Mythological Creations

There are many myths popular in almost all the cultures / religion about creation of food, animals and even some places.

In another thread, TLK posted such myth about the creation of tea leaves as under:

**Chinese legend traces the origin of tea drinking in that land to its mythical Buddhist saint Bodhidharma who upon discovering he had fallen asleep during meditation immediately cut his eyelashes off and falling to the ground they sprang back up as tea bushes to help him.

Share such myths / stories you have come across about the creation of something :slight_smile:

Re: Mythological Creations

Legend about the creation of pond at Ketas Temple (Chakwaal Pakistan)

Legend involves the death of Shiva’s wife Sati- the story goes that when she died he cried so much and for so long that his tears created two holy ponds - one at Pushkara in Ajmer and the other at Ketaksha, which literally means “raining eyes” in Sanskrit. It is from this name that the word Ketas is derived. Another version of the legend mentions the two pools at Katasraj and Nainital.

i am trying to think of some edible item whose creation is considered as teardrops of some god. will post when comes to mind

Might be almond, because its shape is quite similar to eyes. As Anjuman ki badaami aankhen :p

Wait..
Is this true?? :bummer:

Oh and what about Taaj Mahal?

Its popular belief in Hindu community

It was a show-off of wealth by a burger king.... :)

Anyone knows legend behind the crocodiles of Mangho pir?

Apko bara pata hai Sab ka :emmy:

OMG
I was about to share something about mangpir.

I saw a tv show called Idraak,it was a complete documentary
Of mangopir and Lahoti la makan.

And They said there is a stone camel in la hoti la makan which they said was Hazrat Ali Kw's oonthni.

They say that mangho Pir’s crocodiles were actually lice (joo) of the sahib e mazar :smack2:

Do you know the rat temple in India??

Whats the story? I know about Shah Dola ke Choohay

:bummer:

Oh and they said there was a Milk and honey fountain at Lahoti-lamakan,
But people started selling the milk n honey so fountain became dry.

Thats strange, whats the story behind rats being sacred?

When it comes to myths.. Lahooti La Makan is very rich. I heard that there is a mud house and people believe that Hazrat Ali lived there alongwith his family for some time :bummer: Historically, Hazrat Ali never came to Sindh. There is a place near Sehwan Sharif called Lucky Shah Sadar ( a hilly area) and a foot step on hills is also believed to be of Hazrat Ali.

They say if you kill any rat accidently you have to bring gold rat otherwise you will become a rat..

I don’t know exact story..I’m waiting for Ninja bhai to come and explain:hmmm:

This sounds similar to killing a cat as told by the kaur.