Need advise on Gold jewellery buying ..

Ladies,

I am in a dillema … My fiance and inlaws have asked me to buy gold Jewellery of my choice for the wedding …

When I asked them how much , they said , beita its upto you , job dil chata hai lai lo …

But I am seriously concerned coz I dont wanna over do , or under do … so please can you guys let me know what is the usual norm in Pakistan regards the gold that larkay walai give to the girl? How many tola’s and usually what kind of jewellery ( like chorri or kara etc )

Thanks ..

Re: Need advise on Gold jewellery buying ..

hmmm it depends..are your in laws well financially...well ask your mother in law what should you get....

from what i know the guy side do give bangles and a set and rings... so u can choose or get those of ur choice other then that maybe ur mum can help u?

Sweet girl, they have totally left it on me to buy what ever despite my insisting that please tell me how much or what .. but they insist back that you are our daughter please buy what ever you like ...

Now , the problem is mashallah they are strong financially, but I dont want to over spend coz I am not much of a gold wearer .. I need to buy just enough so people wont say larki ko kuch lai kai nai diya .. Although dad said ok we will gift you the money but tum at least kuch to lo so people wont talk ... inlaws said they will do the same ... thats why now I need to know whats the minimum spend on gold ..

I was thinking of getting one medium sized set ( earings , necklace, ring ) .... one from my inlaws one from my parents ... but dad said nahi you gotta get some chorri set or kara set as well .... so say I get two karra's only or a set of 6 chorri's plus the gold set .. would this be enough?

well you can buy a set maching with your walima dress, choriyan, rings from in laws side..

and from your side you can buy a set matching with your wedding dress, karay and some light set...

So that means it would suffice , that i get a medium gold set and a karra set or a chorri set … :hmmm:

Sweet , thanks mate , also can i ask , if its ok that I take the same from my fathers side as well … what do the girls usually get from their parents side?

what do the girls usually get from their parents side?

The set you want to wear at your baraat...some little sets to wear after your shaadi....def a set of chooriyan...and a kara or so......

From my InLaws I bought 1 big set for my Walima..1 normal set...6 choriyan..4 karre...1 big kara...
From my parents side I bought 12 sets, 12 chooriyan, 4 karres, 1 bahi, some rings, earings and chains...

i think it's enough. no need to waste money if you're not that into gold just for the sake of other people.

How weird CB im sitting around waiting for my inlaws to come an take me gold shopping for my walima and I come across ur thread.

For the first day my parents brought all the gold matching to the outfit (choorian, karra's, tikka, bai, choomar, large necklace and cant remember the rest)

My inlaws have said I can go out all crazy and buy what ever I want coz im their Daughter, so lets see what tickles my fancy :D

Im not much of a gold wearer either, but I guess the good thing is the gold ur given will always be there incase u need it in bad times (well thts what my mum keeps on telling me) just remember to store it safe in the bank :)

Thanks float, you are right , I am just gonna do the minimal bit.. Thanks again :hugz:

CE :hugz: its just two months left for you hai na? happy shopping :hugz:
your mom says exactly what my mom does .. but seriously yaar , all that heavy stuff is always left for the bank lockers :no: .. So I told mom I would rather buy only that stuff which i know i will wear … so lets see how that plays out..

Happy shopping :hugz:

Mashallah thats alot , Allah mian penna naseeb kare :hugz:

gold is an investment. Even if you dont like the concept, it makes alot of sense. If you dont wanna wear it, buy gold bars.

hitchki, thats exactly what my dad is doing .. he is investing in the bars at least they sell better then gold sets ...

Very good advise H.. I personally think thats the best way forward .

Mashallah thats alot , Allah mian penna naseeb kare :hugz:

AMIN!!
But actually I don’t wear my gold jewellery..Even after my shaadi I got gold gifts!!..pfff…Sometimes I wear the innie minnie earings…but that’s it!! Even before my wedding I never wore jewellery…Especially gold!!
I bought different sets..white gold…gold with ruby, emerald, pearls, kundan etc etc…but pfff…noise of the chooriyan makes me mad!! hahaha…especially the chooriyan in Pakistan…So I bought them here…the noise is better…I know it sounds strange…But I was really not a girly girly girl…and yeh I’m still not!! hahaha

So buy only things that you will wear!! Otherwise it will all end up in the locker or somewhere in your closet…

Chicken biryani, i thot u were married... lol...

It depends on ur inlaws.....what they can afford. it depends family to family...
recently heard the girl got a set of 32 tola's.... Allah Tallah pehna naseeb kere..

Zara :cb: .. nahi dude , inshallah will get married in three months time :@:
you are right it does depend on family to family , I just wanted to sort of gauge the basic minimum…

Iksa, you are very right, If we buy too much at one time, we just end up keeping it in the lockers , plus designs do get out of fashion … so its better to have one or two things and keep the rest either in Gold bars or money. Plus my friends warned me that there might be a few gold gifts at the wedding .. So I decided that better not to buy alot of gold otherwise later sambalna mushkil hojaye ga bi.

^ But if they go out of fashion, you can always melt them down and have something else made? :@:

Yes you will get a LOT of gold on your wedding… (even if you state that you don’t, desis will be desis)… so don’t go crazy with buying lots, but like Hitch said, it’s an investment.

Just buy what you like (and know you will wear), and the amount you think is morally acceptable… i know of this girl my nieces age, who recently got married, and her FIL (i suspect he’s into something dodgy) actually gave her £50,000 just to spend on Gold :hayaa: Who wears that much Gold these days??? That’s enough for a house deposit…heck i’d buy shoes and other things,instead of Gold with all that cash! :smack:

Just be wise, you will know what is right :hugz:

£50,000, for gold? :hayaa: :hayaa: :hayaa:

Such a waste hai na …

Maroush , I dont have much experience of dealing with gold , but I have heard that when we sell the gold set, we never get a proper price for the gold in it … coz at the time of buying , the goldsmith usually sells the stones in the gold set , at the price of the gold … but at the time of buying it back , the gold smith actually takes back only the gold and the stones are considered worthless…

This is something my parents have experienced several times in dubai gold market … and ultimately stopped selling gold , and instead started buying gold bars .. which is the purest form of gold investment ..:konfused:

Have you experienced anything like above?

Have i experienced the above? Nope, cos funnily enough, we're not a "gold" family... i didn't even wear gold on my wedding! The only gold i have, i bought after getting married, and even then it's a couple of karay, chokers etc, nothing big. I'm not a fan of it, for wearing purposes.

Ok, so buy your gold that you know you'll wear, the rest i think you should get in gold bars then... it seems to be the best type of investment, and you don't want your money (especially in this economic climate) going down the toilet! :D

4 to 5 sets will do the need … beter go for a white gold .. its in nowadays … :chai: