Need urgent help: Breakfast menu

My husband just told he his resident coming to see him tomorrow MORNING for some help in his research work. The friend&his wife are my class-fellows back from med.schoolso he thought we could invite his wife and two kids (3&5 yo) along. We insisted for a lunch or dinner but the guy was reluctant and said no takalluf,etc so they will just come around 9-30/10-ish and my husband told him naashta hamaray sath karayn…

So what should be a menu to keep it easy and not lavish. It is Tsunami Plus tomorrow here in Lahore :halo: so I am not sure we will have electricity all day or not so I have to plan accordingly. I am thinking following:

-poori/chanay/bhujia (will get readymade tomorrow morning)

-homemade suji halwa (make fresh in morning)

-freshly baked waffles (bijli hui tau warna I will make pancakes on the stove in other case) with pancake syrup

-egg souffle(with spinach,mushrooms,cheese and olives- assemble in a dish tonight and bake in the morning)

-Shakshouka ?? (make the gravy tonight and do the eggs part int he morning)

• a couple of french toasts for kids maybe (make them fresh)

-a couple of parathay/naan (naan readymade or fresh homemade parathay)

-dum qeema or boneless chicken handi ( make it tonight )

-hash browns (make them fresh)

-tea/coffee

-white and brown bread

-Mom makes this yummy quick dessert mixing 1/2 tin condensed milk+ a tin of evaporated milk,throwing frechly sliced apples and bananas and drained fruit from the tinned variety, so I am thinking that.

I am making tiramisu cake for our ghar ka dinner tonight aiwainn so I think I will save it for tomorrow

Any ideas ???

AND I need a good recipe for hash browns. Mine always turn out blande

Ideas toh I don’t have but next time I’m coming over to your place for nashta

Re: Need urgent help: Breakfast menu

Allah itna kuch…:e6:, Egg souffle recipe plzz

Waisey with such fulfilling menu you dont need any suggestions. But i ate a maxican breakfast at coffee and tea when i was in Lahore, it was a tortilla with minced meat of chciken and scarmbled eggs it was yummy. You can make that

Lol so a hidden message is that I should downsize the menu :smiley: ???

Haye Afaiz woh CTC ka naashta :wub:

Automne77 you’re most welcome hun

Afayiz , here is the recipe I use but with few variations:

Spinach Egg Souffle Recipe - Food.com - 337521

1. I throw in sliced black olives and mushrooms to the spinach mixture

2. I either layer small cubes of bread slices on the base of the dish OR toss the bread cubes into the mixture while pouring into the dish

3. I sprinkle shredded cheddar cheese on the top when it is half baked.

there are some good tips here:

http://www.getcracking.ca/tq-souffles.html

proto … yeh kaafi ziyada hai i feel. Keep souffle, french toast, plain toast, some chicken mince, jam, cheese, juice and milk and tea.

poori, + paratha would be in takalluf category. First meetings I try to keep simple so as to have chit chat too takay future mein not too much high expectations :slight_smile:

^ Agree! That’s way too much food for breakfast/brunch!

If you want Western fare, you could make your egg soufflee, toast, hashbrowns, baked frenchtoast (prepare night ahead and bake in the morning), and then to make it a bit more desi in case they don’t like Western, just have halwa on the side and serve with tea.

If you want to go the other way and do desi - make halwa/puri/channay with dum qeema and then add pancakes or french toast for kids.

Oh, and you can add a dessert to round out the meal and have with tea.

The adults should be good with either option and enjoy it pait bhar ke. And as for the kids, worst case if kids are fussy - offer them cereal. Nashtay mein itna hi enough hai.

Bas!

ok,so I am skipping French toasts,naan and hash browns. theek hai ab ? paratha will be the frozen ones instead so that they can be made right away. just finished making chicken and souffle ka kaam. mom thinks if bazaar kay chanay se pait kharab hua kisi ka tau the blame will go on my homemade stuff so I should make chanay at home with halwa :bummer:

:hayaa: janab aap takaluff kaise fermati hein!?

im probably way too late now … but a simpler bkfast would be much better.
Honesty, fruit yogurt parfait, a selection of bfast breads (danishes, muffins, croissants, bagels) plus butters/jams/spreads and an egg dish should suffice.

So proto when I’m in lahore next time, nashta hum aap kay saath karain gey. :hug:

I am coming to Lahore just for this nashta too Mmmmmm

^ I’ll be on the flight with her!!!

lol EVERYONE is invited :welcome: aa jao sub !!

:princeali:

:daaghu2:

too much stuff for breakfast. and after breakfast who has dessert?

if you want to do dessert you could make the pancakes meetha - I make choc chip pancakes with choc sauce and cinnamon sugar sprinkled on top. Could have that. Or I chop apples and fry them in butter along with cinnamon sugar and some roasted nuts, and put that as a topping on the pancakes with some kind of syrup.

but yeah - too much stuff for breakfast! it’ll be too heavy!

:smiley: come over, I would do a pur-takalluf naashta for you :hugz:

I would’ve honestly loved it but I am not sure if they’d like angraizi stuff..I wanted to do some smoked frankfurters initially but I didnt want to let them go wasted. Almost done with 70% of it..just need to do the final stuff in the morning iA.

btw, the tiramisu cake is divine :wub:

Your menu is yumm :yummy: but it is way too much for the breakfast , ehh//

Too much food, either have the English menu or desi. Children can eat halwa and puri too, you don’t have to make anything separate for them.

I say go with halwa, puri, chana/aloo, and keema + chai, milk…

Doctor saab nay ghhabrra jaany hai…itnay bhookay north american guppies daikh ker :hehe: