My ristha is coming! Advice! Advice!

I dont know whether to post here or in Family.

My rishta is coming with his dad! Insha’Allah within a few days. Any advice would be great!!! I am SOOOOOOO nervoussssssssss!!! I dont know what to wear, what to do!!! Pakistan clothes or western style? Make up or no make-up? Talk a lot or talk little? So much excitement yet so much tension! Hehehe!

Pleaseeeee adviseeeeeeeeee! Thanksssssssss!

big smile

Learn to love yourself, then learn to love one-another

RELAX!

Firstly, you need to drink a nice cold glass of water (does you good in many ways). Then, think. My advice: Wear something trendy, but not too dressy, he’ll obviously know you dressed up for him. Make-up, don’t load up. Nice, natural make up that brings out your features. Talk, not to perky and not too monotonic either. Talk only enough, not too much not too little.

And no, i am not talking from experience

Hehehe… then better leave it to the exshperts

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/cool.gif

Munni… first of all, for God’s sake, don’t call him ‘rishta’. He is almost a fiance, if not already. Call him by his name.

Second, remember, not only is he coming to meet you and assess you, at the same time, you should also be evaluating him to assure yourself that he is the one for you. It is for this reason, that I suspect, he will be a tad bit nervous and excited too. So, u can relax, you will not be the only nervous soul in the room when u two meet.

Re: dress… Unless u r completely westernized, may I suggest you wear Pakistani clothes. I assume your ‘rishta’ is Pakistani and, in almost all Pakistani families living in the west, I have seen that for such gatherings they dress up in their finest traditional clothes. Nothing flashy or gota karahi, just simple, elegant dresses.

Re: talking etc. Just be normal. You will start conversing just as you do with any new person you meet. Both of you should try to understand eachother’s background, likes and dislikes and whats important to each of you. If the conversation moves forward smoothly, share with him your aspirations and how you see your future (personally and professionally). Don’t divulge deep secrets or emotional outpourings. Take it slow and cautious. You don’t want to overload him. If possible, allow him to talk in the beginning to see how much he divulges about himself. Ask him questions, make him comfortable.

Be extremely courteous with his dad. In most instances you will be very carefully watched for every move. Don’t act artificial or uptight. Just be pleasant, normal and cheerful.

As a last advice, just remember. You may end up spending all the rest of your life with this gentleman. Keep that in mind. If there is anything in his personality which you absolutely don’t like or which makes you extremely uncomfortable, then make sure you discuss it with your mom or some other confidante. You want to make the right decision, bcz marriage is not like shopping for a dress. You can not return your husband to his mom within 30 days with receipt for full money-back guarantee. You have to make the right decision, the first time. Don’t be intimidated and coerced into any decision. If, for any reason, he is not the guy for you, then inshallah you will get the best one someplace else. Never lose faith and always ask Allah for help and guidance.

Have fun!

ps. Oh, and its a most enjoyable time. Did I tell you that?

Be yourself
Be comfortable
Be Honest
Don't put up a show
He likes you, your in already
Stop frettin', its past that point
Just be casual and don't over do it

CocoNut

Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.

Love happens once . . .

Youv'e had some good advice here already from Sehar, Pristine and Coconut, so I'll say something different.

Right now - write down what you think is important to you, and what you think is important to him. Think how best you can communicate it with him. It may help you sort out some things in your own mind.

Oh, and don't drink too much tea or coke beforehand.....

And TELL us how it went!!!!

yeah and no drugs or alcohol before u meet him either...

dont worry....
take it easy....
kucch nahin ho ga....
just be normal....
and pretend nothing UNUSUAL is going to happen....
after all woh bhee insaan hee hai (i hope)....

Run away and hide under the bed, If he's serious he'll come back the very next day warna Jaan chooti

ballay ballay

hehe Munni your Ristha is coming and I am getting nervous eeeek freakin feeling I tell ya

Munni although you got very nice advise from everyone(especially Pristine there), wanted to share, do wear decent shalwar kameez, some light makeup…and just be yourself …everything will go fine.

LOL Anchal

Play hard to get.
Avoid eye contact. Wear dark shades MIB style.
Remember those bags of clothes sitting in the garage for donation to the needy....pick something torn, faded and preferably mis-matched. Wear it with pride.
Sit with your back to the guy and pretend you don't hear when his father addresses you.
Put waaaaaay too much milk in the tea and substitute salt for the sugar.
Pick your nose if you get a chance....let him convince himself that it's not so bad.

The rest will take care of itself.

Seriously though sweetie.....you know why you are so nervous? Cuz you like him already and you know what? He probably feels the same way about you!

Enjoy this memorable meeting. Don't stress.

Boy i’ll get withdrawls when this ‘soap’ is over..

Munni.. congrats… and the best advice that has been given is “Be Yourself”.

Do talk.

At times it leaves a lot of room for guesses if you don’t.. and sometimes the guesses may not be a true reflection of your personality, so be your own spokesperson and let the other person know how you think, talk and conduct yourself in company.

Too bad u’re not a guy.. otherwise one classic instruction solves all problems.. the one given to Ben Stiller in There’s Something about Mary before going on his date with Cameron Diaz

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/dixsi.gif

This Space For Rent

mmmm hmmm…I like this post, should bookmark it for future reference.

Best Wishes Munni.

nice advise from everyone, specially from sehar and pristine.

Munni! I'm so excited for you! We want the details about how it goes afterwards!!

Wear what you feel comfortable wearing, wear as much makeup as you usually wear for a specialy occasion (if this isn't special I don't know what is,) talk as much as you usually talk!!!

If you can, get some time alone with him and get to know each other better. After all, you guys are going to be spending the rest of your lives together and he has a right to know what he's in for! Hehe, just kidding.

Most of all, HAVE FUN and good luck!!! It'll go great!

Good luck

Just be yourself, cuz he is going to live with that person you really are…good luck again

“Which is it, of the favours of your Lord, that ye deny?”

Originally posted by Anchal:
**Run away and hide under the bed, If he's serious he'll come back the very next day warna Jaan chooti

ballay ballay**

now here we have some experience talking :~P

Munni

What will happen of your boy friend who is waiting for you with high hopes …Didnt you say you had a boy friend who loves you very very much that he would do anything for you …WHAT?you broke up ??..he did or you ??

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

Be carefull he may show up the same time your rishta comes !!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

“If the only prayer you said in your whole life was, ‘thank you,’ that would suffice.”

Tipu, that wasnt me! I've never had a boyfriend! I think I know whom you are referring to. It isnt me though! hehe.
smile

Learn to love yourself, then learn to love one-another

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/blush.gif

Originally posted by Anchal:
**Run away and hide under the bed, If he's serious he'll come back the very next day warna Jaan chooti

ballay ballay**

....LOL
Hey this is what you did Shaitan_ki_Khala?