My problem about my wedding

Re: My problem about my wedding

respect 786: I also feel like you. I want to cry everytime i think about my wedding.I know its been 6 years but it was supposed to be the happiest day of my life. Everything was wrong from the video, photos venue decor..EVERYTHING. I know how you feel you wanted to look the prettiest on your big day as you wanted to feel like a princess....to top all that my lovely mum cant find the second half of my ruksati video( not that it was long) as it was recorded on 2 tapes. It was kept in her house and we have searched everywhere and it had just vanished into thin air! Therefore, half of my memories of my wedding have been lost even though the quality was bad.

Noone said anything nice about my wedding either i know how you feel. When did you get married??

My sister is getting married soon and she is having all the functions from the engagement, registration, mehndi. i think about 6 different functions and a different outfit for each. I am so happy for her as she always wanted a nice wedding but now we are in a better financial situation she can have a good lavish wedding. However, 6 years ago my family was not therefore my wedding was crap to say the least. But mashallah my marriage is good but i still wish that I could have a better wedding. I even did my own makeup on the nikah because didnt have money for makeup artist and on valima that girl who was gonna do my makeup didnt turn up for some reason so I had to do my makeup once again myself! This included pinning my duppata had hair setting with the help of some family members who didnt know how it should be done. Thats why My whole look looks awful on both days due to my duppatta that was just stuck on, no setting or nothing.

Therefore I didnt feel like I was once pampered during my wedding as a bride should be. My sister is having professional photos, everything professional and i do envy her sometimes that she will look gorgeous on her wedding unlike myself. Anyway I have said alot now, i just needed to let it all out. Also I want to get a professional photoshoot done with my wedding clothes with hubby but hbby not too keen as it has been ages since we married..dont know what to do.

thanks

another comment that i want to add to clear my head:). when I say that the decor was bad for my nikah and valima, I mean tacky ballon decor with multi coloured ballons and tinsel..which didnt even match my clothes. I was so angry at my valima decor the most as when I look at the photos i feel like changing the background on every picture in photoshop:(

Ami123...nothing was professional about my wedding...video guy was some paindoo who didnt have a clue how to make a wedding film, i.e. no instructions on how to pose etc etc, my camera got bust and no professional photographer and i did my makeup myself, chose my lengha as well but it just all turned sour. I think cos i like really minimal and natural makeup i cocked it up big time! My 'freinds' were just random cousins i had never had contact with before in my life who did **** all and just sat next to looking like it was a funeral...No one advised me who to go to for makeup nor did anyone help me with it.

And the WORST part of it all was it was a double wedding! I think that was the biggest psychological block for me! Although my freinds say i look alright, i know how horrible i look...hey, if ur upto it, u can post me a pic...maybe u can edit them online...i can have a look for u if u want?

Anyway listen, just be strong yeah and whenever u go out look ur damn BEST! It was so funny, i thought i had lostthe touch, went out y'day with my lil 1 and this guy asks for directions, i directed him...then he started chatting me up lol i was like uh-oh...time to say bye! So maybe other ppl have a different view abt ur pics?

take care!

Sam x

**respect786: **how long have you been married for? When you mean double wedding, does that mean u had a wedding with another couple? I can understand where you are coming from. I had a camera person who didnt know how to do close up shots of me..throughout the entire wedding and valima their are distance video footage of me, not like close up of my face which really annoyed me. Also the pictures that family took noone bothered to take a close up of me either, therefore I have forgotton what I looked like on my wedding.

Your camera went burst? that means you dont have pics?

take care

is there anyone else that can tell me their story if their wedding didnt turn out the way they wanted it to be. Do people have regrets? thanks

Well if you think you did not look good on your wedding day, now you can get ready as a bride with beautiful makeup and do a photo-shoot, I know that some people do, when they see that the photo did not look good in spite of have a good wedding (getting dressed had makeup done etc but the photography was not done well) they get themselves ready again and do another shoot, as if they were taken during their wedding day (just do an outdoor shoot)

You cannot turn back the clock but like others have suggested you can have a really beautiful day in the near future, whcih you can look back on and have good memories about..i.e. the way you looked,dressed, had your make up done.

Don't dwell on the negativs. What we forget is that life is too short. We are here today gone tomorrow. We all want a lovely wedding day. As girls this is something we dream of since we are children, but circumstances change.

The moe you dwell on such matters, the more it will be upsetting for you, therefore get dressed up, have photos done. Go to a place like Venture or something (if you are in the UK), buy some new outfits and have a make over and have proff photos done.:)

Be happy with what you have. There are definitely more important hings in life....xx

dilidirani...tell me a little about venture? is it proffessional photography? with makeup etc? Do u know of their prices etc...would really appriciate it...thanx

thanks dilidrani for your comment..Are you married and how was your wedding? Do you thinK i should wear my lengha or some nice suits because in the uk wont it look abit strange if I come in all dressed as a bride ready to have pics taken? Unless someone can come to my house?

hi ami123 u know i had my nikkah before few weeks, it was in PC, i had a makeup frm the best parlour, i had movie+photo shoot at nikkah, & had the best dress, but after all this expense of abt 2 lacs only on nikkah cermony (wedding is still), when i saw my pics...i got SHOCKED.. i was looking sooo fat & chubby in all the pics & my makeup was sooo bad, although i had paid Rs.15000 for it :(..but what a bad luck that no body liked it...& now i just don't like to see my pics & keep praying it wont happen again with me at my wedding...so dear u r much better that u haven't waisted any money regarding all these formalities.& yes thats the best idea to have another pic in bridal or formal dresses, its not imp to wear ur 6 yrs old lehga, i have seen many middle age women make new lehngas for wearing in recent marriages, the new lehnga is upto date & light, with nice colors+ light work, or u can simply have nice party wear dress, party makeup+hairstyle donne from nice parlour & a sweet smile & a Nice portrait pic frm a famous nice studio..thats it...masla hal :)

photography

hi,

I was interested to know if those people who are married and had professional studio shots, how did the photographer take the pics..I mean that some people say that the bride and groom pics are taken separetely but then the two are put together in photoshop or similar software so it looks like the bride and groom were shot together.

Does anyone have any pics of bride and groom using this technique? thanks

thanks whiteroses for your comments. I feel for you that you didnt like your nikah pics..these things happen as I have learnt the hard way:(. But atleast you still got your wedding to make things right:).

I have been thinking about having a photoshoot with a nice lengha and jewellery etc but i think because I live in the Uk, it will look strange if I go to an english studio and ask for bridal shots, I worry about that....

Also my husband doesnt seem to keen to go to a studio and have bridal pics with me after 6 years of marriage. He doesnt really understand as you know what men are like, they dont care about these things!

Is there anyway I can have his picture taken separatley and then later have it combined with mine like their do in Pakistan....In the uk its not like pakistan where you get ready and have a photoshoot done at the same place. I dont know what to do:(

hey ami did you get my pm?

yeah thanks i just gave a very long reply.

people are sad.. that their wedding photos didnt turn out the way they wanted.. or their hall wasnt fancy enough... yet they are with the man they love and will inshallah lead a very long and happy life together...

i will be lucky if i can marry the man i love... we love each other more than anything in this whole world and if i cud choose it so, i would marry him tommorow in my back yard in my pj's even.... if it were possible.

the past is history.. future is a mistery... the present is a gift and thats why its called a present...

forget wht happened 6 years ago... enjoy today and make the most of it... because today is what will shape ur tommorow....

I hope everyone who has bad memories of their special day can find peace with it... look at the man u married, coz no bad photo or bad lengha etc can ever have made the day your soul got attached to another any less special.

be happy...

^ Awwww! Yes so very true… what really matters is the relationship and nothing else and unfortunately when we see others planning weddings or visit the forum, or even looking at all the newest fashions we lose sight of that. Best of luck hun :hugz:

neelum-ahmed: thanks for your comments. their were lovely. Just wanted to ask whats stopping you from marrying the guy you love?

ami..No not married and have no plans of doing so just yet:cb:

Ami..respect…Venture is a studio..I ahve been there with friends and had portraits etc done. They do not do make up. Just photography.

For more info there is this link

http://www.thisisventure.co.uk/

I suggested this because I know they are good plus they have alot of studios across the country. However, if you do some research into photgraphy,makeover thingies etc in your area I am sure you will find something which caters to your budget:)

Ami…you have your sister’s wedding coming up…why don’t you make use of her photographer..and have a few portraits done with your hubby…have your make up done and you could even wear a nice lengha(don’t upstage the bride though:cb:)…

Either ways ladies..please try to find contentment in your heart and enjoy what you have Aameen..x

bridal photosession

hi again,

I saw a studio here near where I live and it says that the photosession will only have 10 pictures thats the fixed pictures they do for a studio shot at a fixed price...Do you lot thing that 10 studio shoot pictures will be enough of my hubby and I if my hubby finally decides to go through the 'very late' wedding photoshoot for me? I mean you only need a few good photos of you and hubby is that not right? and then I can get one as a portrait. What do others think?

thanks ami :), if u r more concerned over bidal shoot, then u can just have formal pics, u can wear any nice party wear shalwar kameez or sari etc, & there in uk the photographers r much more advance then in pakistan, so just talk to them, have their opinion, they can give u a better option. if ur husband doesnot like it then u can go with any of ur friend & have a pic, & later on ur anniversary or maybe ur husband's or ur own birthday, frame the picture & gift it to ur husband & tell him that u only did this just to give him a nice Beautiful surprise on this occassion. don't under estimate ur self, think urself as a best person, take care of urself & then u will get all the compliments by itself without any pic to prove something.
best of luck dear, feel free to ask anything :)