Namaaz and Nailpolish

Re: Namaaz and Nailpolish

Oh blah. There is no strict rules that your nails need water splashed on them. You can wear nailpolish and have clean nails. And you're not allowed to be intoxicated while reading namaz. How this got extrapolated to nailpolish having alcohol, and thus being haraam, is beyond me.

but i thought that your wudhu was not done if every part of your body that was washed is not wet. So if you had nailpolish on, your nails wouldn't be washed as the polish would be acting as a barrier
I'm not sure on the validity of this but i'v also heard that you can put nailpolish on after your wudhu and before namaaz if u really must????

If nail polish is on, then the nails underneath are not considered "Clean". I don't put on nail polish for this reason, but personally if I had to do it for an occasion, I would do wudu first and then put on nail polish. If my nail polish did not chip, I would do wudu and pray again. It is like the socks on feet theory because your feet are already clean underneath. However, if my nail polish chips or cracks, then there is possibility of dirt or whatever touching my nail, and I would remove my nail polish. I believe its the whole idea of cleanliness.

So its okay to skip washing my mouth if i havent had food between two salaats?

or

to skip washing my arms upto my elbows if i’ve been wearing a full-sleeved shirt thru the day?

“nail polish chips and cracks”…c’mon! where do these fatwas come from?!?

BTW: Since when is alcohol in cosmetics and lotions haram ?

i don’t knw about this a lot myself.. but a quick search revealed the following:

he Qur’aan mentions, ‘Wash your faces and your hands till your elbows.’ The general nature of the command demands that the hands should be washed without leaving any portion dry. If water does not reach any part, whether because of negligence or because of a substance preventing water from reaching, the Wudhu will be invalid.

Nail polish is a substance which prevents water from reaching the nails. Once Nabi [sallallaahu alayhi wasallam] was on travel with Sahaaba [radhiallaahu anhum]. When he observed that some of their heels were still dry after Wudhu, he exclaimed, ‘Destruction of the fire of Jahannum for those whose heels are dry.’ (Muslim). It is also recorded that Nabi [sallallaahu alayhi wasallam] used to move his ring when making wudhu so that the water may reach the skin.’ (DaarQutni)

Women do have the right to beautify themselves (for their husband). However, this has to be within the bounds of the Shari’ah. Applying nail polish will be exceeding the bounds of the Shari’ah and will not be permissible under any circumstance. (Nurul iedhaah pg.31; Qadeemi)

and Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

SOURCE: http://www.islam.tc/ask-imam/view.php?q=14191

zindagi mein aur maslay kum hain tum auratoun ke liye, key nailpolish key peech par gayee houn.

Allah would care more about how much you really understand what you're saying during namaaz than whther you have any polish on or not. Too many times I have seen people who offer prayers in arabic and hardly even know what it means. So I think as long as you're geniune of your offering of prayer, Allah will forgive this minor transgresion of yours.

^ agree

Its ur intentions that matter.

Sometimes we dont even have water nearby to do wazu, but you can still offer namaz. I sometimes have nail polish on my toenails and I still pray.. Its ur niyat that matters..

stop complicating religion..

aansoon - just the fact that no one really knows WHY this rule is in place, shows that its something that was ruled upon much later. I'd like to know the first scholar that claimed women shouldn't wear nailpolish during namaz, because i'm sure the prophet wasn't the one to make this claim.

Usually, when people talk about the nailpolish ruling its claimed that the reason is because there is alcohol in the nailpolish, and having even an ounce of alchohol on your body is haraam - which is also why alcohol-based perfumes aren't permitted.

The whole point is that you should be clean. Whether some water is reaching your nail or not, is a minor detail that I'm surprised gets the amount of attention it gets.

lussi is right. We're so keen on following this one ayah to an EXTREME LEVEL. How many of you guys that do wuzu make sure that every inch of your skin is drenched with water? I was taught to wash my arms by cupping water in my hands and then releasing to allow the water to flow down my arms. It sure as hell does not hit every skin cell. And yes, this is how I've been taught to do it by every muslim I know.

So, we make sure to make a big deal about nailpolish, but somehow we forget about the rest of the arm?

Somehow we also forget about our niyat.

And also somewhere in there we forget to figure out what the arabic words mean that we are spewing out of our mouth as we speak the prayer...

Right. Nailpolish is really gonna send us all to hell.

you can put nail polish on after wazoo and pray but ur wazu is not complete with nailpolish on

sadzz is agreeing with me. PCG says that I'm correct. Meri duain qabool heuin. Kaash Allah sey kuch aur bhee mang leta.

Since when is even alcohol based perfume/cosmetics haram?

From what I know, alcohol is haram coz it intoxicates you. Who has gotten intoxicated jus by the alcohol in makeup? Lussi’s actually right… so many ppl focus on details like this, they lose focus of wha’ts really important, hte big picture.. :rolleyes:

Lussi, lets not go that far. Abhi bhi yahan koi larki aap se shaadi karne ko tayaar nahi hai.

Yes, neeyah is very important in salah, but please do not forget that proper wudhu is just as important (goes for me as well. ie. being more careful in wudhu).

Here are some of the fatawa that I came across on the validity of doing wudhu over nailpolish. All of the following fatawa state that the wudhu would be valid over nailpolish if only it lets the water reach the nails. However, if it forms a film over the nails that prevents the water from reaching the nails, then in that situation one must remove it and do wudhu in order for the wudhu to be valid. And Allahu aalim.

http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=261&dgn=4

http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=640&dgn=4

http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=9066&dgn=4

http://63.175.194.25/index.php?ln=eng&ds=qa&lv=browse&QR=20728&dgn=4

Also, all of us must be very careful when giving our verdicts on such issues, as we may not have the sufficient knowledge required to give fatawa or perform ijtihaad.

Feel free to cite your concerns regarding the preceding fatawa. I’ll submit them and hopefully will receive an answer soon, insha’Allah.

Sadiyah, God has also told you in the Quran that Islam’s message is complete and needs no interpreter. If you wish to run to a internet agency that publishes fatwas to understand your deen then, well, :k:

umeed pey duniya kayam hai :blush:

The reason why I often resort to following particular scholars is because I do not have complete knowledge of Quran and Sunnah and a sinner like me does not have the complete insight, understanding (and everything else) required to fully and properly understand the Quran and make sound and wise rulings.

Having said this, I do have some basic knowledge of tawheed, alhamdulillah and I do not necessarily have to consult scholars over matters related to tawheed frequently. However, I literally have no knowledge of fiqh, therefore, I have to frequently consult scholars when its a matter that is related to fiqh.

In any case, here’s what could better explain my reasoning for clinging on to Sunnah:

http://63.175.194.25/index.php?search_text_box_dsn4=604&lv=browse&submit.x=0&submit.y=0&formtrans=dgn%3D4%7C&ln=eng&ds=qa&sensitivity=2&searchquestions=1&searchtitles=1&searchanswers=1&searchsources=1&pg=result&offset=0&msubmit=1

Also, I do not run to Internet agencies as you suggested. I consult scholars offline whenever there’s a need for it (ie. when scholars online fail to satisfy my queries) or whenever there’s a serious matter that could not be dealt with properly when consulting a scholar online. Or on occasions when I need an in-depth answer or where I need to argue (which I frequently do) to get my point across and get a sound ruling.

good grief. don't degrade yourself to a sinner. as long as you have good intentions, you should feel confident to figure things out for yourself.

PCG, there's no speck of doubt that I'm a sinner (unfortunately) and I do not wish to hide it.

I feel quite confident figuring out things that are related to tawheed as I do have some basic knowledge, alhamdulillah. On the contrary, I stay away from making my own decisions when its matters related to fiqh, as I have no knowledge in this area and I often tend to make wrong decisions due to lack of my knowledge and understanding.

completely agree with you!!

we go to docs. when we are sick .....we like to consult the best architect prior to building our house....we rush to beauty experts when we need advice....BUT when it comes to religion we like to believe that we know almost everything n thats it....!!!

its true that its niyyah that counts ....but that is for things in which you have a choice ....why offering prayrs then ....Allah doesn't need you to pray 5 times ....n He knows yor intentions.....so why can't we skip prayrs...!!

i don't want to offend anyone....but a healthy attitude is ...when we are making a mistake ...lets admit it.....it won't do any good if we start saying its not important etc. simply because we don't think it is!!

n sara....its nothing to do with alcohol in it.....its simply for the fact that it acts as a barrier for water to reach our nails:)
hope i made some sense....