channa
dahi bhalay
fruit chaat
cholay (white) in several diff styles
samosas
aalo kee tikyas
brownies
cakes

Above mentioned items, I have these on regular basis and have lost my interest in it.

I will try pasteries now, but I need more items. I am tired of having the samething over and over again. It should be easy to make too, cuz normally I go home from work and then cook for iftar. I don’t want to stand in kitchen for 2 hours.

Suggest something for me plz, you can suggest the hard ones too. However, I am keep them for my weekends then.

btw I need chocolate cake recipe, if anyone has it, plz post it here. thanks in adv.

Re: Need more items for the iftar

skip iftaar and go directly to dinner :)

I think there is a spring rolls recipe posted in the Sticky on this forum. They do take up a bit of time though so you can save it for the weekend.

If I was doing an iftari, I'd spare myself the trouble of making a dozen different things and go with:

lasagna

Caesar salad

mushrooms sauteed in olive oil, garlic, black pepper, and herbs

fresh baguette

khubani ka meetha

Rukhsar can't do that, cuz it seem like something is missing. Thats the whole point of ramzan having a special meal. I will try that definetly.

Sarah, I love making all kind of international foods, but I live with a desi family. Everyone enjoys is except for one person, and just cuz of that person I am saving all these recipes to my own place.

but can u post the recipes for them though, that would be gr8.

Thank you so much guys :)

Tuscany bread (the ones at uno, i dnt have the exact recipe but i can disect it now can't I)

1 italian garlic bread
1/1/2 cup muenster cheese
spinach leaves chopped
pesto sauce

Split the garlic bread, lay it with pesto sauce (mccormick pesto packets are will n easy)
Sprinkle half of the cheese, top it with spinach and tomatoes, add the rest of the cheese
Bake it for about 15 minutes until the bread is light brown on the edges and the cheese has melt.. njoy.

Dev thanks, thats awsome. I like the idea :)

my cousin makes this
mix potatoes, carrots and peas together, cook till slightly mushy with a cube of chicken broath, black pepper.

Use a small can to cut out rounds from white bread, put the potatoe and pea mixture on top of this, coat with egg white and onion seeds and lightly pan fry...it's super yummy.

I assume you’ve been doing pakoray too? You can always make the pakoray more exciting – like sometimes I make them with cheese inside, shrimp, chicken, etc.

The bread’s a great idea.

Also now that it’s getting cooler, a nice soup with some bread would be nice. I’ve recently fallen in love with this Tomato and red pepper soup from Trader Joes which is delicious. Or you could make your own – whatever you may be in the mood for.

Spanikopita is also fun and delicious and not too difficult.

Or perhaps make satay, thai style grilled beef or chicken with thai seasonings and cucumber sauce. And veggie dumplings :yummy:

amelie yup that does sounds yummy, I will give it a go proly tom.

Sahar, well I have been trying different things, some of them are stolen from Life 2 forum and some are my own inventions. So far so good, but yeah when my mom is in kitchen that means we will end up eating pakoras for iftar and I am not a big fan of it unless it has potatoes, egg plant or spinach in it and a really tasty mouth watering tamarind chatni to go with it. I am more into chickpeas, cakes, filled poris and diff things. That’s why I am looking for more creative ideas and I know I can count on GS ladies; I gotta say they are very creative.

Now sahar its your turn give me the recipes honz :D

Well the soups are pretty simple, depending on what kind you like.

Spanikopita (I just found this recipe, but it's pretty much how I make it -- you can vary the kinds of cheese as well as the seasonings to your taste):
----------------------SPINACH FILLING----------------------
1/2 c Vegetable oil
1 pk Froz. chopped spinach,thawed
1 ts Dill
1 Clove garlic
1 Small tomato, diced
8 oz Feta cheese, crumbled
6 oz Cream cheese, softened
Freshly ground pepper

-----------------------PHYLLO DOUGH-----------------------
1/2 lb Frozen Phyllo dough
1 c Butter, melted

PREPARE DOUGH - Thaw according to pkg instructions
(may be refrozen). Cut Phyllo dough into 6"x9" strips;
cover w/wax paper with a damp towel over all.
If dough gets too wet or dry, it will be unworkable -
but it's not difficult once you get used to it.
PREPARE FILLING - In oil, saute spinach, dill garlic &
tomato until tender. Add cheeses & pepper. Mix
thoroughly until ingredients are hot; cool slightly.
ASSEMBLY - Brush 1 strip of Phyllo dough (it's VERY
thin, don't worry if it tears a little) with melted
butter. Place ts of filling at 1 end. Fold into small
triangles (as if folding a flag). Continue folding
triangle over & over to end of Phyllo strip. Brush
top w/melted butter. Repeat for each strip.*** Bake in
preheated 350 oven for 15-20 min. or until tops are
lt. brown. ***May be frozen at this point - freeze 1
layer on cookie sheet, store in freezerproof
bag--handy to have!!! I have received many compliments
with these!

I've never tried making satay or dumplings. We have a great halal thai place nearby that I have ordered from. Anyone have any good recipes for these?

Thanks sahar, now I have a huge menu for weekend :D thanks to all of u guys.

can't believe u don't have pakoras listed in your original list.

anyways, I enjoy the "malai kabab" and "fried chicken" for iftar the most

omg i have dahi bhalay thats enough i guess, thats pakoras in dahi. I meant to say I have had all kinds. :stuck_out_tongue:

give me the recipe of em Asif paieee jaan. chalo shabash i wanna know how u make malai kabab.

well I have to get it from my bhabhi. so u will have to wait for a few days.

in the mean time, try my all time fav chaza chinese dish in the other thread on this forum.

what is that khoobani ka metha ,plz tell me mughay bhi banana hay it sounds good.

Well it is a khubani sauce topped with custard and garnished with almonds and whip cream. :yummy:

soup--yum. last year's NY times had this as a recipe for ramadan..it's very good

Iraqi lentil soup with meatballs
45 min

2 medium onions, minced
1 pd ground beef, lamb/both
1/2 cup finely chopped parseley
1 cup soft bread crumbs
1 tsp salt + to taste
1/4 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp allspice, freshly ground from about 5 whole allspice
2 tablespoon pure olive oil
10 cups of chicken broth
1 pd brown or yellow lentls
3 rounds angel hair pasta (about 2 ounces)
2 carrots, diced fine
juice of one lemon

1. preheat oven to 400 degrees, line one backing pan with parchement paper.

place half the onhions and the gorund meet, paresly, bread crumbs, salt, peopper and allspice ina medium mixing bowl. blend ingredients and form into walnut size balls. turn onto baking pan

1. bake forten minuts, removefrom pan and drain on a paper towl. in a soup pot saute remaining onions in olive oil over medium heat until golden, add chiken broth and bring to boil
  2. place lentils in bowl, cover with cold water anddrain,add them to soup, turn heat to low and simmer slowly for about 20 minutes or until lentils ar almost tender.

3. crumble angel hair pasta into soup, along with carrots and meatballs, simmer slowly for 5-10 minutes or until lentils and noodles are cooked, adding more chikcen broth or water as needed. jutst b4 serving squeeze lemon into soup.

amelie lovely recipe, I so want to try this. Thanks.

Asif okay I will check it out, but don't forget to post that, thanx.

amelie I made that soup, but I should have had known my family is still too desi for this kinda stuff. Some liked it and some didn't, it took me a long time to prepare the whole thing. At least I loved it, so I think it wasn't total waste, I just learned my lesson though:D Thanks though.