Nazr on baby/child

Hello everyone,

Just wondering if there is any way to tell whether a child has been affected by nazr or if all the things happening to him or her are simply Allah’s will?

Ever since my 2 year old daughter was born, I’ve struggled with one thing after another with her. It seems it just never stops. She was born a healthy weight - just shy of 8lb, but her appetite was never good and even though I breastfed her, she put on weight very slowly. Getting her to drink milk, drink water and eat food has always been a HUGE struggle.

She is also extremely fussy, hyperactive and high needs and has been this way since birth. Everything and I mean everything is a struggle with her. She cries and fusses everytime I change her diaper or change her clothes or try to take her from one room to another. She is so strong willed and gets upset very easily at every little thing. I feel physically and emotionally drained just 2 hours after waking up.

She’s also been getting recurring styes in her eyes for the last year despite all my efforts to meticulously wash her hands and her eyes several times a day.

And I recently found out she has a very minor physical disability that affects the way she walks and we have now enrolled her in physiotherapy to try and improve her gait.

My MIL says “Is ko zaroor nazr lagee hai” and my mom and step mom also think that she gets nazr easily.

I always read aytul koorsee and blow on her and I also read the 4 quls. I have not been regular in my prayers because I have just been so busy with her and I’m also pregnant with #2](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=2) so I am not always feeling well (I know this is not a good enough excuse) but I am trying to get back to praying more regularly.

I am just wondering if there is anyway to tell whether she has been truly affected by nazr or are all these hardships simply Allah’s will and a test for me as a mother? Don’t get me wrong, I am so incredibly grateful to have her. She is the love of my life and so smart and incredible in so many ways. Anyone that meets her is instantly smitten.

When she was first born, everyone family and friends and strangers included kept going on about how beautiful she was. I had so many people tell me that she was the most beautiful newborn they had ever seen in their life MashAllah. I heard through my MIL that one family member who was pregnant at the time liked my daughter’s photos so much that she would look at them everyday hoping for a baby as cute as her. This is also the reason I NEVER post her pics on facebook. I am terrified of nazr on her. Even to this day people are always saying how adorable, beautiful she is etc. Usually they say MashAllah but the non-muslims don’t know to say it so I just say it when she gets compliments from them.

How do I know if it is nazr or Allah’s will? Are there any other duas I can say to keep her from being further affected by nazr if that is what it is? Are there any duas to help her get better health wise (her minor physical disability is what is worrying me the most) I’ve been really down lately. Thanks.

Re: Nazr on baby/child

please don't tow that line of 'nazar' etc.

seek medical help...have her thoroughly checked out by a pediatrician/specialist. she should be investigated for any possible medical condition.

^ I have already been to SEVERAL pediatricians and specialists. We are getting her all the medical help she needs and requires. Physiotherapy being the number one form of treatment for what she has.

ok...then you are doing what you are supposed to do. be patient. iA, she will be alright. sure, continue with physio and be patient. may Allah help your child get full and speedy recovery...aameen.

What's up with exasperated tone with which you say "don't throw the nazar line." Nazar is NOT always the reason behind our problems, but it DOES exist. It cannot be wholly dismissed unless you think the Allah and His Nabi SAWS are lying. I don't think it's healthy to cry "nazar/magic" for ever single mishap or ache.....but I also get turned off by those who believe themselves to be far too "maadran" or "edumacated" or "enlightened" to believe in such things.

Also, I think it's reasonable to say that most of the folks on GS are educated and would most likely consult doctors and look at various other possibilities before also giving nazar serious thought. Just because one is contemplating it as a possibility doesn't mean they haven't ruled out other factors or taken other measures.

Everyone has their own opinion about nazr but as long as you are being proactive with her physically and spirtiually, IA she will catch up. Some kids have a slow start but they eventually do catch up and make up for it.

I am completly agree with nazar type things. like jadoo hai. someone has done on our holy prophet(PBUM). same thing it also there.
U take her to best doc. but cries all time that wrong.
take 7 red chilies dry and take 7 circle around her , start from right to left and burn it on stove. their severe smell will show. on tues and sat, take liitle mustard oil and say to her look at it. and drop it in drainage.
through these 2 tips , u will definitely feel difference. and yh at night or whenevr she sleep, read Ayat -ul-kursi, 4 Qul and dam on her.
My son has same prob fussy all time. and sometime cries so bitterly , v afraid. So keep on try.
and last thing name also matter that u keep ur baby. these r reality , nw many poeple ignore it. but it matters.

^ you forgot burning phatkari on stove after doing circles on kids heaf. Phaktari burns, transforms and shows the face of the nazar laganay wala insaan. :halo:

People believe Prophet got nazar but they give a damn to the fact that the same Prophet forbade to believe that taweez dhagay mirchayn and stupid stuff like them to help you get out of a problem. Jub unn pe jadu hua tha, muawwizatayn naazil hui theen..so behtar hai unhi tak aqeeda mazboot rakha jaye. Thank you

^ This!!!

Even if it is Nazr, it is by the will of God. If you manage to find a cure, that also will be Allah's will. You should try to find a GOOD Raaqi (Islamic spiritual healer) in your area and let him read Quran on your child. Nazr or anything else, it will cure her.

Did you do her aqeeqa the Islamic way when she was born?

It doesn't matter where the superstitions come from. Some believe in nazr. Other believe in other rasams described above.

Just stay with science.

Nazar does happen. Someone complimented my hair and next day I had a large pus boil randomly on my head. I’ve just taken to saying mashallah internally, externally if anyone compliments me now. Keep doing what you’re doing by saying ayat ul kursi and 4 qul consistently. It’ll help with #2](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=2) as well. People do change their children’s name sometimes if the name doesn’t have a good meaning or simply doesn’t suit the child. Maybe have a look at that.

Reciting last verse of surah Qalam is also regarded very effective for nazar.
May Allah help you and your child, amen.

I don't believe in amals like burning mirchain and cutting through a glass of water with a knife unless there's Surahs being recited with it. Better to do the amal that contains recitation of Quran; that's sufficient.

Seriously?!?! Why Tuesday and Saturday? Why not Thursday? or Monday? What does dropping mustard oil in drainage accomplish? :smack:

I wholeheartedly believe in nazar, but like proto said, there is not one shred of evidence that Rasulullah Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallam did these practices or taught us that we should as well. Please don’t believe or practice this rubbish.

And sometimes children cry for no reason. Not everything is because of jaadu tona/nazar.

The concept of nazar exists in every culture. The Chinese are said to place mirrors on the ceilings of their homes to ward off the evil eye. The Latinos rub an egg all over the body to remove nazar. In Europe, there's a tradition involving olive oil....it's some sink or float test which indicates whether someone is afflicted with nazar.

We have such traditions in Desi culture too and Amaya is not the only one to believe in them or recommend them. Most likely, she grew up seeing these practices in her family and it's natural to get used to family traditions. It may be a while before some of us actually question family traditions in the light of Islam.

For example, I have seen my dadi use eggs and chickens....and growing up I never thought much of it....heck I didn't even question it. I only questioned the validity when I became an adult and that too only recently. It's easy....very easy (I admit) to get vexed at a person suggesting superstitious practices. It's just as easy to feel vexed with those who smugly dismiss nazar and magic altogether and we got some of those folks on here too. But Amaya doesn't strike me as a dheet member....my guess is that she'll reconsider her beliefs if guided with more patience.

Sometimes we raise our eyebrows at the usage of ingredients like food in combating things like magic/nazar, etc. In the case of magic and jin possession....the jinns are said to be very averse to certain things like lemon and sidr leaves. Other times certain ingredients like olive oil are used because of their blessed importance in Islam.

I have many times read a religious reference (hadith) that one of the procedures to remove nazar is that if you KNOW who gave you the evil eye....then that person must do wuzu....and then victim is then to use the residual water of that wuzu in some way. Now some might ask..."Why on earth would you do that? What properties are in the residual wudhu water that would remove the evil eye. Does that water have healing properties?" Allah knows best.

As for the use of mirchain...maybe there is said to be some property in mirchain....but if it's not mentioned in hadith or other Islamic references and if the practice does not entail recitation of the Quran....best to avoid it.

Thanks for the responses. Just to clarify, I did not mean that someone did jadoo/black magic on my daughter. I know for certain this is not the case. I have NO enemies whatsoever and do not know ANYONE in this world that would ever want to intentionally do that to me or my family Alhumdolilah.

When I say Nazr....I am simply talking about if someone sees my daughter and appreciates her beauty or personality and even if they look at her with good intentions, sometimes nazr phir be lug ja tee hai....this is why we are taught to ALWAYS say MashAllah (which myself and all the muslims I know do) but sometimes nazr can still happen. They say that it is possible for you to even give nazr to your own children as you are the one that loves and cherishes them the most.

I just wanted to know whether there are any other duas I can say other than the 4 guls or aytul koorsee that can help avoid nazr or that have healing properties. Also wanted to know if there is a way to know if this stuff is happening from nazr or is simply Allah's will?

I guess I should just accept that it is Allah's will but pretty much EVERTHING from her birth until this day has been a huge struggle and I am honestly not exaggerating. I have doctors and nurses comment all the time about how "high needs" she is. They aren't used to seeing babies/toddlers as incredibly fussy and intense as my little princess is.

We did shaved her head at 7 weeks instead of 7 days because she was born with the use of vacuum. We gave to charity right away but did not hold the party until her 1st bday. We did everything the islamic way. We just did not follow the sunnah of doing it on 7th day but then that is sunnah not a requirement.

My son is like that. Born very near to eight lbs but put on weight slowly and very fussy and high needs. He still is. Sometimes that's what you get.