names of people

randy is name of a woman.
Kyle is name of a man.

Could danish possily have been inspired from Danes’ danish?

what’s the similarity of names in various cultures and how some names are both for women and for men?

share your vocab on such names, if you like.

i will add interesting ones later too. :>

best,
Dushwari

Re: names of people

no Randy is a name of a man. I know because i beat the crap out of him in high school. after that ordeal he was a woman. guess ur right

Dushi I really hope there is no desi word in above post. :hinna:

but there must be a desi male mentality for sure.
k khan, be my friend on the look out.
you are pashto too.
so , i hope geiret will be honored. to gain respect, respect ought to be shown.
apparently the poster above your post has no respect for own self nor for others.
best,
Dushwari

anjum as a name, is both for women and for men.

umm..........

mariam .............miriam

sarah....................sara

natasha , sabee, tanja, tara, myra, zoya

can be found in both east and west

there are many others as well due to the unisex nature of the "attribute" the meanings of each contain, like:

Naseem, Akhtar, Arshad, Shaheen, Najmi (nick of Najam - singular of Anjum) etc.

We also see people who do not know the meaning behind a name and look at names based on their pre-concieved notion of "name being a name" end up showing their ignorance by categorizing them for one or the other gender

also, in african american community some names such as Hadija, jamila and others

Tanvir is one

that's exactly why i opened this thread.
Fraudia bhai, i wish people were as intelligent as you are. :>
thanks for being right on the issue.
best,
Dushwari

I do not mind the name … Gulaab ko jiss naam say pukaaro gulaab rehtaa hai.. thanks :smiley: but rather much thanks for the actual remarks.. what’s in a name after all, it’s the personality that you look for :halo:

uncle anwar, you seem to be indirect, very directly.

confront , if you will. i shall not take you to be a female. my Mom's phoophoo's name is Anwar.

best always,

Dushwari

but difference is that "Anwar" pronounced with alphabets "ALIF NOON WOW RAY" is totally different than "ALIF NOON WOW ALIF RAY" :)

theekh heye. i agree on the detailed semantic diff.
good tilavet, good poetry & decency appreciated. :>

HAHA

goodnews, You are very welcome.

um, why was AQ being all tongue in cheeks? you are Frudia bhai, Kamal right? please confirm.
Dushwari

what the heck, why are you laughing, AQ?
:>

:smilestar: