My wife has asked for a Divorce, what if I dont want to give?

:salam:

As you are aware Im a very well known member to most of the guppies here at Gupshup. My life has really become a mess these days, anyways, just need to know what are the possibilities for the scenario where my wife has asked me to give her divorce and I am not interested to divorce her?

Will she remains my wife, until I divorce her? OR she can take ‘Khula’ what are the details of Khula and my presence is required in Pakistan for the Khula ? or it can be obtained through Court?

What are the possibilities if theres a child involve ? Who will take the custody in Khula?

Your guidance will be highly appreciated,

Re: My wife has asked for a Divorce, what if I dont want to give?

Peace Amarbail

What have you tried to do in order to reconcile the situation that caused her to make this request?
It is more important at this stage to attempt turning her heart in your favour than think about the legalities.

Story ....

There was a man who never listened to his wife, one day she demanded a divorce and he gave her it. She was shocked. "Why are you shocked?" he asked. "Well you never listened to me before, why now?" ... But it was too late.

The moral of the story is that when a woman demands a divorce she is actually asking for you to bring about a change in yourself or else she will go and get a divorce - a khula. In that you have no control, by asking you to give her a divorce she is expecting the opposite because she still respects you enough to "ASK" you for a divorce. The female psyche may take a bit of getting used to ... but that is the way it is.

I say buy her some flowers and chocolates and tell her that you don't want to get divorced and that you love her. And back this up with sincere du'ahs that your love for her increases and her love for you.

I'll do the same .... Ameen.

I am sorry to hear that. I will restrict myself to answering your question. A woman take khula through court if husband is not divorcing her and it can happen in your absence as well as for as i know. Custody is also decided by the courts depending upon situation of father and mother. Courts generally favour mothers when kids are young.

It all depends what are the ground for divorce and if she has valid reason. You can try to reconcile especially if children are involved.

At times men or women are in emotional distress and cause of emotional distress needs to be found out and corrected to save a marriage.

It is better to give divorce than going through the court and waste time and money if matters are irreconcilable. But that has to be the last resort.

Divorce is serious and private matter. Only you and people living with or around you can better answer the question.

Good Luck.

Peace Amarbail!

Sorry to hear that. I agree with all and like psyah said, try to reconcile with your wife and Almighty Allah SWT also liked cordial settlement between husband and wife. You better know your situation, we only can assume but if i were in replace of you, surely i'll do whatever in my power to save my marriage life and i suggest you to do whatever its take to save it. Try to involve some elders from your family to solve this matter peacefully. May Allah SWT! bless mercy on you. Amen.

Allah SWT said in Surah Al Nisa verses 128:

And if a woman fears from her husband contempt or evasion, there is no sin upon them if they make terms of settlement between them - and settlement is best. And present in [human] souls is stinginess. But if you do good and fear Allah - then indeed Allah is ever, with what you do, Acquainted.

[RIGHT]*اور اگر کسی عورت کو اپنے خاوند کی طرف سے زیادتی یا بےرغبتی کا اندیشہ ہو تم میاں بیوی پر کچھ گناہ نہیں کہ آپس میں کسی قرارداد پر صلح کرلیں۔ اور صلح خوب (چیز) ہے اور طبیعتیں تو بخل کی طرف مائل ہوتی ہیں اور اگر تم نیکوکاری اور پرہیزگاری کرو گے تو خدا تمہارے سب کاموں سے واقف ہے *[/RIGHT]

To protect the woman's economic interests, various rules are prescribed for dower in marriage. But the sanctity of marriage itself is greater than any economic interests. Divorce is, of all things permitted, most hateful to Almighty Allah SWT!. Therefore if a breach between husband and wife can be prevented by some economic consideration, it is better to make that concession than to imperil the future of the wife, the children, and probably the husband also. Such concessions are permissible, in view of the love of wealth ingrained in unregenerate man, but a recommendation is made that we should practise self-restraint, and do what we can to come to an amicable settlement without any econimic sacrifice on the part of the woman.

Sahih Bukhari Book Wedlock Marriage (Nikaah)

*Hadith No. 113 *

*Narrated Abu Huraira: Allah's Apostle said, "The woman is like a rib; if you try to straighten her, she will break. So if you want to get benefit from her, do so while she still has some crookedness." *

I wish if ppl can understand how Im feeling while discussing this matter in public. But, this is all life is all about, stage like this comes in the life !!!

the problem is that her mother and father both doesnt' wants to send her back to my mum place. She has been using bad words not about me but my mother and sisters as well. They are just pressurizing us with anger and bad words sothat my family force me or I make a decision to divorce her...

I have my true believe on Almighty Allah (SWT) ke jo bhi hota hai ache ke leye hi hota hai ... Now I have understood so many things which were hidden in my marriage life, the way my in-laws meets me was just a pre-planned game and when they realized that their daughter wont be able to move out of Pakistan and have to stay in Pakistan, they decided to use this option !!!

Never do marriage inside the relatives !!!

Peace Amarbail!

Such kind on incidents occure where third party(s) [parents or other relatives] were involved. If you and ur spouse are happy and willing to live toghether than there is many others ways to save this marriage, although at the end you'll gonna spend your whole life with ur spouse and childrens not any other person.

Sorry to hear about the tough spot your in....but let me get this straight....so, her parents are at fault for NOT sending her to live with YOUR MOM AND SISTERS?
Whose wife is she? WHY aren't you with her? Why isnt she (and your child) with you? WHY PUT HER IN SUCH A SITUATION IN THE FIRST PLACE?
Its clear thats she DOES NOT want to live like this anymore, and you have to make some drastic changes to save YOUR marriage.

Also,from your post it seems as if you were not straight-forward with her about her living arrangements before getting married??
I sorry to be blunt, but sometimes in order to get out of a tough situation you need to dig deep.

AoA. Responding this in good faith and to help you… ignore if you feel it harsh..

Sorry to hear about your situation. I’m not in your shoe, so cant tell where its pinching you. However I agree with all above suggestion.

Please think twice before you take any harsh step. To me in the present day Islam it’s a one way road of shame and disgrace for a woman.

One expect you can find it here.. YouTube, or prepares to lose the battle.

Will keep you in our prayers.

If you don’t want to divorce her and that is the only issue why not just let her live where she wants??

Seems a bit ridiculous to try and make her live at your mum’s house when she doesn’t want to and then let it escalate to this level..

Anyway, in regards to khula she can do that without you there, obviously if you are serious about saving your marriage you really need to start making an effort to patch things up before that happens..

Detailed info on Islamic custody: http://qa.sunnipath.com/issue_view.asp?HD=1&ID=168&CATE=11

everyone here have shared very nice thoughts and advise.

I would just add a few things because I have personally been through all this.

***Will she remains my wife, until I divorce her? OR she can take ‘Khula’ what are the details of Khula and my presence is required in Pakistan for the Khula ? or it can be obtained through Court?

***Yes she will be your wife until you give her divorce or takes divorce through khula.

Khula can be obtained through court but I firmly believe that your presence would be required because the judge won’t grant divorce until he/she will hear both the parties. Then your divorce deed will have to be submitted in Union Council , they provide you 3 months (basically idhat period of woman) as a period for reconciliation and then send you notice for presence and ask you if you want to go ahead with the divorce. In case of woman they allow her to give written consent for divorce but the husband/man has to be physically present.

Divorce is torturous and khula can be extremely torturous because if husband decides to contest it then all sorts of accusations are made against the wife and in case of khula court blames the wife. Plus she also loose her right on haq meher and alimony for idhat period.

***What are the possibilities if theres a child involve ? Who will take the custody in Khula? ***

Islam- the mother has custody of children till she re-marries and has a right to receive child support (doesn’t matter if it’s khula or talaq) Allah has put all the responsibility on father and it has not nothing to do with divorce , khula or whatever.

Law- Mother has custody till she remarries or till the court allows. She can obtain child support which equals 1/4th of the father’s salary. The father is responsible for all the expenses of child till 18 years of child’s age.

The above is the information I got from a lawyer sometime ago.

I know your pain and will sincerely advise you to make all efforts to save your marriage. Give your wife her rights , her right to live with you and to be your wife.

May Allah bless you , you wife and your child

Amarbail: Brother, I am sorry to hear the situation, as divorce could be devastating for any person (husband or wife), especially when children are involved. Obviously, if your wife is thinking of Khula, there must be something bothering her. I think, you should take the matter seriously and try to contact your wife (in person), discuss the problem with her, convince her that all would get sorted out, and make her change her decision, so that both of you could come to amicable agreement and live together.

**Diamond321:** I think you are talking about situation before amendment in Pakistan Khula law brought by Musharraf in 2002. From what I know (please confirm as I might be wrong, though I believe what I am writing is present situation in Pakistan).

Before amendment, Khula for women was possible, but was long procedure lasting several years, quite expensive, embarrassing and difficult if men were unwilling to cooperate. At that time, it is possible that presence of husband in court was a requirement. Anyhow, Khula in general was difficult, as usually husband (if he wanted to become notorious) use to make false allegations and claims that he paid huge amount of money that he wants to get back, taking things belonging to wife wrongly. Many husbands (notorious) used to ask wife for monetary compensation for cooperating. Usual Khula cases use to run for years.

Now, after amendment, things got simple and procedure shortened considerably for women wanting Khula. Once wife goes to court for dissolution of marriage, court issues notice to husband. If husband or his representative does not appear, court can proceed with Khula procedure and grant Khula. If Husband or his representative appears, he has to prove all allegations or claims. Regardless, Khula time got shorted considerably. I think, now it takes no more than 6 months.

As for children, what I know, wife gets the custody until they are 18. After that, children are free to decide who they would like to live with.

Before the religious zealots start flaming me, I have heard and read that if a woman asks for a khula and it is granted, if the couple wants to reconcile, a new nikkah can be performed without need for a halala.

This option is worth considering for a couple that may think their relationship has some hope further down the
line.

Please do go to your mufti, imam, aalim-e-deen, maulana, mushtahid, etc. for confirmation on the comment I've made. Like I've said, I have heard this said and had occasion to read the same - but, since there are differences amongst fiqhs, I do not know what requirements are adhered to in the OP's *fiqh *and I do not purport to be an expert.

Good luck Amarbail and may Allah make this difficult time easier for you and your wife, i'A.

Thank you all for your valuable feedback, however in particular, I would like to answer to the below:

We have seen so many cases where unfortunately, wives were attached or involved in an affairs before getting married. However, the main reason where the relation of husband and wife gets disturbed is when husband or wife gets involved with someone else. In my particular case, I have given my wife all her rights and as many guppies here at GS are aware that I lost my child soon after few days of his birth due to careless attitude of her mother.

She was living earlier with me here in UAE but later on when she moved for the pregnancy to Pakistan and my company changes the rule NOT to provide company service letter to the employees who are on single status, this thing started the whole mess. In the beginning she was giving me her full support and understanding but later on and yes very suddenly, she changed her mind and started spreading false statements about me in the family.

Looking at her attitude and behaviour, one can easily judge and realize that she is not in a mood for any reconciliation or to save her marriage life. Till todate, Im quiet and watching the whole drama, my in-laws and my wife are saying so many rubbish that I cant even write here ... !

She is from my relatives (uncles' daughter) and she is and she was aware about the thing that she might needs to stay in karachi and there wasnt' anything hidden from her or her parents.

Guys, while looking at the on-going situation I dont think personally that we can reach to a reconciliation, she surely doesnt' wants to live with me and have asked me herself a divorce.

thats if three talaqs are not given, only one talaq is required for divorce.

best of luck to amar, remember the quran says to appoint arbiters, one from your side one from hers, if ye fear seperation. if you know someone from her side who is moral enough to try to reconcile between you, phone him/her. obviously thats if comunication between you and your wife has already broke down

also i think there is a an islamic requirement for you to spend time with your wife

Sehrysh: Please see the ‘blue highlighted’ part of the article (within section: PROCEDURE FOR KHULA) I am posting and you will get your answer … regarding re-marriage after Khula without intermediary marriage.

Amarbail:
I found an article that tells about Khula (rather tells about everything related to Family law in Pakistan). Since this article is from Supreme Court, government of Pakistan site, I believe what is in the article is present day ‘family law’ situation in Pakistan. It is close to what I wrote above regarding Khula, after ordinance that came out in Oct 2002.

I think you should go through the article as it would help you know exactly what would happen if your wife decides to go ahead with Khula. You should at least read section: PROCEDURE FOR KHULA of the article as that is more relevant to your case. I am putting down whole section regarding divorce by wife (including Khula).

http://www.supremecourt.gov.pk/ijc/Articles/21/3.pdf

DIVORCE BY WIFE
There was a misconception that Muslim women had no rights to obtain a divorce through the courts. As a remedy to this situation, the Dissolution of Muslim Marriages Act of 1939 brought sweeping changes in the law. Section 2 of the Act specified a number of grounds on which a woman married under Muslim Law could sue for divorce, including cruelty, non-maintenance and impotence as well as any other ground that could be recognized as valid for the dissolution of marriage under Muslim Law.

KHULA
One of the recognized forms under the Muslim Law for Dissolution of Marriage through which a woman can obtain divorce is that of ‘Khula’. In pre-partition India, Khula was only accepted as a ground for divorce by the British Indian Courts subject to the husband’s agreement to the dissolution of marriage via Khula.

The law has undergone considerable change thereafter. The first case bringing in changes in the concept of Khula was that of Bilqis Fatima, in which it was argued before the High Court that Khula is a right of the wife. The judge ought to grant Khula if he finds that the husband and wife will not observe the limits of God otherwise.

In a leading case decided by the Honourable Supreme Court of Pakistan, Khurshid Bibi versus Baboo Mohammad Amin (PLD 1967, SC 97, P 112), it was held that:

“The Husband is given the right of divorce to his wife, though, of course, arbitrary divorces are discountenanced. Similarly, wife is given the right to ask for Khula in case of extreme incompatibility ……”

This ruling changed the concept of the right of Khula by the wife. In a large number of cases concerning dissolution of marriage, Khula is the main ground and often resorted to as an alternate plea.

A large number of Ulema even today, refuse to recognize Khula granted by courts without the consent of the husband as a valid divorce. Confusion is caused by two parallel and conflicting interpretations of the Islamic Law. On one hand, there is the statutory law and interpretation by the Superior Courts of Pakistan and on the other, is the archaic interpretation as preached by the Ulema and supported by their fatwas (opinion).

PROCEDURE FOR KHULA
Formerly in the case of Khula, women had to face the same stress delay and difficulties as in cases for dissolution of marriage on other grounds such as cruelty or non-maintenance. The husband usually refused to grant Khula to the wife and in order to defeat this right, the husband claimed huge compensation for Khula, often making false allegations of having given the wife huge sums in the shape of jewellery and property and even claiming the property in the name of the wife as belonging to him. This placed a lot of strain on the judges for such cases required heavy sifting of evidence thus leading to lengthy procedures.

President General Musharraf has tried to curb this through amendments to the Family Law Courts Act dated 1st of October, 2002. Presently in cases of Khula, the procedure has been shortened and simplified. When the wife files a case for dissolution of marriage, the court issues notice to the opposite party being the husband. If he fails to appear after the due process of posting and publication, the court can proceed with the case ex-parte. In case where the husband or his representative appears, he is required to file a written statement following which the court has to fix a date for pre-trial proceedings for reconciliation.

The amendments require that “the family court in a suit for dissolution of marriage, if reconciliation fails, shall pass Decree for dissolution of marriage forthwith and shall restore to the husband the mehr received by the wife in consideration of the marriage at the time of marriage.” This change in the procedural law has brought much needed relief to suffering wives who had to bear insurmountable delays or long drawn out legal battles for the enforcement of their right of Khula.

The consequences of Khula differ from that of Talaq by the husband since following a Khula, the ex-husband and the ex-wife can remarry without the necessity of any intervening marriage to another person by the wife, as required for under the doctrine of Halala which is recognized by most jurists.

Khula has become an easy and a quick form of relief to many women suffering from miseries of violence in circumstances where they were unable to sustain a happy marriage within the limits prescribed by God.

^^^
What I understand from above article (and from other information I have), in effect the procedure is:

Wife went to court. She claims that she cannot live with the husband and if she would be living together, she would not be able to fulfil duties expected from wife. She can really give 100s of reasons, fabricated or true (obviously, with the help of lawyers).

Court sends letter to husband to appear in court, followed by publication (advertisement) in news paper to appear.

A: If husband do not appear, court start procedure and grant Khula to wife.

B: If husband or his representative appears in court, husband is asked to put down everything regarding situation in writing. Court then would ask the couple to try to reconcile, giving them few months (I believe it is around 3 to 6 month). If after reconciliation period expires, wife still wants Khula, it is considered as reconciliation has not worked, and thus wife is asked to return mehr if husband can prove he has given that mahr to wife (amount of mahr is mentioned in Nikah-Nama). Once Mehr is sorted out, khula is granted.

you are right that period for obtaining khula has been reduced and it does not take longer than 3 months. But as far as presence is concerned the judge hears from both sides and I don't think khula will be granted if husband is not present. Submission of docs to union council and their certificate of divorce is very necessary esp for women because if that has not been done and woman later on gets married then her 1st husband or anyone else can file a case of zina and this has practically happened. So whether khula or talaq both men and women needs to fulfil the requirement.

I agree that because the period of obtaining khula has shortened women suffers less. But they still do suffer because husband and his family can't refrain from keechar uchalna .

Custody of children is not a simple topic . According to my knowledge the father can claim for custody any time but in more than 90% of the cases mother has got the custody. From what I have heard after 12 years of age it's child's choice that matters and mother's re-marriage makes the custody matter pretty complicated.

^^^
Brother, if you would read the article I posted, taken from Supreme Court of Pakistan site, it says that:

That says, if husband do not respond, court would proceed with khula case ex-parte. Ex-parte means that case is heard and decided without requiring both parties to be present. In Khula case as above, it is obvious that presence of husband would not be necessary. Definition of ex-parte in legal term is, from wikipedia:

Ex parte is a Latin legal term meaning “from (by or for) one party” (English pronunciation: /ˌɛks ˈpɑrtiː/](Help:IPA/English - Wikipedia)). An ex parte decision is one decided by a judge without requiring all of the parties to the controversy to be present. In Australian, Canadian, (Law of the United Kingdom - Wikipedia), Indian and (Law of the United States - Wikipedia) legal doctrines, ex parte means a legal proceeding brought by one person in the absence of and without representation or notification of other parties. It is also used more loosely to refer to improper unilateral contacts with a court, arbitrator or represented party without notice to the other party or counsel for that party.
As for what you said:

I think submission of documents to union council and their certificate of divorce maybe problem for wife in divorce cases, as divorce may be given verbally, then wife gets divorce but to prove that divorce she would need paper work that she might get it as certificate from union council. But in case of khula, I do not think that could be problem, as wife would have court documents to prove that divorce (khula) has been granted by court. So, to book her on Zina charges after Khula is impossible with court documents with her.

my bad on your 1st part I did not know all that.

but the union council procedure is very necessary not only to safeguard yourself but for further processings with NADRA . They will ask for that certificate at each and every stage. As bad as it sounds but for making a new NIC and passport you will have to give them the proof "I am divorced" at every stage.

Khair , the main issue here should now be clear to OP and I sincerely hope they don't need to go through all that.