Hi Guys
Can I have the names of the twelve Imams of the Shiite faith in proper succession ?
Thanks
Suhaib
PS. Sheraz, why dont you give it a try
? Rhia would definitely be knowing it - and would be the first one to reply too.
Hi Guys
Can I have the names of the twelve Imams of the Shiite faith in proper succession ?
Thanks
Suhaib
PS. Sheraz, why dont you give it a try
? Rhia would definitely be knowing it - and would be the first one to reply too.
1) Imam Ali bin AbuTalib
2) Imam Hassan bin Ali s/o Ali bin Abu Talib
3) Imam Hussain bin Ali s/o Ali bin Abu Talib
4) Imam Zain-ul-Aabideen s/o Hussain bin Ali bin Abu Talib
5) Imam Muhammad Baqer s/o Imam Zain-ul-Abideen
6) Imam Jaffar Sdiq s/o Imam Muhammad Baqer
7) Imam Moosa Al-Kazim s/o Imam Jaffar Sadiq
8) Imam Ali Radha s/o Imam Moosa Al-Kazim
9) Imam Mohammad Al-Jawad s/o Imam Ali Radha
10) Imam Ali Al-Hadi s/o Imam Mohammad Al-Jawad
11) Imam Hassan Al-Askari s/o Imam Ali Al-Hadi
12) Imam Mohammad Al-Mahdi s/o Imam Hassan Al-Askari
may Allah be pleased with them all
thanx armughal.
I have in the past learnt quite a lot about the shiite faith from this very forum, and I guess I have learnt them well :)
Well, could you (or anyone of you here) also tell what has been the primary role/tasks of all these Imaans (peace be upon them all) ?
Does any such form of lineage still exist ? In this context how would explain the stature of Late Ayatholla Khomenie ?
Please shed some light on this.
Thanks
Suhaib
Re: Names of Shiite Imaams
*Originally posted by suby: *
PS. Sheraz, why dont you give it a try ;) ? Rhia would definitely be knowing it - and would be the first one to reply too.
and exactly what do you mean by this ? huh
Few Facts About the Twelve Imams of Ahlul-Bait
==============================================
The First Imam: The Commander of Believers, Abul-Hasan, ALI al-Murtadha, son of Abu Talib, was born on the 13th of Rajab, 10 years before the declaration of the Prophethood (600 A. D.), INSIDE KA'BAH. He became Imam, on the demise of the Prophet on the 28th of Safar 11/632, and was fatally wounded by the poisoned sword of Ibn Muljam while engaged in prayers at the Mosque of Kufa (Iraq), and expired two days later on the 21st of Ramadhan 40/661, and was buried at al-Najaf (Iraq).
The Second Imam: Abu Muhammad, AL-HASAN al-Mujtaba, son of Ali, was born on the 15th of Ramadhan 3/625 in Medina; martyred of poison on the 7th or 28th Safar 50/670 in Medina by the order of Mu'awiya.
The Third Imam: Abu Abdillah, AL-HUSAIN, The Chief of Martyrs (Sayyid al-Shuhadaa), son of Ali, was born on the 3rd of Sha'ban 4/626 in Medina; was martyred with his sons (except one), relatives and companions, on the 10th of Muharram (Ashura) 61/680 in Karbala (Iraq) by order of Yazid (LA). He and his elder brother, al-Hasan, were sons of Fatima, the daughter of the holy Prophet.
The Fourth Imam: Abu Muhammad, ALI Zain al-Abidin, son of al-Husain, was born on the 5th of Sha'ban 38/659; martyred of poison on the 25th of Muharram 94/712 or 95/713 in Medina by the order of Husham Ibn Abdul-Malik.
The Fifth Imam: Abu Ja'far, MUHAMMAD al-Baqir, son of Ali, was born on the 1st of Rajab 57/677 in Medina; martyred of poison by Ibrahim on the 7th Dhul-Hajja 114/733 in Medina.
The Sixth Imam: Abu Abdillah, JA'FAR al-Sadiq, son of Muhammad, was born on the 17th of Rabi'ul-Awwal 83/702 in Medina; martyred there of poison on the 25th of Shawwal 148/765 by the order of al-Mansur.
The Seventh Imam: Abul-Hasan al-Awwal, MUSA al-Kadhim, son of Ja'far, was born in al-Abwa (7 miles from Medina) on the 7th Safar 129/746; martyred of poison on the 25th of Rajab 183/799 in the prison of Harun al-Rashid in Baghdad and was buried at al-Kadhimiyya, near Baghdad (Iraq).
The Eighth Imam: Abul-Hasan al-Thani, ALI al-Ridha, son of Musa, was born in Medina on the 11th Dhul-Qa'da 148/765; martyred of poison on the 17th of Safar 203/818 in Mash'had (Khurasan, Iran) by the order of Ma'mun.
The Ninth Imam: Abu Ja'far al-Thani, MUHAMMAD al-Taqi al-Jawad, son of Ali, was born on the 10th of Rajab 195/811 in Medina; martyred of poison by the order of Mu'tasim in Baghdad on the 30th Dhul-Qa'da 220/835; was buried near his grandfather at al-Kadhimiyya.
The Tenth Imam: Abul-Hasan al-Thalith, ALI al-Naqi al-Hadi, son of Muhammad, was born on the 5th of Rajab 212/827 in Medina; martyred of poison in Samirra (Iraq) on 3rd of Rajab 254/868 by the order of Mutawakkil.
The Eleventh Imam: Abu Muhammad, AL-HASAN al-Askari, son of Ali, was born on the 8th of Rabi al-Thani 232/846 in Medina; martyred of poison by Mu'tamid in Samirra (Iraq) on the 8th of Rabi'ul-Awwal 260/874.
** Twelfth Imam: Abul-Qasim, MUHAMMAD al-Mahdi, son of al-Hasan, was born on the 15th of Sha'ban 255/869 in Samirra (Iraq). He is our present and alive Imam. He went into Lesser Occultation in 260/874 which continued until 329/844. Then the greater occultation began which still continues. He will reappear when Allah allows him to establish the kingdom of Allah on earth and to fill the world with justice and equality as it would be full of injustice and tyranny. He is al-Qa'im (the one who shall stand to establish the rule of Allah); al-Hujja (the proof of Allah over His creatures); Sahib al-Zaman (the master of our time); and Sahib al-Amr (the one who is supported by divine authority).
now that we are talking about Imams..I have a nice story about 2 of the students of our 6th Imam..Imam Jafar Sadiq (as):
there were two students of Imam Jaffer As-SAdiq (a.s.).Bahlool and Abo Hanifa. Abo Hanifa comes to Bahlool one day.
Abo Hanifa:I strongly disagree with 3 things that the Imam said in class.
Bahlool:why? what are they?
Abo Hanifa:1.How could Allah exsist if we cant see him?
2.how could Allah punish Shaytan in hell fire if he is made from fire?that wont hurt him.
3.how could we be responsible for our own actions?Allah makes us do all those things.
So Bahlool picks up a rock made out of clay and throws it at Abo Hanifas head causing him to bleed.
Abo Hanifa:oouch!!what did you do that for?
So Abo Hanifa takes Bahlool to the court.
Judge:Bahlool,why did you throw the rock at Abo Hanifa?
Bahlool:well,he told me 3 things that he disagreed with that the Imam told us in class.1How could Allah exsist if we cant see him?well,he claims he has a headache.how do weknow it exsists if we cant see it?
2 how could Allah punish Shaytan in hell fire if he is made from fire?that wont hurt him.Well the rock i threw at his head is made out of clay,as he is.so how can that hurt him?
3.how could we be responsible for our own actions?Allah makes us do all those things. well since Allah is responsible for our actions,then Abo Hanifa should complain to Allah not me.
So they let Bahlool go.
Primary role is to lead..to guide
Ayottullah Khomeni, Ayotullah Khoi, and now Ayottullah Seestani and some others are what we called a nayeb Imam..we do their 'taqleed' ..these are the learned people we consult
Sheraz. Would you mind posting a legitimate reference to your above mentioned story? I have read these type of stories with "replace" one character by other just to belittle others' beleifs.
TO Mr. Sheraz.
You said that Hazrat Ali became an Imam after the death of the Holy Prophet (Peace be upon him). But when we see in history, Hazrat Ali never claimed to be an Imam. He always obeyed Hazrat Abu Bakar. Can you explain that what is your position on that?
To Mr. Sheraz CT
About your twelfth Imam, you wrote that He went into Occultation and would reappear afterwards.
My QUESTION:
Where has he gone? Did he ascend to heavens? Was this a bodiy ascension or a spirtual one?
When is going to come back to earth?
Was his ascension similar to the one that some muslims ( and christians also) believe about Jesus?
Sectarian fight about to begin ![]()
*Originally posted by fatehahmad: *
To Mr. Sheraz CT
About your twelfth Imam, you wrote that He went into Occultation and would reappear afterwards.
My QUESTION:
Where has he gone? Did he ascend to heavens? Was this a bodiy ascension or a spirtual one?
When is going to come back to earth?
Was his ascension similar to the one that some muslims ( and christians also) believe about Jesus?
Why is this so hard for you to comprehend? just because we don't see Him? ..can we see Allah? don't all muslims believe that Prophet Jesus (pbuh) will pray behind Imam Mahdi (as) ?
Mr. Sheraz CT
I believe that Imam Abul-Qasim, MUHAMMAD al-Mahdi was a human! And you also believe him to be a human. Allah is not human and he is the 'Khaliq' and we are the 'khulq'. Thats why we can't see him. Unless you give Imam Abul-Qasim, MUHAMMAD al-Mahdi a status greater than all the prophets.
I have just asked you some questions. It would be realy nice if you can give the answers to them from Shia books.
I would realy appreciate it!
very smart fatehahmed..very very smart
So its ok if we can't see Allah..but its not ok if Allah keeps someone in Occultation :)
its really not that complicated..have faith in Allah..i gotta go home will get back to you later tonight
*Originally posted by armughal: *
8) Imam Ali Radha s/o Imam Moosa Al-Kazim
Sorry for taking this off topic, but what is the meaning of "Radha".
Is it pronounced with a short "ra" or a long "ra".
*Originally posted by Sheraz CT: *
now that we are talking about Imams..I have a nice story about 2 of the students of our 6th Imam..Imam Jafar Sadiq (as):
there were two students of Imam Jaffer As-SAdiq (a.s.).Bahlool and Abo Hanifa. Abo Hanifa comes to Bahlool one day.
Abo Hanifa:I strongly disagree with 3 things that the Imam said in class.
Bahlool:why? what are they?
Abo Hanifa:1.How could Allah exsist if we cant see him?
2.how could Allah punish Shaytan in hell fire if he is made from fire?that wont hurt him.
3.how could we be responsible for our own actions?Allah makes us do all those things.
So Bahlool picks up a rock made out of clay and throws it at Abo Hanifas head causing him to bleed.
Abo Hanifa:oouch!!what did you do that for?
So Abo Hanifa takes Bahlool to the court.
Judge:Bahlool,why did you throw the rock at Abo Hanifa?
Bahlool:well,he told me 3 things that he disagreed with that the Imam told us in class.1How could Allah exsist if we cant see him?well,he claims he has a headache.how do weknow it exsists if we cant see it?
2 how could Allah punish Shaytan in hell fire if he is made from fire?that wont hurt him.Well the rock i threw at his head is made out of clay,as he is.so how can that hurt him?
3.how could we be responsible for our own actions?Allah makes us do all those things. well since Allah is responsible for our actions,then Abo Hanifa should complain to Allah not me.
So they let Bahlool go.
heard a similar story, where Imam Abu Hanifa (ra) answers such questions by an aethist by hitting him with a stone....
Allah knows the best....
and what u wrote about the 12th imam, o well....
hmmmmmmmmm
hmmmmmmmmmmmmm
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
*Originally posted by armughal: *
heard a similar story, where Imam Abu Hanifa (ra) answers such questions by an aethist by hitting him with a stone....
Allah knows the best....
This one looks like jokes where people change identity to suit it to their purpose, I guess.
asal mein bhai sheraz khatmal se ye baat hazam nahi horahi ke Sunniyon ke Imam-e-Azam direct Hazrat Ali R.A se faizyaab howe aur jinhe Ali R.A ne bahut tawwajuh di. Hazrat Hasan Basri R.A ik aur misaal hain jinhoone apne ilm, tassawuf aur ishq se puri duniya mein dhoom machai....woh bhi Ali R.A ke shagird-e-khaas thay.
Abhi tou ye sufiz ko nahi laye beech mein jin ke 3 main orders Ali R.A se hi start howe hain.....and the only one (Naqshbandiya) started from Abubakar R.A. Aur sub ko maloom hai ke Sufiz are sunniz. Even the great saint Sheikh Abdul Qadir Jilani R.A was najab-ut-tarfain (both farther and mother) Sayyed with direct, authentic and very close shijra to Imam Mousa Kazim R.A. Jilani R.A was exteremly against shiaaz. He infact wrote an article comparing Shias (rafzi) with Jews. If you read it you will be amazed to know how this movement started in Islam like a parasite just like St. Paul spoiled Christianity within first century after Jesus.
Well regarding poisoning stories..i know for sure that Imam Hasan R.A was poisoned by his wife but don't know the others. It sound a bit weird that all of them were poinsoned, but still possible because of political differences b/w Abbasi/Ummvi caliphs and other muslims. But the stories sounds like another try to change the history by these hypocrites. Wallah o Alam.
*Originally posted by smooth_guy: *
asal mein bhai sheraz khatmal se ye baat hazam nahi horahi ke Sunniyon ke Imam-e-Azam direct Hazrat Ali R.A se faizyaab howe aur jinhe Ali R.A ne bahut tawwajuh di. Hazrat Hasan Basri R.A ik aur misaal hain jinhoone apne ilm, tassawuf aur ishq se puri duniya mein dhoom machai....woh bhi Ali R.A ke shagird-e-khaas thay.
Abhi tou ye sufiz ko nahi laye beech mein jin ke 3 main orders Ali R.A se hi start howe hain.....and the only one (Naqshbandiya) started from Abubakar R.A. Aur sub ko maloom hai ke Sufiz are sunniz. Even the great saint Sheikh Abdul Qadir Jilani R.A was najab-ut-tarfain (both farther and mother) Sayyed with direct, authentic and very close shijra to Imam Mousa Kazim R.A. Jilani R.A was exteremly against shiaaz. He infact wrote an article comparing Shias (rafzi) with Jews. If you read it you will be amazed to know how this movement started in Islam like a parasite just like St. Paul spoiled Christianity within first century after Jesus.
Well regarding poisoning stories..i know for sure that Imam Hasan R.A was poisoned by his wife but don't know the others. It sound a bit weird that all of them were poinsoned, but still possible because of political differences b/w Abbasi/Ummvi caliphs and other muslims. But the stories sounds like another try to change the history by these hypocrites. Wallah o Alam.
Aagaaz-e-fitna