Namaaz and Nailpolish

Re: Namaaz and Nailpolish

i used this spiky hair gel n it had alchohol in it .. this mufti dude came to our house n used my rest room n saw my beauty corner :hehe: .. and he was like ** aaap alchohol wali gel and perfume use kerte ho **
i was like ** per i dont taste my hair gul and as soon i put cologne on .. alchohol just evaporates so wats wrong with it **

n he said ** **dont joke with religion … its either u follow it or u dont follow it … cut all the excuses to make it look permit-able **

**i slightly agree to it .. i think random question shud be asked with an intention of gaining knowledge but most outa us just nag their mouth to fill in or to get other dude confuse or to show off their smart pants!!!

WAY TO GO AFFIA !!! :dhimpak: i totally agree .

heard that for first time !!
refference wil help plz :slight_smile:

PCG I think Sadiyah had some excellent links. Especially for the people who constantly need a “source” so Sadiyah provided some.

Those who say actions depend on intentions, well ofcourse.

But the most riduculous idea has got to be that we can do as we please, just as long as we have the right intentions. That we can make life easier, and why not skip with Wudu altogether if theres no water nearby.

Come on folks. God gave us all a brain, it wont kill anyone to use it once in awhile.

Nail polish does have alocohol in it. And a person in order to do Wudu must remove the nailpolish.

Dont make up your own rules. If you wish to follow the religion, do so according to how it has been revealed to mankind.

We have very important rules when it comes to Wudu and Salah. And if you folks are ignorant about such, go out and do some research.

And honestly the worst argument has got to be “I wear nailpolish and pray so you can too” . I mean thats great for laughs mayhap , mind you I am not the one laughing. But lets get serious.

If you want to pray while wearing make up or nailpolish, by all means be my very special guest. But dont go around saying Islam allowes it. Just admit you dont wish to follow so and so rules set by Islam. Dont try to justify your actions, by distorting the religion itself. Thats crossing the limits, just a tad bit. :rolleyes:We dont change the religion to suit us, I do believe its about changing ourselves and our actions to follow the faith.

Well that’s the excuse u c beng given here n elsewhere… fine it’s a barrier for hte nails, but to dismis it coz of alcohol content is pretty dumb… a lot of Islam is common sense..things r forbidden for a reason, and alcohol is one of em. Wearing perfume or hair gel isn’t going to make you turn into a sharaabi. And those fatwas given online, I find them pretty unreliable. Any website that tells you wearing jeans, even under a burka, or working in a clothing store is haram, I have doubts about.

Sara516, it depends on who it is that you follow online or offline.

If you start following yahoo scholars, they will tell you that perfume, gel, etc. with alcohol is impermissible and the like.

Ask someone with a brain and you'll get your answer correctly.

As for the reason why a scholar may rule out wearing jeans, it's because they use the argument that we should look different from the kuffar. If we follow it or not (or believe in it) is another story.

Sadiyah it's the reasoning that bothers me....

I believe in Muslims being different from nonMuslims in thought, action, belief, behavior etc etc; however it's impossible to not look like one...even if u wear a burka, hijab whatever, ur gonna be wearng clothing (hopefully) underneath. Don't nonMuslims wear jeans? Don't nonMuslims wear skirts, kurtas, bras, panties, boxers etc? And that was the argument given against jeans, even while wearing a burka, that they are manly, they show the shape of the ANKLE!! and they are clothing of the kaffir

MQ: The rule is stupid because there are different reasons for it, and no one has a concerete answer. I'd like you to do some additional research and find out the history behind the rule- i.e. who declared the first fatwa on it and when?

And honestly, if you are so concerned about every inch of your skin being covered with water when doing wudu, I ask you to respond to my concerns and tell me why aren't people teaching kids to do wuzu by completely covering their arms and necks, etc with water?

NO ONE emphasizes that water should cover every inch of your skin when you do wuzu. NO ONE. I can guarantee you that - just step foot in your local Islamic school and watch as they teach kids how to do wuzu. Our desis in particular.

After all this, you think I'm gonna listen to someone if they're freaking out about some pain on the nails?

Like I said, the purpose of wuzu is to be clean. You can do all the wuzu you want, but if you've got ghand in your mind, then forget it.

And PRACTICALLY speaking, most desis when offering prayers, really do have ghand on their minds.

Sara516, I partially agree with you where you seem to be suggesting that wearing jeans underneath abaya/jilbaab shouldn't be an issue.

Basically, the reason why many scholars have prohibited women from wearing jeans is because they are too tight and reveal your figure.

Also MQ - if you study Islamic history, you will see that Islam spread by one key concept:

Important matters were taken care of FIRST. Then later, when everyone was on the same page regarding the important matters, THEN people focused on these minor details.

Right now, I dont think nailpolish is the biggest issue plaguing our society. If you want to do something to help Islam, then help muslim women who are being raped in their own villages. Help feed hungry muslim kids who don't even have the "economic opportunity" to work in sweat shops. Help the kids who are working in sweatshops.

Next time you go to Pakistan to some bazaar to get your clothes made, look at the kid who is selling you chai out of matki cups. Don't just look at him, but DO something to help him. Get him enrolled in a school and buy his uniform and books. Really, it costs next to nothing for us people to do that task.

There's so much crap going on in this world, and here we have a 5 page thread on whether one should wear nailpolish while praying.

No wonder muslims are getting their behinds bombed.

It's one thing to say that perhaps shareeah requires one to remove nailpolish when making wudhu, but I don't feel it's that important and I don't do it and totally another to make the bold statement that Allah (SWT) does not care or the shareeah doesn't care whether or not you're making wudhu with or without nailpolish.

Yes, it does seem like a petty issue, but we have to be extremely careful about what we say and pass on to others. If it does turn out to be true that nailpolish must be removed and we go around proclaiming that such is not the case and is unpractical and we have someone who starts following us then we could land into trouble, God forbid.

^ true. I only wish we were that careful in other matters. Matters that are more important and more dear to God. You know, like someone's izzat or life?

Example... it's those ppl who go against nail polish and other stuff and are some of the rudest, ill mannered ppl I've ever met. This one female I know, supposedly she practices kalla jadoo (i've heard) and her daughters are some of hte jealous, retarded ppl I know. Granted worrying bout nail polish does not equal practicing black magic but my point is.... ppl lose sight of the bigger things. kind of like this guy who does drugs, goes to clubs, sleeps around but yells at me for eating chicken...

I shouldn't be saying this, but Pakistan and Pakistanis are messed up. We don't care about izzat or life so long as its not us who is in trouble.

Sara, you know some very bad people.

^ And is that the right attitude?

^No, that is not the right attitude.

PCG, bhai jao ja kar Pakistanio ko khoodhi theek kar do. Bara hi easy task hai.

All I'm trying to say is it's we should be careful about what we say. If it's something that we do not follow in particular, we should admit to it instead of making claims that it is incorrect, unsubstantial and Islam doesn't care about it.

Yes, there are major issues and matters that are to be dealt with first than wudhu (I guess), but the only reason all of this was brought up is because someone is interested to find out/learn about the validity of wudhu with nailpolish on.

I guess???

There ARE better and more important issues to deal with. I’m very sad and disappointed that you can put up an arguement for nailpolish being haraam during namaaz, and pull all kinds of sources, and spend your time here convincing us that we’re wrong, etc.

But then when I do raise this issue your attitutde is go fix pakistan yourself, its an easy task???

Oh the sarcasm. I’m sure God is listening to that one.

:rolleyes:

My point is proven. No one cares about major human rights issues - in fact we turn a blind eye to them normally, and then if someone does point them out to us, we retort “how can we solve those problems, you can go ahead and solve them”.

:rolleyes:

Bohat khoob. If it wasn’t for people getting their duff off their chairs and being proactive in society, iss waqat Pakistan bhi nahi hota. You’d all be some Hindu’s byatch.

I know :frowning:

PCG, when I said "I guess" I had matters strictly related to salah in mind. I didn't have Pakistan's issues in mind.

I try to do whatever it is that I can for Pakistan right now (and I do not wish to disclose anythign good that I may have done, as it is only for Allah (SWT) and those involved to know). Honestly, I can mainly make duaa right now for Mukhtaran mai and for everyone else.

It is not because I do not care, but because I do not have the resources to help them out on my own. If my opinion could make a difference then I will not hesitate to let others know (or those who can make a difference) that whatever has been happening to the poor ladies back home is wrong and bad.

Besides, I cannot alone bring about change in society and change starts from within. I have got to fix myself at the very least before criticizing others. And if I'm ever presented with an opportunity to help the needy, then I will do so, insha'Allah.

However, I cannot disregard the matter of wudhu and wait for the revolution in Pakistan before I start offering salah and making wudhu. I feel these are two totally different matters. Yes, the one related to humans is more grand and deserves more attention.

You'd be amazed how much you can do even sitting from far away. In fact, you have more resources to your disposal than people in Pakistan.

My message is to basically to put the same lagan and effort into solving bigger problems as you do in educating people about the aspects of wudu. Its interesting that you admit the one problem relating to all humans is more important, yet you still wish to put more effort in these small things.

Like I said, no wonder musalamaan are suffering.

PCG, feel free to PM me (or post it here) and fill me in as to how I can make a difference. I'll do my best to do whatever it is that I can, insha'Allah.

The only reason I put so much effort into these small things is because I can try and bring about the small changes within myself. Other than duaa (at the moment), I don't know what else there is that I can do to bring about change in serious matters that are of concern. If there is anything that I could, then please do let me know, insha'Allah.