Re: New Coach
I guess you haven’t seen the parody otherwise you will be saying something similar to 5Abi. ![]()
Meli pepsi kanha hai Javaid bhai wo to khatam ho gai m..........a
Bob woolmal joh naheen kal saka woh main kechay kaloon ga...
talo laundon aao kilkit khelo....
Pakistan needs to hire this South African coach, Mickey Arthur
I really doubt some foreign coach will prefer taking up job with pakistan. With all the politics and pressure, and then bobs death, will really hinder PCB to hire a foreign coach.
I doubt they'll bring in Miandad... cuz of the David Abraham factor.
this time they should go with Salim Yousuf.
Plz no Miandad
He’s a provem failure and he’s already been let go twice…do they wanna make a hattrick? Lagta hai openers ke saath saath coaches ki bhi kami ho gayi hai Pakistan mein…ghis pitt ke back to square 1.
I say we hire a foreign coach because I don’t see anyone good enough in Pakistan to do the job except for Aqib Javed.
Wasim can be an inspiring coach. He must though swear to stay away from Betting.
Besides Imran Khan, there can be no Pakistani competent enough to be the Coach
We need a foreign Coach
I really hope we get some South African coach
Just look at the awesome might of South Africa
Their batting, balling and fielding is the best in the world....
Along with Australia, South Africa is the most devastating team on the planet
We need to get to that level
I agree with you on Aqib and Javed will provide much needed stability at this point, however, Javed Miandad has proven to be a failiure as a coach in the past. Miandad was a great batsman, mediocre captain and jack of a coach.
Really that was some failure in his last stint...3 out of 4 series win, one was a first ever series win against south africa, who recently clobbered us, another was away against the Kiwis, who the migthly Indians have a hard time beating away, infact they haven't done it in recent times...
The only defeat was against the Indians and that had a lot to do with the pathetic road of a wicket given to the Indians to bat on as well as abject spineless display from our players...
Miandad tipped to coach Pakistan
**Miandad tipped to coach Pakistan**
Sir Viv Richards says Javed Miandad could be the right man to succeed Bob Woolmer and revive Pakistan’s fortunes.
Woolmer died on Sunday, a day after a shock defeat by Ireland knocked Pakistan out of the World Cup.
Ex-Pakistan captain Miandad has held the position three times but Richards says he has the strength to galvanise a notoriously inconsistent team.
“He could do the job, purely because of his love and passion for Pakistan cricket,” Richards told BBC Sport.
“Every time I have met him I have been impressed by his desire to see a successful Pakistan team.”
Former West Indies captain Richards says he “cannot understand how a team containing high quality players”, like Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Mohammad Asif and Shoaib Akhtar have failed to win more regularly.
"This is a group of players who have not fulfilled or played to their ability, for whatever reason. It needs someone to go in there and bring out those talents on a consistent basis.
"Javed has seen and done pretty much everything in the game and is a strong character. No-one knows more about Pakistani cricket than he does.
"I know it didn’t work out for him last time but maybe there were factors in play that time that might not be this time.
“The only other person who has managed to get hold of that team and shape them into a fighting unit was (another former Pakistan skipper) Imran Khan and he could also be an option.”
Richards, who says he was asked whether he would be interested in becoming India coach before Australian Greg Chappell got the job in April 2005, says he has “an open mind” and would not rule out moving into coaching himself.
"It does appeal to me, but I have a particular idea of the way things should be done.
“A lot of things would have to be done in a certain way and there would have to be a lot of independence for me before I could think about coaching in the Caribbean or anywhere else.”
Re: Miandad tipped to coach Pakistan
didn't we already have him as a coach before bob woolmer (spell?) and if i remember correctly, he did kind of a pathetic or maybe not so good job...
A team also needs a fair understanding, faith & respect for each other. The politics in the game has probably not left Miandad as respectful as he is in the eyes of rest of the world. If he joined in there r many others who would need to go, otherwise it will be a cold war again between them after things cool down. & in such a situation a good team will never be built.
Death threats part of the baggage when coaching Pakistan - From the AGE (Australial)
Mike Selvey
March 23, 2007
RICHARD Pybus, a South African, had this to say in the immediate aftermath of Bob Woolmer's death, when the straightforward assumption had been that this genial, avuncular man had reached breaking point and suffered a heart attack.
"Coaching Pakistan," he said, "is the toughest job in cricket today. It is a very turbulent society and a very political environment to work in. Pakistan cricket seems to lurch from one drama to another, and as a coach, it takes a cumulative effect. All the stuff with that team wears you down.
"They have an amazing capacity to ambush themselves and you never get into a space where it's simply plain sailing for a coach. You are always sitting there waiting for someone to lob a hand grenade in. You can never plan because you don't even know what is happening tomorrow."
Pybus should know. In 1999, as Pakistan's World Cup assistant coach, he sat on the balcony at Northamptonshire's ground and watched grim-faced as his team contrived to lose, in what have now been shown to be suspicious circumstances, to Bangladesh.
He is only one of five coaches the team has had since that year.
Who, then, would consider such a role? Woolmer had suffered tribulations of his own during his coaching career: a small but significant culture of recreational drugs at Warwickshire and the match-fixing scandal of South Africa happened on his watch, the latter involving matches against Pakistan at home and away.
So what induced him to take the job? Not the money, for it is not thought to have been highly paid, certainly not sufficiently so for the nature of the job. His was not a glamorous lifestyle, based as it was in small accommodation on site at Pakistan's national academy in Lahore, and then travelling, staying in countless hotels with a team of different culture, ethnicity, religion and language.
His wife and family, meanwhile, remained at home in Cape Town. So it must have been the challenge of somehow trying to bring order to the most talented nation of them all, and the most volatile.
Woolmer was an evangelist who fervently believed that he could succeed where all others had failed, but who became disillusioned and depressed as each day and each new crisis came along. By the end, there were tales of factionalism and even, on the team bus after the defeat by Ireland, of a physical altercation.
The challenge of Pakistan cricket is one facing no other nation. It is rife with nepotism, so much so that Imran Khan, when captain, cut through it and picked those who had impressed him. A coach has to be able to do just that in order to assemble a squad and run the risk of accusations of favouritism. Pick one from Karachi and Lahore is up in arms. Choose from the north and Karachi takes offence.
Woolmer's relationship with captain, Inzamam-ul-Haq, was undermined consistently: Inzy ruled the roost, marginalising the coach sometimes to the point of humiliation.
Inzamam apparently recognised Woolmer's qualities as a human being (who could not?) but the captain's comments on his death — a "good" coach — damned him with faint praise. The refusal of the team to take the field at the Oval last summer depressed and disillusioned Woolmer to the point of offering his resignation, and the steroids found to have been taken by Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Asif were something about which he is sure to have had suspicions, and he may have instigated the tests.
And all the while, there was the public scrutiny allied to fanatical support. It is a tough person who is not disturbed by death threats and effigy-burning and Woolmer had endured more than his share.
By the end, when he packed his laptop into his kitbag and prepared to leave Sabina Park, he was clear that his time with Pakistan was coming to an end.
Back in Multan, crowds gathered outside Inzamam's residence and chanted: "Death to Inzamam, death to Bob Woolmer."
GUARDIAN
^ If his logic is true, then the same would apply to India and Bangladesh.
I have seen it yar..i just didnt find it funny. I thought it was lame ![]()
[quote=“Robert”]
Viv Richards wants to see Miandad as the new coach
[
Why not, I think he will be a great coach for West Indies:D](“http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/cricket/other_international/pakistan/6475207.stm”)
if it comes down to foreign coach, I would recommend Arjuna Ranatunga (SL).
my best local option will Salim Yousuf.
I guess I should stop “following” Pakistan matches/proceedings and only look-back at scorecards when finished otherwise I will be reading statements like Sehwag is gali-mohalla players and we have aplenty in streets or waving from gallery to a player on what to do etc. Just check the scorecard and all should be fine :smooth: