Re: Name calling

I think bhai is more toward urdu than bhaiya. :slight_smile:

p.s. in some part of india it called gunda. :x2:

Uh uh there is some machar as well :smack:

khatmal too. :chai:

I wrote this too but deleted, well,I always reply them that I have never heard any case of karo kari or marriage to Quran ( nauzbilah ) in my life,that's only in qisay kahaniyan.

And to be very honest it's true I never heard anything like this in my village or anywhere else in sindh,and no one have more than one wife in our fAmily.

So now you know who are machAr na khatmal :hmmm:

Previous page pe likha hai.

I dont think that bhayya word is bad as such but I dont like the undertone to the word, its similar to how the Brits call Pakistanis and we feel offended by the word.

I think I know about the word khatmal, but I am not completely sure. But Machar is new for me. :slight_smile:

khatmal = > ahl e tashee
machar = > ahe e sunnah

han mainy abhi thread ko parhna shru kiya tha. nazar aagaiya.

^ Sta kyu jang chirwani hai :smack:

That means I was right about the word khatmal, but this machar one was new for me.

I was discussing Karachi yesterday. When someone mentioned khatmal and machar ,I thought they meant Karachi real machar, but then they explained.

I found it rude though.

kinz: we are not saying that he/she is etc. we are discussing name calling. waisy, i have few close friends who dont mind it offensive because of our level of closeness and friendship :hehe:

it surely is, and is about time that we put ourselves into the shoes of the other person before calling names.

Khatmal, machar, akhrot, bhayya - what? Never heard of em. Wth is wrong with people? :nahi:

There has to be some slang for Punjabis too then… is there?

Even if in friendly way, I wouldn’t call someone like this :bummer:

Umm…they know if they are calling other party machar then other party is calling them khatmal too, so they are ok with this I guess.

in karachi, term pendo is used for punjabies.

^ if there is a slamg, bring it on…wont mind it…i am sure there would be one :hmmm:

I heard of this sayin umpteen times from others, and about several ethnicity of indo-pak

Agar tumhare saamne eik (enter the name of ethnicity) ho aur saanp ho, to pehle (enter the name of ethnicity) ko maaro.

I am sure some ethnicity has that saying for Muhaajirs (Urdu Speakings) also :D

ok but that punjabis use the same word for other punjabis as well, rural/urban divide and language divide.