need advise...cant decide abt shadi:(

i have been engaged 4 more than two years..the guy is a cousin of mine who propose himself and said that he is in luv…i told my parents to decide..as i had no feelings at that time..my family were happy about the rishta and therefore i got engaged…with time i started to fall in luv with him…ad now i am totally in luv with him…the prob started after one year..we started having fights..he started ignoring me..i came to know that he was having an affair..for past 4 months with a girl at his uni.the girl herself told me.he even proposed her and told her that he will break the engagement.i confronted him and he accepted that he was involved with this girl but he said he was nt serious..he asked for forgiveness and i because i luved him too much forgave him and secondly i didnt want to hurt my parents by breaking the engagement. afterwards our relationship went on with some bumps..but its just that i never was happy again..hhe still sometimes ignores me..hurts me..sometimes he is really sweet too..but most of my time is spent cyring coz of him..but i luv him too much..i am getting married to him in march..ad i just have so many fears that what if he continues to hurt me..but honestly i cant leave him..coz i luv him so much..i feel like a looser…:(…i know he luvs me but he never tries to make me happy..

so girls/guys what should i do…i am just so cofused…i dont want to leave him..but the pain is always there of him being dishonest with me and coz of his cheating and his rude behaviour..but one thing i know he does luv me..but is luv everything :(..please advise (Sorry for the long post)

Re: need advise...cant decide abt shadi:(

honey I know it is tough, esp when you have been engaged for four years and that is a long time. Girls' affections are long lasting and love can even hurt then.

no love is not always enough. you need to have mutual understanding respect and most of all trust. He broke your trust quite badly and he even does ignore you. And you spend most of your time crying for him.

So just sit down, question yourself. do you really want this!? It is a matter of rest of your life.

The best option would be to pray 2 nafl of istekhara and ask Allah Swt to help ease your path and decide the best for you.

Have you talked about your fears and your fiance's formal cheating incident with any of your family? I think you should confide into someone who can exercise some influence on your family.

Otherwise, you have to be strong. it's better getting hurt for once and then moving on, rather than for the rest of your life!

hugs

ya i told my mom about his cheating..but at that time she told me to forgive him..coz my mother in law is my khala..i am doing istikhara...and really literally begging for guidance from Allah...as day by day things are getting more serious..i just wish ALlah will guide me...i just cant leave him...i am not that strong enough maybe..but the pain is so much...maybe i will have to make a decision

You have to remember this is your life and jus because its your cousin if your not happy you can leave him. Especially when you have support from family. IMO the only reason your mum told you to forgiv him is because its a relative. If it was a non relative she probly wud of broke it. (right or wrong) How selfish is this guy, He proposed to this girl he had a fling with yet said it wasnt serious?.(erm..?)

My uncle was with his gf for 6 years and a day b4 his mehndi he said to my mum and me that he doesnt wanna get married, he jus didnt wanna marry her (bare in mind its a love marriage) His parents were like everythings dun now etc etc, (imo it doesnt matter if ur seconds frm the nikkah if ur having doubts you leave) A year later they split up. Now their on n off on n off jus how they used to be when going out. Its pathetic.

There was another one that my aunty got engaged to this guy (her cousin) and they was engaged for 2 years. Her fiance rang up her dad (may Allah grant him jannat ameen) and he (her fiance)was drunk at the time, and he goes let me speak to bla bla, he goes whos this he goes its me bla bla, he goes whats ur rishta with her? he goes im engaged. he goes how dare u ring up my house asking to speak to my daughter ur only engaged that doesnt mean ANYTHING! He broke the engagment there n then!
She wud of had a amazing life there and a amazing mil.
Now shes married to a gud guy and has jus as amazing life as she wud of, even better. doesnt have to lift a finger to do anything. :)

What im tryna say is Things happen for a reason and If your unhappy Allah will question you as to why you didnt use your MIND! and have faith in him to lead you to happiness. You said you cry over him all the time. Hun he cheated on you when you was engaged, God knows if he will change or not. You can live without him hun, You really can.
May Allah help you really soon Inshallah! x

If you are having these thoughts then that is evidence enough that there will be issues.
Please take a serious look at practical life. Love is never enough.....especially when it is not reciprocated.

dear u have ake this faisla 4 urself..u know better ur situation..do what u feel like u should do..dont do something bcs someone told u to do it..u might regret it tomorrow..take some time to think about it u dunt have to rush

Re: need advise…cant decide abt shadi:(

its a very difficult situation and that too when ur wedding is so near. Discuss this with your parents, tell them about his affair with the girl in uni. Even though it didnt turn out to be a big issue but it may be an indication of some bigger issues in future. Its been over a year since u discoverd about him cheating on you and his ill treatment towards you since then, i am amazed that you let yourself be treated like this.

There is no need to hurry to be married when everything is so unsure.. please i advise u to talk to ur parents and let them have a ‘do tok baat’ with him about his intentions. Its a matter of your life and your life alone.. dont let anyone ruin it for you. Be strong and realize that you have every right to be loved and respected. So if he doesnt love and respect you then its already a failed relationship.

I wish you all the best for your future! :hugs:

You should look up Disturbed Angel's thread and learn from her.

She married a guy she knew and was in love with for 6 years. There were warning signs before marriage that she ignored too. What happened later? It just got worse.

You know what you can handle more then anyone else here. If you can see yourself living with him EXACTLY the way he is now for the rest of your life...marry him.

The worst thing you can do to yourself is marry someone in the hopes of changing them.

People dont change, their circumstances change.

^ That's very good advice. As always, RV gets right to the point and I really hope that you listen to her and others on this thread.
And if your fear is being alone for the rest of your life after dumping him then rest assured that Allah will listen to your prayers and find you someone better. Why wouldn't he? You are doing istikhara and asking for his help. Allah helps those who ask him. So be brave and end your misery. As cliche as it may sound, your future is in your own hands. I pray that you make the right decision.

^^is this ur full time job?

Not at all! I'm also a full time teacher.

Seriously, you're not obligated to read my essays. Is bashing/mocking people for trying to help others your full time job?

redvelvet that so explains why your posts are so intelligent. Which some people cant even read 2 sentences let alone how much you write it wud appear like a book to them. :p

Tearsineyes << I've jus clocked on to your Screen-name. You need to let go of this guy hun.

he's not good for u. u are only engaged to him and ur feeling so much pain and heartache. u should have broken it off as soon as he cheated on u. whats to stop him from doing it again after marriage? pls think long and hard about this before u go through with it. can u put up with this for the rest of ur life? u will always have doubts in the back of ur mind about him because he's cheated once already. its never too late to say no. make the right decision for urself and forget about what ur family might say. they are the not the ones marrying him, u r.

You love only once in life . One true love . I think you should go for it . Its worth it . Sometimes its better to turnoff your brain and follow your heart .

Next person in line might be the perfect guy , but won’t be your love .

Good luck :k:

By marrying him in March you'll be digging your own grave. Break it off.

^ MKD is never right . :snooty:

Wow...i dont know what kind of parents would say its okay for their daughter to marry a cheater. Thats just sad.

Why are you even doing istikhara? God has already shown you the way when He placed the idea of disclosure to the girl your fiancé was fooling around with.

You can’t be serious.