Nailpolish and salat

Hi everyone

I am veryyyy confused about being able to wear nailpolish on a daily basis. I like the way my nails look when their painted. i am not trying to please anyone or attract attention to myself. I do it for myself noone else. Is there an authentic hadith or a verse from the Quran that directly states its forbidden to wear during wudu or during salat?

Thank you

Re: Nailpolish and salat

**you have to fit in the religion and not try to fit the religion in your life...vudu is NOT valid if you wear nail polish because your nails will not get wet with water.

having said that, i would suggest that you keep wearing nails polish but try to wait longer between applications to make the transition easier. your aim should be to stop altogether over a reasonable time period. its better to pray with nail polish on rather than NOT praying at all due to nail polish.

fair enuf? :)**

I'm gonna get tamaatar hurled my way, but for the longest time I would remove my nail polish in order to pray.......but now I pray with polish on.

I don't understand.....i've heard that it's allowed for one to wipe water over their socks to pray....and I see people praying with such dirty/disgusting socks.....and yet nail polish is a no-no. It would be better to just take those dirty things off...and let the water touch your feet. Goodness, the nail polish is cleaner.

once got scolded really badly from an aunty at the masjid because I had my toes polished..the’ol heifer told me meri namaz qabool nahi hogi…

my answer back was what KKF said above…“be thankful i’m even praying…” and then i not so politely asked her to worry about her own snotty nosed daughter who was trying to get into my purse… :hypo:

I find this sentence a bit odd.
You pray for ALLAH TALAH, not for any one else.
Saying this sounds like as if one is doing anyone a favour by praying.
(but I think you didnt mean it this way)

May ALLAH TALAH accept everyones namaaz/prayers!

at that point she went to perform Nawafil Shukrana that you are praying :cobra:

You can read full details from [here](Slot Qris: Slot Deposit 5K Via Qris Tanpa Potongan Termurah 2025 over regular socks.htm)

Making Masah Over Shoes
In your question you mentioned that Sayyed Abul 'Aalaa Maudoodi also permitted to wipe over the shoes. I wish to explain that as well. Some Fuqaha allow performing masah over the Jowrab when it is thick, but none of them allow making masah on shoes. Sheikh Yusuf Benori (R.A.) writes, “None of the Imaams have given permission to make masah over shoes.”(Ma’arifus-Sunan Vol. 1, p. 347). The reason for this is the Prophet wiped over his shoes only when he already was in the state of wudu. He would perform a fresh wudu for every prayer. And because he was already in the state of wudu, instead of washing his feet he would wipe over his shoes. The proof of this is in Sahih Ibn Khuzaimah, "It is reported from Ali, Radi-Allahu anhu, that he asked for a glass of water, he then performed a brief ablution and wiped over his shoes. He then said, this is how the Prophet used to perform his wudhu when his wudhu was not broken. (Sahih Ibn Khuzaimah, Vol. 1, Hadith 300, Chapter 154, p. 100). From this Hadith we learn that a person who does not have wudu, can’t wipe over his shoes. After the clear evidence has been brought, there is no flexibility in the issue.

**Conclusion**

All reliable Fuqaha and Muitahideen agree that thin socks that allow          water to seep through them, do not stand upright without support, and          cannot be walked in continuously, are not permissible to make masah on.          Shoes are also not allowed to be wiped over. Thin socks of today that          are made out of cotton, wool, nylon, etc., do not have the features of          leather socks, therefore, it is not permissible to make masah over them.          If someone does, their wudhu will not be valid, according to Imam Abu          Hanifah, Imam Malik, Imam Shafi, Imam Ahmed ibn Hanbal, or any other          Mujtahideen.
     Muhammad Taqi Uthmani Jumadul-Ulaa, 1397 Hijrah. This fatwa was          translated by Adil Khan 27 Ramadhan, 1420.
     Translation checked and approved by Mufti Ebrahim Desai. This version          edited by Khalid Baig for grammar and    clarity.

saws.gif

saws.gif

Logically its been defined in Ahadess and Holy Quran that we should make our selves clean. I am afraid that at that time there were no concept of Nail Polish so we can't get some Ahadaith on him. But You can read Faraiz of Ghussal and Wadu and think logically.
But I"ll not forbid you that stop praying bcoz Its only Allah WHO knows our intentions.

Praise be to Allaah.

It is permissible for a woman to colour her nails for the purpose of adornment, with materials that do not cause harm, and there is nothing wrong with her praying with that, unless it is a substance that prevents water from reaching what is beneath it, in which case wudoo’ and ghusl are not valid unless it is removed. If the wudoo’ is not valid then the prayer is not valid.

It says in Fataawa al-Lajnah al-Daa’imah, 5/218:

“If the colour is impermeable, then wudoo’ is not valid unless it is removed before doing wudoo’. If it is not impermeable, then wudoo’ is valid, as is the case with henna.”

And Allaah knows best.

I think intentionally doing this is not good but same is here that i'll not forbid you to offer pray.

^^^
When it comes to religion and religious rites, whatever Prophet (SAW) did was for people to learn and follow, and thus all what Prophet (SAW) did are hujjat for Muslims in any circumstances, without ‘ifs’ and ‘buts’.

So... no one should even think that Prophet (SAW) will ever do incomplete or imperfect wadu. If Prophet (SAW) did wadu for whatever reason, then regardless of him already in wadu, his wadu over wadu would be considered as perfect and valid as original wadu.

[Note: In Pakistan, someone could start blasphemy case if anyone even says (or suggest) that Prophet (SAW) use to do imperfect or incomplete wadu, for whatever reason.]

Yes, I realize that. I let my temper and annoyance at the lady's audacity get the best of me..not one of my finer moments, but I am human after all. And the Aunty in question was known as the Gestapo of the masjid..always picking on ladies and young girls

Nail polish was not available at time of prophet (SAW) so no one can say with certainty what would be right thing to do. But then, Allah is not as fussy as ‘self-appointed guardians of Islam’ and sees a person’s intention more than action. From my understanding of Islam, if due to any reason one cannot reach a part of body during wadu one is excused.

I am not encouraging that girls should put nail polish as routine, as personally I do not like it ... but then:

Just imagine a painter decorator whose hands are messed up with thick oily metallic paints that could not come off easily and are water-proof too. What such person would do at time of salaat if that person needs wadu? Obviously, his hands could not get cleaned within time and that means he has to perform wadu with paints covering a lot of area he should wash. Does it mean he could not do wadu and thus could not pray? Obviously not, he should do wadu as best as he could possibly do, that is all required (as far as I believe).

As for prophet (SAW) time, even though it is not mentioned as probably people took it for ‘granted’, I am sure that during war (Jihad) if hands of a 'mujahid' ever got covered with own or opponent’s blood that got clotted, and it is not easy to remove them off with water available in short supply, 'mujahid' must be doing wadu without hands/face 100 percent clean of stuck clotted blood (even though blood is na-paak). [As far as I know, clotted blood is water proof].

Note: If a person cuts his finger and got clotted blood over the cut or has applied plaster, that does not mean the person could not do wadu as he could not wash the part of finger under plaster or clotted blood. Only thing a person should do is do his best, and that is all.

This thread is just as hilarious as all the nailpolish and wudu threads have been to date ...

Nailpolish itself does not prevent the prayer ... only if one does wudu after putting on the nailpolish ... if the wudu is done and then nailpolish applied this is okay.

Masa should be done on leather socks only - again only if the original wudu was done properly and then straight away the socks were put on and not removed at all ... then if wudu breaks the wudu is done again so long as the socks remain on then masa is allowed ...

Wudu is not about being washed and clean - more about being spiritually clean ... that is why masa is the wiping on the top of the foot and not on the bottom of the foot where it is dirty, and breaking wind does not cleaning before wudu.

My understanding, can we survive without using nailpolish? Simple answer “Yes” hell ya! who needs nailpolishing while our nails will twinkle on the day of Judgement because we poured ‘wudu’ water instead of using nailpolish. I am not saying that use of nailpolish is prohibited or haram. If someone wants to use she may do so.

I wonder was thicky oily metallic paints were available at the time of Prophet :saw2: hmmmm ‘No’, and any Islamic narration from history which narrated that any Sahabi in war (jihad) was offering namaaz while enemies were busy in killing them. Perhaps all wars wew held before of after namaaz. Will you mind to keep your imagination to yourself as it doesn’t make any sense.

Nowadays there are many liquids which can be used to remove/clean spot of paints and after using such liquids you may further clean your hands with a piece of cloth or water. That can be found in shape (size) of toothpaste easily to keep with you.

:slight_smile:

I do not apply nail polish much. But being a gal if i really badly want to polish my nail, i do it during that week when i am not supposed to pray.

Question that should you pray or not while you have nail polish on, to be honest i have been confused too but thats the reason i try my level best not to have it on during my regular praying days. as there is a hadith, when you have doubt about something, dont do it. Rest Allah knows the best. :)

So far one of the best post. Mashallah!!!

May Allah Gives you rewards for your good deeds. Ameen.

My Quran teacher (who holded an islamic degree) explained that you can put on nailpolish after doing your wuzu. If your wuzu breaks while you're wearing nailpolish, you must remove it in order to do the wuzu again. This is because the water has to touch the top of your nail in order for you to have wuzu, just like when you wash the arms till the albue trice, you have to be sure they are completely washed (kuch sokha na ho). Rest Allah knows best.

My purpose was to point out situations where if one seriously starts thinking that water should reach every relevant part during wadu and if it could not for whatever reasons then one cannot do wadu and without wadu one cannot pray, then such thinking is preposterous. Actually, there are many situations this condition would become impossible, still, for Islam to be practical, wadu with all restrains should be possible, and that happens because Allah is not bothered about such irregularities, rather he sees a person’s intention, so one should do what one can, that is all.

As for removing paints from messy hands, your ignorance shows you never painted wooden (door, windows, etc) or metal stuffs (pipes, metal railings, or metal gates) to believe it is easy to take paints off your hands. Chalo, yesa hee sahi. ‘One French princess once in ignorance said that ‘if people do not have bread then why they do not eat cake’ and started revolution. Uss ko bhie kuch pata hee nahi tha. :slight_smile:

As for your statement doubting Sahabis offering namaaz while enemies were busy killing, thinking that all wars were held before or after Namaaz, then that is height of ignorance. Wars do not last few hours a day, even during Prophet (SAW) time, neither adjust time so that it does not coincide with prayer time (as FairysAngel would like to wish).

Actually, there are hadith that tells of Muslims praying during the course of war (people praying in small group while others fighting). What I wrote is that, such situation must have arrived in war when people had to do wadu with clotted blood on hand that they could not remove (for whatever reason), but because Muslims at that time were not fussy as present day ‘so-called guardian of Islam’ would want, they did not even bothered to mention such things taking it as granted, and that is why we do not have something in writing … just like we do not have in writing that Sahabis use to do wadu with cold water, warm water or hot water.

Such silly thoughts can only come in corrupted brain of our ‘so-called present day guardians of Islam’. Who knows, in future we might get fatwa that Muslims can only do wadu with water that is 75 degree Fahrenheit hot plus minus 10 degree, else wadu would become invalid. After that, people would come on forums and would ask if their wadu was valid or invalid because they did wadu with water that was 50 degree Fahrenheit cold.

:hoonh:

Without any purpose and pointing out any situation, I say if someone would like to use, she may use and if she don’t wish than don’t do at all. Btw how come you are very sure about that Allah is not bothered about such irregularities, rather He sees a person’s intention? Every day I’m dying inside myself by fear of that all my prayers will be thrown on my face (rejected) on the day of Judgement because I think actually every single moment I think what if my wudu was not done correctly? What if minor place of my body was left dry while doing wudu?

Please quote on authentic hadith if you can that tells of Muslims praying during the course of war.

In Book ‘Hikayat-e-Sahaba’ where one Sahabi refused getting treatment for his eyes because for few days he will have to do ‘sajdah’ on wood or something which lil bit higher from surface (hope you read that story). Eye is an important part of a body and refusing treatment due to namaaz is a great and understoodable example. If that Sahabi due to fear of Allah that maybe he will be questioned why he done ‘sajdah’ on wood or on higher thing, survived with one eye than is it too hard for us to survive without nailpolish?

There is no benefit of using nailpolish neither loss, except that we will waste our money (even if it is a very little amount) and also we will burden on ourself by putting polish on nail and them removing it.

Again I say, if someone likes she may use it if she can survive without it than don’t use it. Means no more confusion, no worries of different opinions/Fatwas of different Scholars whether wudu on nailpolish is allowed or not allowed, whatever.

Lastly, an English poet said: “ignorance is bliss”, so let me enjoy my ignorance :slight_smile:

another suggestion could be applying henna to the nails. You can darken the color by re-applying it over the existing henna to deepen the color.. I never did it before but after moving to the ME, it was just something I loved, but only the toes not the finger-nails! That way you'll always have colored nails.. only problem is that they'll only be dark red/orangish..

FairysAngel: You are right, there is no use using nail polish if one can avoid. Allah has already given such a beautiful colour to nails, why give them artificial colours? But then, people are different, and argument is not about merit of nail polish, but argument is about nail polish and wadu.

Please read the ayah on wadu and think.

Quran 5:6 ... O ye who believe! when ye prepare for prayer, wash your faces, and your hands (and arms) to the elbows; Rub your heads (withwater); and (wash) your feet to the ankles. If ye are in a state of ceremonial impurity, bathe your whole body. But if ye are ill, or on a journey, or one of you cometh from offices of nature, or ye have been in contact with women, and ye find no water, then take for yourselves clean sand or earth, and rub therewith your faces and hands, Allah doth not wish to place you in a difficulty, but to make you clean, and to complete his favour to you, that ye may be grateful.

In Quran when talking about wadu (ayah 5:6 above), Allah clearly says that he does not want to place any difficulty on anyone rather want a person to get clean. Further, Allah tells that if one could not find water then one can rub sand or earth over face and hands. So, it is obvious that from wadu Allah is not looking for physical cleanliness as one cannot become physically clean by rubbing sand or earth on face and hands. Since it is not physical cleanliness that wadu gives, it does not matter how hard you work in washing yourself, neither there is any importance of water in wadu.

Apart of physical cleanliness, the other cleanliness is spiritual cleanliness. So, what Allah is looking for is inner (spiritual) cleanliness in wadu, that comes from intention. Thus, as long as there is intention for wadu, irregularities are unimportant because intention is beyond physical irregularities.

Thus, when a person intends to do wadu and act on it as best as he could without causing any difficulty for himself (as Allah says in ayah 5:6 that he do not want to place anyone in any difficulty), his intention cleans him internally, that is, give him spiritual cleanliness. Action associated to wadu only confirms his intention.

Anyhow, you should remember that Allah is Gafoor who is most forgiving and hides faults. So, to even think that Allah is not forgiving is denying that he is Gafoor, and that is sin.

Please quote on authentic hadith if you can that tells of Muslims praying during the course of war.

Prayer at battlefield is called salaat-ul-Khauf, because people perform their prayer in state of khauf (fear). In this situation, prayer is reduced to 2 rikah. People pray in groups. For instance, a group prays while another group watch people praying, and others fight. With time, all complete their prayers. I am quoting verse in Quran, but if you are looking for relevant hadith, you can find them in vol 5 of Bukhari titled ‘Salaat-ul-Khauf’.

Quran 4:102-103
When ye travel through the earth, there is no blame on you if ye shorten your prayers, for fear the Unbelievers May attack you: For the Unbelievers are unto you open enemies. When thou (O Messenger) art with them, and standest to lead them in prayer, Let one party of them stand up (in prayer) with thee, Taking their arms with them: When they finish their prostrations, let them Take their position in the rear. And let the other party come up which hath not yet prayed - and let them pray with thee, Taking all precaution, and bearing arms: the Unbelievers wish, if ye were negligent of your arms and your baggage, to assault you in a single rush. But there is no blame on you if ye put away your arms because of the inconvenience of rain or because ye are ill; but take (every) precaution for yourselves. For the Unbelievers Allah hath prepared a humiliating punishment.

In Book 'Hikayat-e-Sahaba' where one Sahabi refused gettingtreatment for his eyes because for few days he will have to do 'sajdah' on wood or something which lil bit higher from surface (hope you read that story). Eyeis an important part of a body and refusing treatment due to namaaz is a greatand understoodable example. If that Sahabi due to fear of Allah that maybe hewill be questioned why he done 'sajdah' on wood or on higher thing, survived withone eye than is it too hard for us to survive without nail polish?

I do not know how true above story could be, as to me such stories looks mostly concocted (and they are available in abundance). Anyhow, it is sin to harm oneself intentionally (what one could do by not doing anything to get cured),and worse sin is to have no trust on Allah and his mercy (it is denial that Allah is Gafoor and Rauf).

Allah has made Islam so easy that if a person is sick on bed, he can pray on bed lying. If a person is travelling, he can pray on horse back or car. If a person is old and weak he can pray sitting on floor or chair. If a person is very weak on bed, he can pray using symbolic signs. If a person misses his prayer then he can pray qiza. ... Shows, Allah is trying to make Salaat easy and convenient to perform, but some people are trying their hard to make it as difficult and inconvenient for themselves and also for others.

For instance, if someone was not taking medicine to cure his eyes just because it would affect his sajdah on floor than it does not show that the person was obedient to Allah but shows that the person was paranoid about Allah’s mercy and leaves (Allahs allowance to pray conveniently).

If I see such person who claims he is not taking eye medicine because his Sajdah would get affected in Namaaz, my first question to him would be that what he want to prove from such behaviour?

Because to me, such person seems to prove (or give impression) with his action that Allah is merciless and hungry of his salaat without thinking about his physical state, or that Allah is not Gafoor and Rauf.