Need a word of advice to avoid future problems

As’salamuAlaikum to everybody on GS,

I want to share something with all of you here and want some sensible advices. My fiancee and i love eachother so much, last sunday was his birthday so we went for a dinner. my mother knew it that we’re going out, i ask my mother everytime when we go out and she’s always ok with it.. same is with my dad, he doesn’t have any problem with me and my fiancee going out for lunches or dinners. but it was just that i didn’t want to tell him straight away that me and my fiancee are going out, i told him that me my mother in law and my sister in law are going out for a dinner.. we left at 10 [the two of us] and when we were having dinner at a restaurant my mother in law called at my fiancee’s cell phone.. the battery of his mobile was low and it suddenly switched off, his phone was silent and i didn’t know that his mum was calling. anyways we finished at 11:30 and when we both were in the car my mother in law started calling on my cell phone. I asked my fiancee why’s mama calling? she never calls me at such late timings, he said don’t pickup the phone lets go home now. alright i was 10 mins away from my house [restaurant was not that far away from my house] and in those 10 mins my sister in law called at my father’s cell. and asked him “where is cute?” * my dad said she was supposed to be with you. [let me add she’s unmarried and she’s 28 years old now.. elder sis of my fiancee, and she doesn’t ever want to get married. my fiancee is 3 years younger than her] so, my sis in law got soooo angry.. and she said to my dad “uncle yeh koi tareeqa nahi hay, aap dantain usko yeh karain woh karain, humaray ghar mein aisa nahi hota + humaray ghar k paas bohat firing ho rahi hay aur woh log phone nahi utha rahay.. etc” my dad stayed calm and said let me call her jaisay hee woh aati hay, main aap ko call karta hun aap pareshan nahi hon. then my dad started calling me and when he called me 3rd time i was outside my home door. my dad didn’t say a word to me, he only said “beta usko apnay ghar mein batana chahiya tha na k tum dono ja rahay ho.. us k ghar walay pareshan ho rahay hain aur uski behan bohat ghussay mein hay” then my papa called her and told her that he’ll be there [my fiancee] in just a few minutes. still she was very angry.. my fiancee went to his friend’s house and called me from his friend’s phone to ask the situation at my house and whatever happened. i told him everything.. he was so embarrassed to face his mother and sister, because in the evening when he was taking his mum and sis back from lunch [they 3 went for lunch that day] his mum asked what are your plans for the whole day? he said he’s gona go to his friend’s house for some office work and then he’ll come to my house as i’ve bought something for him, so he’ll come to pickup the gifts and meet me.. my sister in law suddenly said, ok i’ll also come with you to meet her. my fiancee called me in the evening at around 7pm and said, “oh sis ko main nay bataya k main aaj tumharay paas aaunga to woh keh rahi hain main bhi chalun gi [adding for your knowledge that she has never said such thing before that she’s also coming with him to meet me], i said to my fiancee that please not today, bring her any other day you want.. but i’ve planned a lot of things for today. my fiancee didn’t like my answer, he just said alright.. let me do something.” i texted after his call that please don’t be upset, you know you’re all welcome anytime but just today i want you and me to go out/ or meet at my home. he replied after maghrib prayer that he’ll be coming to pick me up in 15 mins. i said no - i’m not yet ready, pick me up at 9:30. it was all good until we were back from the dinner. but when my fiancee went back home after dinner and his friend’s house it was all messed up at his house.. his mother said only 1 sentence “tum nay mera bharosa tor diya aaj” and he started crying… and saying sorries… and apologising… my mother in law is really so nice but i don’t know why didn’t she allow him to meet me even on his birthday.. although my inlaws aren’t that islamic - means they pray 5 times salaah and they wear proper islamic clothes but they never were like this. like my sister in law goes out for lunches and dinners with her office colleagues and my mother in law never said a word to her. why is she putting restrictions on my fiancee then? anyway, my fiancee got free from all that at 4 o’clock in the morning.. and texted me, i called him back and asked what happened is everything alright there? he said, yes i had to make a promise to mama that we won’t meet until we’re married. he took this decision on his own without even thinking about my feelings.. as he knows for sure i never go against his wishes, i do as he likes me to. i never say a word to him. i always respect his decisions and his family too. and in fact, i really love his family too. I’m as usual agreed to whatever my fiancee has promised, his promise is my promise. well then next morning i called my mother in law and said sorry for last night. she said “she was shocked at what happened.. gehra sadma pohncha hay unhein, she said he’s still na-mehram for me, aur agar hum dono apni nand ko saath lay jaati to kia ho jaata aakhir? aur kaha, main nay tumsay kabhi nahi kaha laikin tumhein khud sochna chahiye k mera beta saari raat jaagta hay [unhein lagta hay meri waja say.. jab k woh to office say hee 2am aatay hain aksar, after late sittings. and he offer isha prayer and then recite holy Quran and sends me a few text msgs and sleep” we don’t even talk on the phone daily.. only saturday nights] even then, i kept on listening to her and replied “jee mama” i was crying throughout the phone call of 30mins and she only said, main tumhein daant nahi rahi hun samjha rahi hun. well when the phone ended and she was doing breakfast with my fiancee she said “main to dantun gi usay, beti hay meri” my fiancee got so much happier that i made that apology call to his mum. but the thing now bothers me is that, why does my fiancee only listens to his mum and sis? her sister has said really hurting things to me in the past 2 years. and i haven’t said a single word to her because she will then say “main behas karti hun” me and my whole family has never fought with eachother and we’re brought up in such a way that my mum taught us never to say a word to mother in law and sister in law, even if they’re wrong.
2ndly, i have never discussed about my sister in law saying hurting things to me to my parents/ sister / friends. i always say my in laws are the best in laws. and my fiancee is the best person on earth my eyes could see. I recently told a friend of mine who comes to study with me at my place, i told her that my sister in law has done all that with me, and my fiancee always says “main un ki jaga sorry karta hun, tum kabhi kuch mat kehna bus mujhay tumhaari yehi aadat bohat pasand hay” my friend says my sister in law will create problems for me in the future, as she doesn’t ever want to get married, and the truth is my mother in law gave her all the rights, she listens to each and everything my sis. in law says - so she’s the actual boss of the house. and as my fiancee is younger than her, he can’t say a word to her sis. if he will say anything it’ll be taken as “badtameezi” even if he’s saying right. my fiancee doesn’t listen to anything against her mum esp.,
3rdly, he has faith in me and he doesn’t feel like asking me while he makes any promises like the 1 mentioned. I sometimes think he’ll never ask me for anything as he knows i’m always with him. he has even told me that we’ll bring mama and sis with us on our honeymoon trip.. which i feel so awkward, my fiancee says they’ll be in the next room in the same hotel. and we’ll go out together. alright i don’t have any problems with them going out, but honeymoon is a real personal thing, the privacy of our relationship will spoil. I don’t want that. but he says, oh jaan let them go with us naa. i said alright but i’ll definitely feel awkward when we get up late in the morning etc.. and you know what i mean. my fiancee says, when i go to their house i must sit very close to my mother in law.. and puts oil on her hair so that she’ll start loving me even more.. but i’m not that bold, i feel really shy doing all these things..
my question to all of you is that - am i doing it alright? or would it create troubles for me in future? remember, my fiancee loves me toooooo much..!! incase you guys think that he doesn’t. what are the possible troubles i would have to face after my marriage?*

Re: Need a word of advice to avoid future problems

First of all, your MIL is right, your fiance is a na mehram for you
Second of all, iw ould advise you to get married first and then see what problems you might have. Sometimes things look different from afar as compared to when you are living the situation.
Third, bringing the rest of the family on honeymoon trip just sounds wierd. I hope his mother and sister will have enough sense to refuse. Maybe others will have better advice as to what you can do if they dont refuse and your fiance is adamant in taking them.

Next time try writing a smaller, more compacter post please, i really skimmed through to find out what your question is.

Stop letting them walk all over you.....
If you don't like something, insist on it and make it clear...in a nice manner to your fiancee. Don't do things you don't feel comfortable with...he may get used to it, and you will get frustrated...
Aas for honeymoon, I see NO reason why the mom n sis must come along? Tell him how you feel, and you'd prefer honeymoon alone, and inshallah in the future you all can take a family trip together.....you only get honeymoon once...so you need to enjoy it

aww! i'm really sorry dear.. i was trying to make the whole situation very clear, but really thanks for your suggestion anyway.

Afro-Sheen, I sometimes feel like saying this to my fiancee that taking them on our honeymoon isn't a good idea. But, my father in law died last year and my fiancee feels he shouldn't let mama and sis feel as they're left alone without him.

all because you went out on a date with your fiance? ofcourse i didnt read all your post, but it seems like choti se baat ka pahaar ban gya hai... teekh ho jaye ga sub kuch.

I skimmed thru it as well but u must put u're foot down and voice u're concerns or face them forever.. cuz this never stops.. =(

firstly please put breaks in your paragraphs.. makes it easier to read.

secondly, i am not sure how old are you guys but your MIL is right when she doesn't want you guys to meet right now. You lied to your parents about it and you guys got caught, not a big deal but you have to realize that no matter how liberal we get, this isn't acceptable.

thirdly, honeymoon per you have to take a stand and say kay its only you and hubby going.. maybe your MIL and SIL won't even agree to your hubby's idea..

so fikar not.. chilll karo enjoy your bachelorhood and keep smiling..

i read each and every sentence in ur post....... and i can safely say that the way ure handlin ur fiance and his family is both good and bad. .. good that u are not disrespectful... dun answer back, apologised etc but honey, there is a limit to everythin... i think u r being way to submissive to him.. like the honeymoon case, u HAVE to put ur foot down and say ure goin alone... if hes scared that mom and sis will be left out or alone while u have fun in ur honeymoon... then what will happen later when u go out alone ... or want to spend some quality time alone??? really silly and stupid of him to think about this...

secondly, i dun think its a big deal if u two meet... but the prb is u went out pretty late... on top of that he didnt ans his mom's phone... and u also didnt... so if i was a mom, i will feel theyre busy... ahem ahem .. u know, i will feel protected as a mom that u guys dun end up doin something wrong u know??? so this was wrong on ur part to go so late.

another thing honey, i know u and he love one another alot... but it doesnt mean u should bow down to his unrealistic demands... ask him to look around and see even the most conservative ppl dun let their mom or anyone tag alone during honeymoon... honeymoon hi toh ek phase hia jo alone time hai warna oskey baad toh un sab ke sath hi rehna hia... aur agar joint nahi bhi rehna, then also, ure newly married and should have ur fun... learn to say no in an assertive way... know ur rites and know his rites to u, mom and sis.*

my take

the issue was with what you guys did. you should have told people, and he should have told his sis she cant come rather than hiding, its when ppl hide that it becomes an issue of trust and people get upset.

I have read the whole thing, and I dont think anyone including your MIL has said anything that is not justified.

and it setms from this being done hidden from others ane being caught in your and your fiance's lies.

That was such a long post.... Can you please never do that to us again?

Now. Back to your question.
Speak up. Voice your opinions and make sure no one ever puts you down. Even those who love you and are closest to you can fall into a habit of taking advantage of you --- if you let them.
If you don't fix things now, next, your fiance' will insist his mother and sister sleep between the two of you during the honeymoon trip.

Pehli ghalti: you didnt tell your father. If he's ok with it, you shouldve told him, or you could tell your mom to tell him i you cant approach him directly.

doosri ghalti: your fiance should've wanted to be alone with you on the special day too and should have refused his sister himself.

third: whatever you sis-in-law says to you, you tell your fiance. Tell him ke mein uski burai nahi kar rahi im just telling you because i tell you everything (even if you dont :D) You ABSOLUTELY MUST tell your fiance everything that goes between your in-laws and you.

What you did right was to call and apologize to your mom-in-law. Good move. Note it down as a hard and fast rule that you must never disrespet her. Just be patient and you'll see everything unfolding in the best of manners Inshallah. Just wait and see.

And dont even worry that he made that decision on his own. I'm sure there will be lots of times when one of you will make a decision and trust the other person to respect it. If he is as eager to meet up with you as you are to meet him, you'll see him breaking his promise pretty soon ;)

mmm.... ok , i read your post,

and i don't know why you went over all the details about the birtday dinner with your fiancee.. but you HAVE to realize, you and your fiance were at fault there...what ever happened, or was said, by each member of the family was completely justified...
your dad, your sister in law and your mother in law, all acted like loving family...
your sister in law was completely right....she was worried about yours and her brothers safety, as u said there was firing near the house.... plus, if some one (like your dad) tells me that you are with me , when infact you are not (and i have been trying to locate you myself) i would be pretty irritated too, on top of that the situation wasnt safe in your area.

and your point about "oh my sister in law goes out for lunches and dinners with colleagues and my mother in law has no problem" also doesnt have any relevance here, as long as your sister in law goes out with these ppl and she doesn't lie to your mother in law about being with someone else, and somewhere else, and your mother in law knows about it, then its all ok, and your sis in law is not in the same situation as you...

your sis in law was also completely right in asking your dad to have a word with you, ke uncle dekhen ussay samjhayen, asiay nahi kartay...

they were not upset that you went alone with your fiancee on the birthday, but you lied about it or tried to hide, and through phone calls, the truth came out...

they seem like a loving family (your inlaws i mean) your sister in law is older, and most likely also more responsible than her brother (your fiancee)...

about the honeymoon issue, well from personal experience i can say even during honeymoon period, the new couple may enjoy some activities more (like when you go out to touristy/fun places etc) with the family (sometimes, the more the merrier truly does hold)...and ofcourse some activities, might be more initimate and might be better off if just two of you experience it...
so if you really do wanna make a nice gesture, what you can do is plan a trip for honey moon with your fiancee, sister in law and mother in law...but during the trip, you can do some activites as a family, and then some activies just the two of you (husband and wife)...so part of the day u and yoru husband can spend alone, and your mil and sis in law can spend on their own together as mother and daughter

during the honeymoon period....i went to a few touristy places , but with husband and his fmaily...and while there, it was not like my husbands family was with us all the time, they actually were quite nice in that they actually used to nudge/send me and my husband off on little activites by ourselves...and there were other activities that we all participated in as a family with my husband and his relatives..which was fun in its own way... it was a nice blend of alone private intimate time, and then fun as a new couple with lots of ppl (family) time...
and during this family time these people teased us, celebrated us, and validated us as a new couple, which was enjoyable and sweet... and we would have not had the same experience if we were alone (just hubby and I) among strangers/other tourists in a new place...

so if u end up taking ur mother in law and sister in law, it might not be that bad, as long as u divide the time/activities up...

but its up to you, if you really want it to be just you and your husband, then you have to say it directly and make it clear... don't do what you did with the birthday dinner, where you tried to hide it and ended up providing misinformation to ur dad

dang.... my head hurts

Wow, this was long but definitely interesting. CC, you’ve got some good things here and some bad. I like the fact that you are supportive of your in-laws and try to be nice and patient with them. I dont like how you are putting yourself on a backburner though.

Firstly, I agree with some of the posters here. You shouldnt have lied to your parents or in-laws. Never do that again just to go and meet your fiancee. The reason is not only moral. The thing is, you dont want to be the bad guy…ever. These are your IN-LAWS not your PARENTS. They will easily forgive their own son because he is their flesh and blood. Why would they forgive an outsider just as easily? Especially one who might take away the man of the house? Hm? Think about that.

Second, he is na-mehram. I dont think you guys go out a lot but maybe MIL thought you guys might get a bit too close? Its a possibility. YOU, as the woman, should be the one saying “let’s listen to our parents and not meet before the wedding”. Not him. Role reversal here…not good. If he says it, you look like the bad influence once again.

Third, PICK YOUR BATTLES. What is worth fighting for? What is worth arguing about? If you argue or hold these things inside you all the time, it will look to him like you are against his family. However, if you put up a strong fight once in a while, you have a better chance of coming out victorious. The honeymoon is worth the trouble of arguing and standing your ground. The birthday issue, not so much. Let it go. If you really love this guy and want it to work, learn to let small things go. He should never equate you with any sort of negativity.

Fourth, it seems as if he is the only boy in the house. Is that true? Will you be living with in-laws after marriage? If so, it wouldnt be a bad idea to strengthen that relationship with in-laws a little more. Ignore the little things. Your MIL probably isnt a bad person, it sounds to me like she is just feeling a bit threatened and lonely now…very common. So, she is teaming up with sis-in-law. The way to control that so it doesnt run over into your personal life is to actually spend time with her - believe it or not. Your sis-in-law will calm down once you start to develop a relationship with your MIL. Why do I say that? Because its in your MIL’s best interest to maintain a healthy relationship with you and your future husband.

:smokin:*

Hi Cute,
I also read your whole post and think that your SIL and MIL aren't wrong and handled the situation corectly though I understand why you felt the way you did. It's because you're young and cant understand some issues. If both of your parents are fine with you two meeting each other than you should always let them know. Jo sahi baat hai uske liye dont get upset with inlaws or parents. You two are na mehrem to each other and should meet in presence of another family member and not late like this. Next time welcome the company of SIL, it is important for you to not just have good relationship with fiance but his family too.

^ well said CA

just another thing... dont listen to ur friends when they say that ur SIL will create problems. Cus, even if she's not creating any, it'll seem like she is.

Your fiance sounds like a nice person.. and he's trying to be a good son and brother.. so dont hold him against that. Inshallah things will be ok..

First of all, read this: Writing Tips: Paragraph Builder - WritingDEN

Now, it’s funny how some who replied just ignored the most important thing! It’s your fault your in this situation. You LIED to your parents and his mom and sister.

This is why there are rules in Islam, so you don’t fall in shaytan’s trap.

As for the honeymoon business. leave it till after marriage.. Get yourself straightened out first.

**“In the West they say, “love is a madness that ends with marriage, but in Islam, love is a madness that only begins with marriage!” **

^^ Can you also quote what she said to lie so I don't have to go back and search what you were referring to kill my curiosity...lol

first few lines

last sunday was his birthday so we went for a dinner. my mother knew it that we're going out, i ask my mother everytime when we go out and she's always ok with it.. same is with my dad, he doesn't have any problem with me and my fiancee going out for lunches or dinners. but it was just that i didn't want to tell him straight away that me and my fiancee are going out,** i told him that me my mother in law and my sister in law are going out for a dinner.**.