but the foot did not get perfect on its own. it is still curved. Her walk is still normal. My brother too refused to follow advise of the doctors.
But every situation is different doctor would be the best judge so follow their advise. You do not want your baby to have any issue with her walking, that will be a trauma for life if that happens. It can be fixed at early age by doctors.
my new born has curved foot , i am worried about hrr foot, when i move her foot she never cry or doesnt react, her born is okay , dr is asking for her ultrasound and plaster, few people r saying it will be perfect after some time on its own and thrre is no need of any treatment, did anyone face this problem ? kindly share your experiences with proper treatment , my baby is 2.3 kg dr had said that when her weight will b 2.5 kgs he will start any treatment ...
Saniya, one of my family members had this birth defect and its not a big deal so don't worry too much. She is a distant relative. The doc prescribed plaster/casting and now you can never even tell she had curved foot. She's in her 20's. They plastered a few weeks after birth.
What you do need to do is GET TREATMENT. It does NOT get better on its own unless the foot is manipulated into the proper position at a very early age. By early I mean a few weeks after birth.
A baby's bones are very soft when she's born. If the foot is fixed during that age, the chances of her walking on time and normally are very good. If not, the bones develop and that foot remains curved. The severity of the curve also matters.
Nowadays, most docs will not do surgery, they will plaster which is BEST. Google the Ponseti method of fixing clubfoot...and follow it.
For your daughter's sake, do not neglect treatment. Do not listen to anyone who says this will get better on its own. Follow your doc's advice, it sounds like he's on the right track. Plaster is painless for baby and the best way to slowly get her feet into a normal position so she can walk and do things normally as she grows.
hmmmm , the matter is she is not still 2.5 kgs , dr said that we cant do anything before she gets 2.5kgs .. she is 2.2 .. i m nbresst feeding her and giving her a feeder of my feed when she sleeps , i am working hard for her .. shr is also taking vitamin D drops ... i am eating fruits and nuts so that i may feed her on time ..
Saniya, one of my family members had this birth defect and its not a big deal so don't worry too much. She is a distant relative. The doc prescribed plaster/casting and now you can never even tell she had curved foot. She's in her 20's. They plastered a few weeks after birth.
What you do need to do is GET TREATMENT. It does NOT get better on its own unless the foot is manipulated into the proper position at a very early age. By early I mean a few weeks after birth.
A baby's bones are very soft when she's born. If the foot is fixed during that age, the chances of her walking on time and normally are very good. If not, the bones develop and that foot remains curved. The severity of the curve also matters.
Nowadays, most docs will not do surgery, they will plaster which is BEST. Google the Ponseti method of fixing clubfoot...and follow it.
For your daughter's sake, do not neglect treatment. Do not listen to anyone who says this will get better on its own. Follow your doc's advice, it sounds like he's on the right track. Plaster is painless for baby and the best way to slowly get her feet into a normal position so she can walk and do things normally as she grows.
This!
My little cousin had it, his patents got it plastered at the right time, Alhamdulilah it is fine now. He is in his early 20s now mashallah.
He got the plaster 1or 2 weeks after birth.
Get a second opinion.
hmmmm , the matter is she is not still 2.5 kgs , dr said that we cant do anything before she gets 2.5kgs .. she is 2.2 .. i m nbresst feeding her and giving her a feeder of my feed when she sleeps , i am working hard for her .. shr is also taking vitamin D drops ... i am eating fruits and nuts so that i may feed her on time ..
Then you're on the right track Saniya.
I am not sure what baby's weight has to do with the casting process...but like Lusi said...get a second opinion as soon as possible.
On a brighter note, of all the birth defects a child can have at birth...this is by far one of the most harmless ones.
please get the treatment.
it does not hurt and the problem is fixed forever.
leaving it as it is or manipulating it yourself (through massage and therapy) is not as good a method.
but dr is saying let her gain some weight first and he adviced us for n ultrssound . her foot is soft n she feels no pain , dr has adviced us for 2 month wait . anyone who can tell me about any orthopedic ? we had taken appointment of dr at agha khan , he didnt give us more than 5 mints n said wait till 2 months n her weight should be 2.5 kg ..
So your pediatrician is saying she needs to gain some weight before they do anything.
Okay, try to see if you can find another pediatrician who can examine her and give a second opinion - ask your friends, colleagues, school mates or family if they can recommend someone.
Lots of people on this forum don't live in Pakistan. You'll have to do some research, call a few friends, hospitals, etc. and find a pediatric orthopedic surgeon yourself.
okay.. i amalready searching
Try AO clinic in Nazimabad or OMI hospital. If they say wait as well, wait and do the treatment, don't listen to people who say there is no need for treatment.
QUOTE=Saniya Rajput;10185653]but dr is saying let her gain some weight first and he adviced us for n ultrssound . her foot is soft n she feels no pain , dr has adviced us for 2 month wait . anyone who can tell me about any orthopedic ? we had taken appointment of dr at agha khan , he didnt give us more than 5 mints n said wait till 2 months n her weight should be 2.5 kg ..
Sanity there is a Facebook page Mom Talk with lots of Pakistani mothers. Maybe join that to ask about docs?
Ponseti International | Ponseti Method
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/tutorials/treatingclubfoot/op879101.pdf
Facebook - the first post on their page references a clubfoot project IN Pakistan
best is to follow your doc, if you are not satisfied consult two three more docs for more opinion, I know someone whose baby had some issue, n the doc applied some plaster for few months n then it got fixed
Then you're on the right track Saniya.
I am not sure what baby's weight has to do with the casting process...but like Lusi said...get a second opinion as soon as possible.
On a brighter note, of all the birth defects a child can have at birth...this is by far one of the most harmless ones.
Peace Reha
Those docs seem to be wanting to do a surgery ... that is the only reason why they are waiting for a weight to be reached. The cast should be put on now ... as you said.
Peace Reha
Those docs seem to be wanting to do a surgery ... that is the only reason why they are waiting for a weight to be reached. The cast should be put on now ... as you said.
Yes, cast should be put on early and from what I read...its changed periodically to help the foot ease into the proper position.
If that is the only reason, then she should definitely get a second opinion.
i have talked to dr . baby is now 2.6 kgs she is 20 days old ..
Did you find out what kind of treatment the docs are recommending?
dr did plaster . but my baby was screaming like hell . we removed her plaster and she was fine . i m worried about her . dr had adviced us that if your baby would cry too much you have to remove. the plaster because baby could be in trouble . mujse bilkul bhi dekha nhi gaya boht ro rhi thi baby awaz hi beth gai thi brdasht hi nhi kr pai wo . akhir main kese dekh skti hun apni bachi ko itni takleef main . plaster puri leg ka hua tha or boht heavy plaster tha bachi cheekh rhi thi aisa purey month main kabhi nhi cheekhi wo .