A few years ago the US government collected genetic material from several of Osama’s relatives. They didn’t have his own, but with that of his siblings they have enough to confirm with 99% certainty that Osama or one of his siblings was the body from Abbottabad.
The air space used is, I’m sure, still officially classified.
bin laden's family visits the US pretty often (bush key jigri dost etc.), could get a sample from a sibling or two, and it'll be sufficient to match against.
right over pakistan, i'd think. if they did dump the body.
ok I also have a question, what happened to the other body the seals took with them? Was that body of a lesser muslim whom should not be buried in 24 hours as per the islamic traditions?
they took two bodies?
and if Pakistan could not have been trusted to locate OBL then why leave behind his family if they later want to interrogate them?
but DNA samples collected from family members cannot give you 99% match with 99% confidence identification on Osama. I am sure that even Ohama Bin Laden and O'Mama bin Laden would match with the same 99%, so who to say that they did not kill his brother instead of him.
If they used Pak air space to move the body to their air craft carrier then did they jam the signal again or this time it was through permission?
but DNA samples collected from family members cannot give you 99% match with 99% confidence identification on Osama. I am sure that even Ohama Bin Laden and O'Mama bin Laden would match with the same 99%, so who to say that they did not kill his brother instead of him.
If they used Pak air space to move the body to their air craft carrier then did they jam the signal again or this time it was through permission?
Comparing DNA from one true sibling to the DNA from another lets you work out if both people had the same set of parents. So one they established through DNA from the Abbottabad body that it was one of the children of Osama's father and Osama's mother (which you can tell with 99% certainty), you just need to check if any of Osama's siblings died that same night. If all his remaining siblings are still alive, then you know that the Abbottabad body was Osama.
Secondly, Asia Times story (posted by ravage in another thread) suggests that the most likely outcome is that Pakistan was informed about the raid once it was in progress, hence solders arrived immediately at the scene to secure it when the American SEALs departed.
So Pakistan was probably told that the raid was happening, and was then left with the choice of attacking the choppers and this escalating the situation grossly, or letting it be.
Comparing DNA from one true sibling to the DNA from another lets you work out if both people had the same set of parents. So one they established through DNA from the Abbottabad body that it was one of the children of Osama's father and Osama's mother (which you can tell with 99% certainty), you just need to check if any of Osama's siblings died that same night. If all his remaining siblings are still alive, then you know that the Abbottabad body was Osama.
DNA match within few short hours is not digesting well for me. I mean there were so many things that are required. A bench mark sample, a top of the line test lab, a confirmation that every other sibling is accounted for ... I am sure I can add more but alas, I am not a conspiracy theorist :D
Oh no - now others here are going to be threatened since one of the GS Directors is asking questions??!!!.....
Seriously though...
Who is a DNA analysis expert here. Answer, no one.
Here are more real facts:
Mr. Bin Laden, father of Osama, had several wives, which is factual.
So the additional puzzle:
ideally, you would need DNA from a sibling from 1 father and 1 mother to ascertain if a said individual is in fact from the same the lineage and the same person. And to identify without a any doubt.
Hence the new question:
Who did they use to create the master DNA pattern to match with?
The article also quotes an unnamed former CIA agent as saying that to get a DNA test of 99.9 percent accuracy, as the U.S. government put forth, it was likely "we would have had his DNA on file for a long time," perhaps from when bin Laden worked with American forces against the Soviet occupation of Afghanistan or in the years before 9/11 when he was emerging as an identifiable terrorist threat.
I am loving these OBL threads…they are quite hilarious
Why have they not shown the body on TV yet…today on news they showed s stupid virtual re-construction of where the body was lying on the floor in the room he was found..and how they transported it!!!
although I dont think that it would create any rage amongst Muslims, I still think that showing the video to general public is not necessary. What they could have done is to brief some top world leaders including some muslim leaders and show them the picture and video.
abbotabad ke loag kehte hain ke yeh saazish hai....woh yahan (abbotabad) main arse se reh rahe hain unhon ne kabhi koi ajeeb cheez nahi dekhi...na hi us ghar main osama ko dekha hai balke wahan koi do aur bande rehte thay jo bolne etc se pathani nahi lagte thay.
You need the mothers DNA sample (or blood sample) to determine if some is full or half sibling.
And also folks, don't forget, the burden of proof demands that they determine whether it was OSAMA, not that it was any one of his family. Which requires a previous DNA sample from them. Did they have that?
You need the mothers DNA sample (or blood sample) to determine if some is full or half sibling.
And also folks, don't forget, the burden of proof demands that they determine whether it was OSAMA, not that it was any one of his family. Which requires a previous DNA sample from them. Did they have that?
The DNA that they had from the body would share the same parental DNA as his true siblings. In other words, you can tell from the test that it was one of the Bin Laden's of Osama's generation (from the same wife of his dad) who died. If all other Bin Ladens known to be alive are still alive, then the dead one would have to be Osama.