MY TERRITORY!

Ladies (and gents!)…are u territorial about your kitchen? or are you pretty welcoming and inviting?

Tell u the truth, I cant stand to have anybody in my kitchen when i’m around. I’d rather get up and get everything and do the work…even with the husband i’m like that.

U?

Re: MY TERRITORY!

I'm quite welcoming.

:naraz: I cant stand a soul in my kitchen , even if its hubby :no: .. I feel so irritated when guest ladies sometimes come into the kitchen and start trying to help me out :smack: … I just feel like i can do work better and quicker when on my own in the kitchen …and i being evil :konfused:

actually i dont like him in there cz he gets all nitpicky and stuff…like this si messy why is this food spoiled (cz i didnt eat it in time :bummer: ) etc. :nahi:

yeah that is a good enough reason , mine does that too :naraz:

..and the guest ladies , when they come over , I just hate it how some times people just keep criticizing you for the way the things are kept… things like " glasses idar kyu rakha hai , udar rakho" :smack: … " you should have gotten light cream cabinets instead of these " … :mad:

^ OMG YES! i hate people like that. Like..uh…MY kitchen, i put things MY way.

Ok tho i gotta admit..I was staying wtih my MIL for a couple of weeks…and it would be so frustrating doing ANYTHING because her eyes would follow me around, she wouldn’t leave me alone in there for a second…always “working” while i’m trying to do something. I hated that :mad:

Maybe they criticize cz they dont get to decorate their own kitchens. :smiley:

Since I dun like to cook, it's my husband' territory.. I used to stay out just becuase "too many cooks spoil the broth" and my tips were never appreciated but then I would spend an hour cleaning the kitchen so now we have an unspoken agreement.. he cooks and I clean.. I do the dishes as he uses them just so by the time he is done cooking, our kitchen is sparkling clean and the only things that need to be washed are handi and chamcha. IF and WHEN I cook, we switch roles. I cook, he keeps the kitchen clean!

I will not want guests to join us in the kitchen but then it's too small for two people so I can't even imagine anyone else in there without us bumping into each other. :D

I don't like my husband in the kitchen either. I like to do things my way.. even though he doesn't say anything.. he isn't allowed to come in the kitchen.. He doesn't like to cook anyway, we are both happy.

It's my mum's kitchen in essence. Mum is not territorial but I am. I don't like it when people watch me, invade my space or distract me.

Yeah when we have a fight , I usually go into the kitchen and stay there until we have made up again :omg: …My kitchen’s my escape corner :@:

I don’t like it when the guest ladies come into my kitchen and start criticizing what type of ingredients I am using. “oh… u use regular sour cream… i only use fat free sour cream”, “I only use heinz ketchup… thats interesting that you use store brand…” . I know that they are hating on me!!! :frowning:

Plus I live in an apartment… kitchen is tiny… guest still feel the need to come in to “help out”. :pcg:

One advice.

There is one popular way amongst guys of marking their territories. I guess you ladies should at least avoid that way to be used in the kitchen

:emmy:

TLK. :emmy:

mera kitchen sirf mera hai!!!!

If the other person is not coming in my way, I don't mind but if it's disturbing and I have to rush for something then I am not too happy..

Sometimes guest ladies join me in the kitchen, which I don't mind if it's just one of them cos obviously there's no one else to accompany them..and it's a bit rude letting them sit with bhai log all by themselves.

I'm happy to let my hubby into the kitchen - if he wants to be there, and sometimes get him to helpout with the prep. Essentially it is his kitchen before mine as I moved into his place, but he respects my space and is happy to leave me be, if that's what I want or help, if that's what I want.

As for other people, it depends on who they are. There's a few people whose kitchen's I've spent a lot of time in, and they've spent a lot of time in my mum's kitchen and learned a lot from her, so we do things in a similar way. So actually having them helpout is a bonus - and some people just get in the way and do annoying things like put table spoons into big curry dishes.

The kitchen is mine.

While hubby is pretty good at handling kitchenly needs, obviously the finishing touches and sparkle can only come from me :snooty:

He makes fantastic food, but usually when I am away or ill. But otherwise, I like to be the boss there. I know when my peeler has moved :asa: