Need of guppans advice pleashhhhhhh

Okeeeeee…as most of you know…we just moved to a new apartment and for the first time my in-laws are coming to our place for the weekend…I am reallly happy that they are coming but i am sooooooo nervous of what to cook and how to cook…my MIL is not so critical about how food tastes but my FIL loves to taste food and pinopoint errors…i mean i dont mind him telling me whats missing but i just want my cooking to be perfect!!! I lived with them for over a year so i know their tastes and the way they like to cook their meals…My question is should i cook the way they cook or should i cook the way i cook…the only difference is…i am not a big fan of oil and too much namak but they are and they like to see a layer of oil on their food…if no oil that means its not well cooked…my hubby is like…cook the way you are comfortable with and put some extra oil and salt on the table…but i think that disrespectful :bummer:..what should i doooooo???

Also, heres what i making…please tell me if its appropriate

Handi Kabab
Chicken Baryani
Haleem
Dahi Bhalay
Russian Salad
Naan
And for dessert…i will make…Trifle

Thanksssssss…:hugz:

Re: Need of guppans advice pleashhhhhhh

Put as much oil as they like but not the salt.. they can always put more salt in the food but offering to pour extra oil in the food on table... now that would be not only disrespectful but disgusting too.

Why don't you add an extra veggie dish or chicken to eat with naan??? I prefer to eat haleem with spoons instead. :D

put some extra oil on the table... is he crazy??
r they pujabi?... they usually like too much oil...
anyways, i think u should cook the way they like since u r cooking for them... and remove the excessive oil later and reuse it for your next cooking..

Salaam Mrs. Shikra,

Hey, if they are coming over to your place the first time, do some dishes especially the way they like it, and do some your way. Your menu sounds awesome. Maybe add a simple chicken salan or karahi to go with the naans.

Have fun!
Niksik

I wish I were your brother in law.

hI Mrs. Shikra,

I would say that since they are the ones who are invited, then the food should be cooked the way they like...If they like to have oil floating on their salans, then sure why not...The goal is to please them (otherwise, you wouldn't bother opening a thread and asking for other's opinions of what is appropriate and what is not) and if you know how to make them happy, then do so...It's just for a weekend so it wouldn't do a havoc on any body's health INSHALLAH to eat not-so-healthy food..good luck!

haleem kay bjaye qaurma ya aaloo gosht pkaa lo. baaqi sab perfect hai.

The menu sounds great, but maybe add one veg. dish.

None of these have to be oily. You do not need to put lots of oil in these dishes and they would still look and taste great.
Specially do not put any oil in Trifle it will taste awful.:D
Now back to the answer to the question . If you have to and want to make something the way they like it then you will have to make something very oily like Qorma, Qeema, Pasanday etc. otherwise there is no need for anything else. No ?

Your menu looks good. Do you know what your in-laws enjoy, besides the oily part? Maybe make 1 dish that you know they like and try some others. Agree with the veggie dish, maybe chanay salen? How about a regular green leaf salad & maybe a chutney with hot peppers :)

you are genius, I don't like haleem.
let me look ate the list and imagine qaurma in it.

I am trying to think what i would do in your situation. I think i would cook the way you do unless you think putting extra oil in the food would make your FIL happy and he wont complain about anything else. Just as a side note, some people will find something to point out anyways, its their habit. My own dad does this alot and for the longest time it bugged my Ammi and I alot but now we are used to it. He thinks he is giving suggestions to improve the food and not nuks nikaling.

dont listen to shikra :smack:

make it the way THEY like it because it’s not like they will be coming over everyday…make them enjoy your food so they can go back home happy and impressed…inshAllah.

Delicious menu, mein bhi aa jaaun? :smiley:

Make it the way they like it, because they are the guests and you’re cooking for them and they should be able to enjoy the food. If you think someone will enjoy a veggie dish then go ahead and add one. Oh and dont add too much salt though. Put the salt to your taste and just keep some salt handy at the table.

Inshallah it’ll be perfect :hugz:

Make it the way they like....ofcourse you dont need 2 add extra salt as that can be done later too. Once they start living with you get them used to healthy cooking habbits and that would be great. For now chalta hai:D

You mean he just eats oil, or he likes it in his salan? I know my dad would take great offense to the extra oil on the table. I would personally cook the way they like, and next time do my own way.

Make it their way :p They are the guests after all .. and especially if ur FIL is the "error finding person" :p

its always good manners to cook according to your guests tastes.. especially if its the in laws and such, like ure fil. .. u wouldnt make dessert the way u want to with regular amount of sugar, if ure guest was a diabetic
in the same way.. why not cook food like how u know ure folks in law like it.. i would understand if u were inviting a couple of other guests too.. but i think its doable in this situation... slowly but surely, u can change the eccessive use of oil.. maybe u can make one dish accordint to his standards of oil usage.. and make one with less oil... and who knows.. maybe he will like the less oil dish and compliment .. if not. no worries... kaun se her din ayengay khanay :)

Thats not true

I see all the ladies are ganging up on poor me :smiley:

My question to all of you who are saying “since they are invited, you should cook the way the guests like them”…well, are you supposed to ask the guests how they would like their food cooked? No. You cook the way you normally cook and the guests have to eat it.

My parents like a little extra oil in their food. I am not a big EXTRA oil fan because I don’t want to die young or have cholesterol problems later on in life; nor am I trying to be rude. It’s just that this is my place, this is how we do things here. If you would like to modify our food (which nobody pointed out that THAT’s rude as well), then feel free, but just your food please.

Mom’s not so critical but since dad loves to cook himself and wants food to taste perfect (even when mom cooks), he usually points out the faults (not in a negative or taunting way). Having said all that, they are desi and I know they will take it to heart and I’ll end up apologizing, I’ll just suck it up and remove extra oil from my plate before eating :hinna:

By the way, Good luck Mrs. Shikra :dixsi: I’ll be thinking of you at work tomorrow while you cook all the yummy food :smiley: