My official stance on burqas

Re: My official stance on burqas

Yes 1 Worked In Ksa, Most Saudis Are Racist And Facist But The Govt Has Done A Lot Of Good Things For Their People In General.

Why is this your stance on burqas? Why not on clothing in general?? I mean, why not shed all your clothes? Shouldn't guys and girls be able to control themselves, even if no one's wearing any clothes at all? Wouldn't that be the best, lets elevate our society to a level where we dont have any oglers and then walk around naked?

Expensive boutique? Just because of the reactions of some stupid people, one can’t change the way she looks. Forget the expensive boutiques, talk about the whole Clifton/Defense area, these people make u feel like alien. The way they stare at you, it’s just dumb. They cant stand a girl who is wearing a single scarf, abaya ki to baat hi kya hai!! They make you feel like jaahil.I hate these kinda zehnyat wale loag!! Talk about superiority complex. Attention or no attention; I give a damn!! who is doing it for attention anyway? You’re wrong if you hate wearing chadar but you do it whenever you come here. Aaj kal tou Karachi girls are on top of the world!! Visit Karachi and you’ll find out. I am sure you won’t even wear dupatta, chaddar duur ki baat hai

Quite on the contrary, its their inferiority complex…no matter how hard they try they are not Anglo-Saxons, yet they look down upon on those who, despite obvious biological and physiological limitations, fail to emulate the Gora Sahibs…This only spells inferiority complex to me…

^Ditto!

err....why u guys skipped Lahore and Islamabad from the list Mindless and Joseph ji? U'll find worser examples there too.

ps. Mindlesssssssssssss....long time no see :)

DB :) how have you been?

I skipped other cities 'cuz I live in Karachi so I better know the current environment of our Islamic Republic of Pakistan's biggest city you know.

^ excuse me???

Lahore has always produced nothing but the angels, angelics, or angel-likes. :rolleyes: The men from Lahore also have various other characteristics beyond as such but due to limited cyber-space can’t be fully related here.

^My long time no see Rare stone in a batch ROman....finaly! How u've been eh?
Ok excused you are...but don't be rattlin shatlin at me u old man...me talks always from first hand encounters.

Gotcha! :slight_smile: Somehow why on earth did I always thought u living in south pole.

DB, just because now you have surpassed the kindergarten stage doesn’t mean you should be tellin us the rattlin shattlin. I think you were thinking about your little country called Saudia Arabia when talking about Lahore. :smooth:

Since when did u moved to lahore Roman?

DB, Lahore was almost named after me in a way or two. I don’t have to live in Lahore to know Lahore. Lahore lives in me. :smooth:

^lol like I said...it'd do u plenty of good if u come out of that crabby shell of urs to whif in the fresh air once in a blue moon :p

i support burkas…we should keep our ugly women covered ..the prettier ones can wear tight-ass jeans and other slutty clothes..:jhanda:

my personal viewpoint on the burqa is that it needs to be done away with once and for all. the reason i say this is that times change and society changes. the burqa used to be a good viable option for women in the olden times because of the way society used to be at that time. in the 21st century the burqa/ practise of concealing your face or head is just plain silly..doesnt make logical sense!
i'm not sayin that women shud wear revealing explicit clothes or anything(although if they wish, they shudnt be stopped or anything)...it comes down to personal choice and common sense. for example...i'm sure in a crowded marketplace in karachi...a women will hav the commonsense as to not wear revealing clothing...but on a californian beach or some such place.....if she wants to wear it, its perfectly fine.
some people say things like, the burqa prevents rape as the rapists can't lust after seeing the womens face. that is just utter BULL****!!!!.
rape is a totally different issue altogether. no sane man will ever do it. as a counsellor, i have interacted with rapists and rape vitims both. and i know that the ones who commit this hienious crime have got psychological problems such as a troubled past/childhood experiences/ loneliness/revenge/having undergone molestation or being in the company of people with social disorders. that is the cause for rape and not the burqa.
all in all, its an outdated practise that needs to be done away with, looking at the present day reality.

My personal point of view is that I appreciate and respect the burqa as well as the women who choose to wear it.

What I find ridiculous are those women (and men) who claim to promote women's freedom and they themselves are not ready to let other women decide what the burqa, hijab etc symbolizes for them. Instead they try to force their view of the subject on others i.e. "If a woman is covering herself, it's symbolizes oppression, therefore women shouldn't be allowed to cover themselves..."

I encountered one such woman at the airport a couple of months ago. My wife (who wears the burqa, Alhamdulillah) and I were taking our luggage off the caroussel, minding our own business. All of a sudden, this woman comes out of nowhere and starts complaining to me about how i'm insulting the women of this country (Canada). It took me a while to realize what she was talking about. At first I thought I might have unknowingly done something obscene in front of her for a moment. The thought also crossed my mind that maybe she was upset that I didn't help her lift her heavy bag(s). After a few seconds, I realized what she meant. Anyway, I just let her talk and didn't bother to reply. Then she added something about how the women in Canada fought hard for their rights. I still didn't bother to say anything back to her. Then she just walked away, mumbling something to herself.

I am Alhamdulillah, very happy to say that according to my experience, this type has been a very small minority, and I believe that my chances of encountering someone like that again are very slim. Alhamdulillah everyone else we had to deal with was very respectful and understanding about it.

By which standard? Saudi? Boo freaking hoo…saudi women get bloody well driven by their bengali drivers all over the place…not a big deal. Insofar as I know, the restriction is unique to that rich-person, odd-ball society…

Terrible Guy,

I would have told that witch to f*ck off...whores have no right dictating mores. You're not a "terrible guy" at all...much more patient than I.

Abay, what are you guys talking about? With the ozone going the way it is we'll all be wearing Burqa's soon.

Hell, I think it's time we go Taliban 2.0...have bullet proof, air condition burqas with built in exoskeletons that give women 10 times the strength of men and the ability to fly. All our sisters should be like superwomen to beat the living tar out of racist goray bigots (and only the bigots...lot's of open minded people here mind you) who dare challenge the way they dress.

Hmm...come to think of it, this is in keeping with the alleged spirit of the Burqa anyway...

Well, I first thought of saying something back but later on decided that she wasn’t worth it. My wife says she got even more angry at my ignoring her. If I really had to say something, “Security!!! This woman’s harassing me!!!” would have been a nice option.:slight_smile: