My parents vs Me

Well guys I think that a lot of girls had the same issue like me having these days. So please suggest me what to do.

The issue is that my parents want me to get married to my cousin (ya typical family, I knw) and I also have a boyfriend.

Now the problem is that my mom knows everything about my bf. He is still a student and my cousin has finished with his studies and has a job.
Now she is kinda blackmailing me emotionally. Keh dekho yeh family keh liye acha hai. N do it for your dad etc

So plz tell me guys keh kya karu, cuz main bhi student hoon n i cnt study with these tension. Main parents ko bhi dukh nahi deh sakti hoon n bf ko bhi nahi chor sakti.

N ya plz serious answers cuz life is not a joke jaise keh kuch log samajte hai.

Re: My parents vs Me

Screw your family, run away with Edward.

If you're in love with your boyfriend, tell him to send a rishta and see what your parents have to say.

First of all, tell your mom very nicely that shadi is not done to make dad and the khaandan happy…it’s a huge decision that is going to affect YOU more than them. Sorry to sound harsh, but your mom’s reasoning is pathetic. She has placed the khaandan over you…she’s giving the relatives priority over her own daughter. :rolleyes:

And as said above by Reha, ask your boyfriend to send a rishta. If he’s sincere…then he’ll do something about this. If he can’t get married soon…then you guys can even discuss having an engagement until he finishes his education.

And if you are absolutely not interested in your cousin at all for marriage…(let’s say that you wouldn’t want to marry him even if you didn’t have a boyfriend)…if you’re not at all open to even considering him…please be direct with your parents and let them know that you don’t want to marry your cousin. Sometimes the silence…awkwardness can be mistaken for shyness and what not.

i agree with reha if you guys are really serious about each other he needs to act on it and make sure you really talk to your parents about how you feel remember it's you that is getting married and has to live with this person so you should be happy about it

OH MY GOD! Another person with cousin marriage problem? You’re not alone, I’m a guy and my parents wanted to get me married to my cousin too and it was hard for me to convince them that I don’t want to. PinkOrchid is in a worse situation, follow her thread using link below as there are some good advice from other members:
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-and-relationships/485457-more-of-the-same-cousin-pakistan-family.html

girl, what do you have a bf for then if you dont consult him for your problems? :hoonh:

Get boyfriend to propose, even if he's a student getting engaged or nikkah-e-fied doesn't harm anyone. Infact it's quite halal :)

screw your family,.. but you are girl how could you.. anyway try.. and run.. away.. baby.. !

Cousin has a job.

BF is still studying.

Either plan to live on love or wait till BF gets job!

Your age and waiting time needs to be considered here.

Love is important but over-rated before marriage.

Elope and ruin the dreams of your parents. Yes what you want at what 17 years of age truly matters.

Runaway........far far away......so far that only you and ur boyfriend are there........your parents will never understand your emotion of LOVE that u have with your BF..

get married where ur parents want you to marry BUT keep the BF on the side...it'll be a win-win for ALL :D

That’s a typical & common behaviour of almost all desi parents.

Grrrrr :smack:

that is true.. life is not a joke and you shouldn't be treating it like a joke... ur parents are the only well-wishers you have got and they know in and out of you, they have raised you healthy and looked after you all these years... and now when they are making another decision based on their experience and maturity, you the person who have BF ( i don't know if you sleep with him or not) and not seen much in the life, do not know how does the so called GENIUS and SYMPATHETIC world is going to treat you once you are on your own ( that is parents aren't there anymore to look after you) then your this so-called pondi.baaz lover/bf who should be concentrating on his studies wouldn't be there for you...

Analyze the situation...

Why would your parents going to marry you with someone who they know is not good for you??? they are not selling you out? they are not marrying you to 50+ years old guy to settle their debt? they are not forcing you to marry to someone who already have wives?? so whats wrong???

the only problem with him is, he is your cousin, he have completed his study and have got job compare to someone who is in college... well what should i say more

You know your BF for how many days, 1 year , 2 years , 3 years??? and you knew your parents for how many years?? you meet your BF for 1 or 2 or 3 hours a day at max and your live with your parents rest of the time... who knows and understand you better

It may sound offensive, but if you are not sleeping with him and there is no physical relationship like kissing and touching, tell him you have decided that he not going to touch you until he completes his studies and get a decent job... i am sure, he'll move away from you.. that is the love you are preferring our unconditional love of your parents...

you are not the BF in discussion??? are you??? this is dream of any BF.. sex without commitments

^ But what should a person do if you don’t like the person you are supposed to get married to!? :hmmm:

^^
when i was kid, i didn't like the injections and medicine and other things as well, my parents imposed it on me and now i stand healthy, had they given up to my demands saying ok, if you don't like medicine, i shouldn't have it.. then i think i might have been dead by now..

same goes to school and college life, i didn't like it at all, lots of studies compare to hangout with friends was like a nightmare... but was forced and pressurized by parents and i am grateful to them for their unconditional care for me

there are plenty things we don't like yet it is good for us ( as stated in Quran also, there are thing which you don't like but are good for you and there are thing you like but are not good for u), same is the case here, life is not 3 hours bollywood movie...

^If she doesn't want to marry him she doesn't have to.. whatever the reasonAnd no, parents don't always have their kids best interests at heart when it comes to marriage, u only have to read some of the horror stories on here to see that..

Dunno why you quoted the Qur'an to try and support ur point in this case when it's clear she has the right to say 'no' if she doesn't want to go ahead..