Need help with Urdu mahawras

The following came to my mind right this moment and I’m not too sure what it means. Could I please get some help?

“budhi ghori laal lagam”

while at it… what’s “aik anar, 100 beemar”, “naach na janay aangan terha”?

I sort of have an idea about the last two, but clarification would most certainly help.

Re: Need help with Urdu mahawras

An old woman with a gawdy fashion sense.

Blaming incompetence on anything but oneself.

"budhu ghori laal lagam"
I think it's budhi or borhi (old), and not budhu (foolish).
It can be used to describe an aged woman who behaves like a young girl, i.e. by wearing too much make-up, or with regard to her behavior/actions.

"aik anar, 100 beemar"
When there's only one(desirable) thing; but everyone wants it. So it can't be divided among all the people.

"naach na janay aangan terha"?
A bad workman fights with his tools.

I just saw that LI has already given a reply. Anyways ......

'budhu' was a typo. Fixed it, thanks.

while other two are described, let me take the honour for "aik anar, 100 beemar"

means: having only one Ibuprofen for 100 people :D

Literal translations-
1. An old horse with a red harness.
2. One pomegranate- 100 ill people
3. Doesnt know how to dance and blames the floor for being crooked.

The ghori can be ghora and budhi can be budha. The same mahawara will work if Faisal Bhai starts dressing up like Shikra. Lets not make Urdu a sexist language than it already is.

^ haha @ the comparsion between Faisal bhai and Shikra bhai. :clap:

Thank you bhai’on for helping me out. I knew the literal meaning.. just wanted to know the proper context.

Sorry to break the bubble, but Mr. Ahmad jee there is no such mohawara as

“Borha ghora laal lagam” :rolleyes:

Keyonkey ghora our mard kabhi borha na hota

Please stop spreading false information :halo:

Ajatey hain munh utha ke, urdu ki taang torney :stuck_out_tongue:

And whats wrong in Faisal bhai dressing up as Shikra ? :hoonh:

Now if Faisal bhai dresses up lik Phatima1, then we can say

**ek Miyaan main do talwarain nahi reh sakteen **:frowning:

Nice one AQ :hehe:

Nach na jana, angan....-means people blame other things, for their own shorcomings.-----

What's 'nehlay par dehla'?

^^ grrrrrr i SO know what it means but i dont know how to explain it! !!:frusty:

Some one is smart and impressive, but he can impress people untill someone else out-do him/her.

similar ones

ab aya na ount pahaar ke samney !

Maybe the origin of ' Nehley pe dehla ' is the game of Cards known as 'Rung'

:hoonh:

My favourites are:

Thaali ka baingan
Yeh muin aur masoor ki daal (did I get this right?)

Codey, thanks.

Jal_Pari: start deciphering the two. I've heard of'em, but explanation would help. :)

lol Sadiyah

Ok Thaali ka baingan - > a person who never takes sides. A person who favours the side which will profit him the most. When you put a baingan on a Thaali, its always rolling around and never stops :D

Yeh muin aur masoor ki daal is a tough one :D I really don't know how to explain it...maybe someone else can do a better job :)

Jal_Pari, first one reminds me of Pakistan's political figures.

I'm still waiting for the second one. Try to explain it to the best of your ability. :)