**All the Urdu Language experts Please Help, why are there not any Words in Urdu Language for Science and Engineering?
Can anyone suggest appropriate words for these two disciplines?
**All the Urdu Language experts Please Help, why are there not any Words in Urdu Language for Science and Engineering?
Can anyone suggest appropriate words for these two disciplines?
Re: Need Urdu Words for Science, Engineering
I think Science would just be "ilm" or "uloom" and Engineering would be "Kaari-gari"
Yeah, I see what you are doing here. Good one. What happened, trying to provoke someone?
tabiyaat ![]()
there are farsi (persian) words for it
Yeah, I see what you are doing here. Good one. What happened, trying to provoke someone?
***No............ going to name an Institute of Science and Engineering in our National Language............Just trying to Provoke Creativity.........:)
No............ going to name an Institute of Science and Engineering in our National Language............Just trying to Provoke Creativity.........:)
Edarah bara-a Science aur kal/kul kay uloom.
I have seen a urdu word kal/kul for gears.
Engineering fun-e-kalSaazi… ![]()
I believe—TABIYAAT —goes for NATURAL SCIENCES!
SCIENCE in URDU is called ILM.
ENGINEERING...however..has a distinct URDU word....ILM-E-MASA'HATT
Sources;
The bitter reality is that there's hardly any new scientific research which is done or published in Urdu. Why make it harder for people by forcing them to remember redundant terms, when in the end they’ll have to learn English to learn about the new developments in these fields?
Normally...I dont argue on such submissions but YOURS has put me in a very very odd situation....that I take it as your being a totally novice on the importance and beauty of URDU language and its dictum.
You need to first do reasearch then then shoot such statements...friend!
You are absolutely ignorant about the kind of reasearch which has been done on URDU past century or more...and I suggest...that you once take the opportunity..someway...of meeting people like; Dr. Gopichand Narang, Dr. Farman Fatehpuri, Dr. Aali, Prof. Sehar Ansari, Dr. Pirzada Qasim, Dr. Jamil Jalibi..the list goes on... and tell them exactly what you say above...and they'll eiher faint or would feel that ages of work on URDU has gone down the drain !
I am out of this thread and discussion..........!!!!
Khush Rahein
^No need to get all emotional. Read what he has said again.
No one is questioning the beauty of Urdu or the work done in urdu literature and poetry.
But its a fact... theres hardly any scientific work done in urdu, and even if there is, there arent many readers for it. It will be a step going backwards if we do push Urdu for science now. For now, stick to english if you want to get anywhere with science and technology.
science is called science … seen alif hamza ye noon seen ![]()
engineering…
engine is called engine so the one that makes the engine would be called engine banany wala
and the decipline would be called fan-e-engine banaying ![]()
and ilm is not science but knowledge in general
SCIENCE in URDU is called ILM.
Sources;
Thanks Arjay Bhai Sahib,..........I had some Idea that either in Usmania University or in Aligarh they would have translated and make use of words of Science and Engineering........
Your input is very valuable......*PLEASE IGNORE MR/MS **anagnorisis, **some people seem to relish living under a cloak of "Ignoramous Imbecility"......:D*
I love this word that you brought to light:
ILM-E-MASA'HATT
Thanks again "ARJAY JI"
Edarah bara-a Science aur kal/kul kay uloom. I have seen a urdu word "kal/kul" for gears.
Nice I like that too.......Thanks Mirch........:)
I think Science would just be "ilm" or "uloom" and Engineering would be "Kaari-gari"
by definition Engineering is where conceptual science meets craftsmanship.
so my guess would be ilm-y-karigary.
What is the origin and meaning of the word masahat?
^don't know.
If were you sindsager I won't worry too much translating it into urdu.
I tried learning few languages and I was so surprised that most of the words in urdu a borrowed from other languages. Mainly arabi and farsi.
So urdu accommodate/take advantage fro the words from other languages.
And I wish Chacha Ghalib had written some poetry about “Engines” or “Science”
Poetry in my Opinion is Wordcrafting or sentence crafting to make it “Rhyme” and create “Rhythm” for a purpose…![]()
When we do the same with pieces of Metal… shaped in Harmony…you end up with beautiful machines…That are Like Poetry…Cars, Airplanes and Ships give purpose to Metal…:biggthumb