Name changing after marriage

Did any of you officially change your name after marriage? How long did the process take for changing name on ID card, Passport, Driving License etc.

I am thinking of doing that before the Spouse visa processing or should I do it later, araam sai?

Re: Name changing after marriage

You shouldn't have to do it at all (Islamically) ... but if you want to ... it's another matter ...

as Psyah said, there is not such requirement in Islam. In fact everyone will be called by their father's name on the day of judgement BUT if you want to change it for whatever reason (out of love, for convenience etc etc), there is no restriction either. If you want to do it, do it before the processing of visa. Best time to do it is right after Nikkah.

Didn't change my name

I didn't change my name as psyah bhai said Islamically we don't have to.

But I got my NIC changed with husband's name and got a new passport made too before the visa processing.

i didnt, neither my wife; weird lol

I completely agree. Probably shall not change my name

it’s been 5years since i got married still haven’t changed my last name … and i’am not sure if i want to :eek:

I always grew up believing that names shouldn't be changed after marriage, that is until now. Recently someone said the reference in the Quran regarding a name change applies to a 'man' and it's in reference to people who changed their last names for the purposes of obtaining wealth and power, so the verse states that any man who changes his name to not of his father ... will be punished.

Also, I thought at Arafat everyone would be called by their mother's name, because one man among (PCG should know who!) did not have a father.

As per my knowledge, everyone will be called by father's name.

This is quite authentic Hadith
Imam Bukhari (RA) has included the following subtitle in his Sahih, 'Chapter on the fact that the people will be called by their father's name'. Under this chapter, he has recorded the narration of Sayyiduna ibn Umar, Radi-Allahu anhu, that Rasulullah Sall-Allahu alayhi wa sallam said, 'Verily, a banner will be raised for the treacherous person on the day of Qiyamat and it will be proclaimed, 'This is the treachery of so and so, the son of so and so.*' (Sahih Bukhari Hadith 6177) (Note that the masculine tense was used for the parent of this 'so and so'.)

**There is another Hadit which is not authentic (weak)*
*people will be called by their mother's name so that children that were born by adulterous acts will not be made public.

*Allah behter janta hai.

Just googled it, you're correct, the other is apparently a weak hadith.

Thanks.

She wasn't even asking if it was Islamically correct to change her last name.

you should do it before you apply for spouse visa because they will reject it if your name on the passport and the visa doesn't match.

what has name changing of a wife to do with being called on day of judgement ??

nothing.

Its just like while solving a math problem you try to solve it your teachers way although there might be many other possible correct ways to solve it.

Exactly but you don't have to change your name for spouse visa. Just change of marital status would do and that's what I had done too. But then again if she wants to get her name changed then that's obviously up to her. :)

It's about the double-barrelled named these days!

You know, my parents always encouraged me to not change my name, esp. my dad (mainly for feminist reasons, partially for Islamic reasons), and then of course growing up an obnoxious feminist (;)) I declared when I was 11 that I would NEVER change my name after marriage.

But then I grew up and out of that Hardcore Feminist stage and wondered what I was actually trying to prove. Now I find it uber-romantic and sweet. Plus, my fiance loves that idea, he partially had a lot to do with my change of views.

The problem is with the darn NIC card ... Pakistan requires the wife to bear the name of the husband if she is married ... but it is stupid, because then she has to keep changing it in the case of divorce or becoming a widow ... and then again for getting married after that ...

Keep to the father's name ... that is easier ...

Oh the thread has gone somewhere else. Lets put it this way ...

I WANT to change my name. I have changed it unofficially on FB & here & there.I plan on changing it later as well. But I have 4 months for the wedding out of which 3 will go for the processing. So I guess I should leave it as is for now & later get my NIC & Passport name changed, what say?

Also - @Enigmatic is changing marital status on NIC compulsory?

i lucked out, my husbands last name is the same as my maiden name!!! hahahaaa!!! so the issue of changing my last name never even came up...lol! however, given a different circumstance, i would not have changed my name...