My Urdu is whack

Re: My Urdu is whack

hahaha…good…but sometimes they just get more annoyed with me :smiley:

Kya mathlub :asa:

**I had the same problem…din’t speak a word of Urdu till I was 18…we spoke English or Pashto at home and I used to hate having aunties come over cuz then I’d be forced to respond in urdu and my urdu sucked and I always confused the genders and couldn’t pronounce the noon ghoona (that alphabet makes me hysterical who came up with that !!:cb:)…so all my haiinnnnn were haaiiii and I just couldn’t figure out how they ALWAYS picked up on it !:mad:

Neways I learnt it around 18 when I had a friend who finally din’t pick on my every line and just let me talk in urdu any which way I wanted , so I was able to get fluent in it…oh and bollywood movies helped :hehe:

So the key is just Speak it with whoever knows the language and u’ll learn to differntiate the pronunciations and attain fluency .

I’m working on my Pashto now…apparently contrary to what I believed , I do NOT know the language properly !!! :pcg:**

**I had the same problem…din’t speak a word of Urdu till I was 18…we spoke English or Pashto at home and I used to hate having aunties come over cuz then I’d be forced to respond in urdu and my urdu sucked and I always confused the genders and couldn’t pronounce the noon ghoona (that alphabet makes me hysterical who came up with that !!:cb:)…so all my haiinnnnn were haaiiii and I just couldn’t figure out how they ALWAYS picked up on it !:mad:

Neways I learnt it around 18 when I had a friend who finally din’t pick on my every line and just let me talk in urdu any which way I wanted , so I was able to get fluent in it…oh and bollywood movies helped :hehe:

So the key is just Speak it with whoever knows the language and u’ll learn to differntiate the pronunciations and attain fluency .

I’m working on my Pashto now…apparently contrary to what I believed , I do NOT know the language properly !!! :pcg:**

Interesting!

Leo get som free tuition from som1 from opposite gender :hehe:

I agree with our pashtun sister above.

Find a friend or group of Pakistani friends who won't criticize your every sentance; only way to learn or become fluent in urdu is to listen to yourself speak and then realizing where your going wrong. Also watch a lot of dramas or our political talk shows (eg. capital talk). Do this for a year or so and you'll see noticable difference.

I started speaking urdu fluently (although not completely fluent just yet) only about 6/7 months ago. Before that it was terrible!

But with time and continued verbal practice, it gets better!

btw, indian movies are a bad idea to learn urdu; because they DON'T speak urdu.

there are lots of 'meray ko' and 'teray ko' and 'apun' type language which isn't urdu.

shaadi.com

get spouse from Pakistan. You will learn your urdu fast :)

See pakistani dramas......and news (not talk shows)....

try to post in urdu at gs...we'll tell u which words are wrong or right. :)

It's the same with me and pushto, a love-hate relationship. I have been known to butcher the language.
With urdu I do mix up words, rarely masculine and feminine and tenses but it's not unheard of, I have a terrible, typical british accent though and my vocabulary is very limited. I tried watching Pakistani dramas which helped dramatically but I don't have time anymore.
I think a few trips to Pakistan will solve our problems, or just watching dramas. I love the way they spoke urdu in the subcontinent, hints of hindi and it was so eloquent, I'd love to sound like that :)

I’m trying to learn too! I keep having to tell my mum to talk to me in pushto so I can get better since my amma jaan (grandma) only speaks a bit of urdu. I hope I learn it soon enough,
I used to be okay as a kid but I mess up tenses, male female, pronounciation and always forget key words. It’s terrible right now. Anyway good luck :slight_smile:

Dramas xD Terrible idea mannnn. News is a better idea.

Or get your parents to read you Ghalib and interpret it before bed?

start watching pakistani dramas and indian movies with subtitles. i read urdu khawateen digest novels a lot to be in loop (of not forgetting my urdu language :blush:)

Pushto is way more dift to learn…ficul.I keep getting confused in the Sh & Kh dialect versions , so that I can speak it at home perfectly fine cuz we speak the softer dialect but whenever I go out its like i don’t get a word they’re saying and I feel like a retard :vivo:

Listen to Pushto songs…that might help…NOTE I said LISTEN not SEE ! **

**Ghalib !!! We can barely get our hain and haan’s right Ur suggesting Ghalib ! :vivo:

Reminds me of my O Level Paper in Urdu…we had to translate a paragraph from Urdu to English…

So I wrote DICKTORIA Station blah blah blah…Years later I found out that was in fact supposed to have been VICTORIA station :hehe:

I still got a B on that paper :smooth:

NOW U wanna suggest Ghlaib :D**

Pushto is way more difficult to learn…I keep getting confused in the Sh & Kh dialect versions , so that I can speak it at home perfectly fine cuz we speak the softer dialect but whenever I go out its like i don’t get a word they’re saying and I feel like a retard :vivo:

Listen to Pushto songs…that might help…NOTE I said LISTEN not SEE ! **

**Ghalib !!! We can barely get our hain and haan’s right Ur suggesting Ghalib ! :vivo:

Reminds me of my O Level Paper in Urdu…we had to translate a paragraph from Urdu to English…

So I wrote DICKTORIA Station blah blah blah…Years later I found out that was in fact supposed to have been VICTORIA station :hehe:

I still got a B on that paper :smooth:

NOW U wanna suggest Ghlaib :D**

I feel sorry for you, you bloody American.

^ and why exactly you think he should be verbally abused for being a "bloody American"?

LMAO Dicktoria. Jaan di, di huwi usi ki thi, haq to yoon hai kay haq ada naa huwa

JaaN di , Di huwi Usi ki Thee
Haq tu Yea hai k Haq ada nah huwa