My marriage.....

I have been married 11 months now through an arranged marriage. Our engagement period lasted 9 months. My mil and sil tried breaking our engagement by a combination of : false accusation for which they later apologized, delaying the wedding to infinity to ensure my youngest sil’s husband was able to attend the wedding (though he never came to the wedding), persisting on deciding the meher themselves and comparing each and every event to that of my sil’s wedding (they set xyz as an amount for their daughter, hence we should also agree to the same amount). My engagement was broken and refixed after my mil apologized to my mom. They said the misunderstanding was created by an “unknown” person. His/her identity was never revealed till date; the matter was dusted in the interest of making the marriage happen. So we were married.

My husband’s role throughout the engagement period was not the least of what I expected/ desired from a man. He admitted his parent’s fault and assured my parents to keep my happy. He seemed like the helpless, good-hearted person who was ready to take my side in fairness of any difficult situation that I could be put into after marriage. He told my parents in reassurance (was not asked) to take a separate home if the need arose and if I couldn’t adjust into the family.

Our marriage: is a bunch of lies. My husband lied about his financial condition. He was financially dependant, had taken a huge loan, and had no savings to fund his wedding expenses when we got married. His 9-year earnings were given to his parents. They haven’t told where that money has disappeared. My husband admits to me in private of his fault and his parents for excluding him of the right to his own money. What can he do about it? Nothing. He is looking out for different job, since both fil and hubby work together in the same firm and coz ive been pushing him to change his work. His dad keeps a track on his mails, credit card notifications etc.

Sils have been either bad or indifferent to me. Ive fought with my hubby so many times for their cold attitude….they’ve been mean indirectly and have interfered in so many things even after marriage. I am so full of hatred for them, first they tried ruining the marriage from happening and they have the momentum going

I’ve had huge fights with my husband….I feel cheated, am hurt and our latest fights have been intense…I work full-time, and my husband dislikes it. He initially wanted me to quit work, but now since he’s told me abt his financial condition he wants me to continue till he finds a good job. My mil is very typical and resentful of my work though she has never stated that openly. She brags about her culinary skills and to her work means home. The perception is of course different for their own daughters. My husband has extremely rigid perceptions. He has changed drastically to wht he promised. He is unbelievingly irrational and immature. Like he wants the blanket to be folded double when he comes home for lunch; I quickly do a single-fold in the morning and rush for work. When I reach home in the eve he by then has already done the blanket but he would make sure to taunt me for not folding it in our next fight. He gets easily irritated for the smallest of things, and I am not appreciated for whatever I do. He is just not what he portrayed about himself

I am personally very organized and hate to see anything out of place. He makes me feel bad n tries to prove that I am a bad wife over a blanket though when I come home after staying at my parents’, the room is in complete mess. He tells me to talk to his parents, which I already do. My mil n fil are bricks when I talk. Ive always initiated conversations and they don’t go beyond 2-3 sentences!!! I’ve absolutely no respect at home n feel bad about their treatment. Worst, I resent them for treating their son like crap!!!

My fights have taken a toll on our relationship. We’ve fought more than 9 times out of 10 coz of his parents n sils.

I need your honest advice as my marriage has been so badly affected by all of this. Recently he insulted me in front of his dad, and I feel since that day things have changed for the worse. MIL and FIL have started to taunt openly. My husband recently complained to my dad that I don’t do “khidmat” for him let alone his parents. I deeply resent them and feel I shouldn’t have married a guy whose family accused my parents…. I am so hurt and quiet that if one day I feel I would burst on them and that would be the end of all of this…..I am deeply depressed n regret standing up for a husband who can’t stand up for himself…I feel my husband is abnormal and shameless and has some kind of disorder. I can’t believe this has happened to me

Please, please tell me where I have been wrong besides having committed the mistake of knowingly marrying a guy who couldn’t stand up for his own marriage…..please advise how I can save my marriage…

Re: My marriage.....

Hmmm....don't be offended and you've already stated it but WHY did you marry him first place especially when they had broken the engagement and so many things had happened during the engagement period? Shouldn't that have rung a bell in your head that maybe they won't treat you well after shaadi? Plus don't believe in promises guys make. Most of them never stick with it.

Is there a possibility that you and him could get a seperate house? I mean a house of your own so that you'd be away from the ILs?

I think the only question you have to ask yourself is do you love your husband and do you want to spend the rest of your life with him?

if so, there are many ways you can deal with some of the crap thats coming your way and learn to manage them effectively for the sake of the man you love.

Many of us go through lots of complications when newly married, after all its usually the girls that have to do with most of the adjustment.

My personal opinion has always been if anything in life is meant to be (like impending marraiges) then it should all go smoothly, however in your unfortunate case it seems as if it was showing signs of doom right from the engagement.

But don't let that put you off if you feel your marriage is worth working for, and it is continuos hard work, even for those of us who don't have all the added **** you have. If not, don't waste your life, end it sooner rather than later

Fingirl:

Was yours a love marriage? or arranged?

Both of you were from the same locality? (Just to understand your situation, since same town area and love marriage or long engagement period gives enough time to know a family - and not just the individual).

If you knew the family were the way they are - then it would be difficult and you would be "stuck" in this situation. The only way out would be at least giving it a "second chance" by forgetting and forgiving EVERYTHING and starting all over.... but that's tough

I can understand your frustration.
However, no one can help you other then yourself.
First of all, ask your self if you love this guy? If you want to spend your life with him? See ILs you can get rid of however husband will be the same guy he is now.

First of all, Instead of fighting with him about what his parents are saying to you. Don't fight with him on things that his parents or sis did. Instead learn to ignore. He likes the double fold. Make sure you do the double fold.. Guys hates it when girls keeps fighting and nagging. So learn to pick your battles. Don't fight one every single wrong things. learn to ignore and only fight on something that is very huge this way when you fight it would be worth it. Not both people arguing back and forth every single time.
Show your hubby that you care for him and want him to be independent. Dont force anything thou. I understand you working is important so you guys can move out; however, don't expect them to support you in this or help you.

If your decision is to stick with this guy then first kill this tension between you two. I know it's hard to be normal when people are taunting you. But try.
Husbands dont want a wife that is upto challenge them. They would rather have a soft side for the sweet weak one who is Oh so very innocent. If you have to play that role. Do it. The more you try to show him that you are smarter then him and he is just immature the more rude and hateful he is gonna become.

One more thing, Why does his parents don't like you since it is an arranged marriage. Find out about that first.

Girl, its all up to you and how you play it. Your husband is not going to change nor his parents. So its time for you to decide.

Im sorry but a marriage should not be THIS hard, its usually like 60/40, 40 being the man when it comes to making a marriage work, which is fine. But your relationship sounds like a 90/10, which unless he's willing to change in the next year or so, this marriage is not worth it!

and whats the other side of the picture? be sure to tell both sides to get any useful advise. There just cant be one side of it.

Wow. More reasons not to marry Pakistani guys.
He sounds unstable. How inbred is his family?

so are you particularly looking for reasons to not marry a Pakistani guy? :)

My sincere advice is think seriously abt where your marriage stands and take a decision, its easier in the beginning but once u get pregnant or have a baby and things wont change it would be very hard, no one can judge your situation better than you, you have to decide if you can tolerate this stuff forever or half ur life. My prayers are wid u.

^ i totally agree with u

probably you should try to live alone for a while to see how things works with you and then make a decision.. this is something i regret for not doing.

yeh kaisi advice hai? for example if she feels like she cannot tolerate this for the rest of her life then what is she supposed to do? itni si baaton pe bhaagna kahan ki intelligence hai...you should try to fix your marriage not run away from it...life is full of problems and issues that need solving...running away from them is not the answer....

and marriage is not a game...hum log goray nahin hain...soch samajh k shaadi karo...aur agar shaadi karli hai toh jo bhi ho raha hai uska saamna karo usse suljhaane ki try karo...na k bhaagne ki... aur ek baat sachi hai hota wohi hai jo naseeb mein hota hai allah ka shukar karo it could be a lot worse... and try to fix it...dont run

it blows my mind how easily ppl give advice to a married woman to live alone or to seriously think if she can tolerate this for the rest of her life...it is as if you are giving her advice that if the going gets tough get a divorce...ghar jorrne ki baat kamm hoti hai yahan torrne ki zyada hoti hai,...she is not engaged ...she is married...try to keep that in mind before giving her such advice..

its easy to give such advice...par jab apne pe parrti hai na apni shaadi ki baat aati hai apni marriage ki phir samajh aati hai k jab shaadi ho jaati hai qabul kar liya jaata hai ek dusre ko toh phir aise mashvaron pe amal karna mushkil hi nahin stupid hota hai

Decent chora. - I don't need to look for reasons. The nonsense you men subject women to is obviously evident. Clearly there are compromises to a NORMAL life that need to made to accomodate mommies boys.

I don't wanna say you should get divorced. You made your decisions. This family showed red flags before the marriage which you ignored. There may be more to the story and only you know what you're really going through. But definitely, the picture gets very distorted with a pregnancy so be very careful about contraception until you make a decision.

hey PCG sis...I am sorry if you felt like my comment was directed at you...it wasnt directed at you specifically nor any poster it was directed at all posts with open-ended advice which cud lead the original poster to think that divorce is a viable option which I dont believe it should be...call me old fashioned but i feel like it shouldnt even be the last resort except in extreme cases maybe like wife beaters or something

I think a woman has a right to decide for herself at why threshold she will consider a divorce.

I think it's a viable option if everything else fails. I don't think people should have to wait for physical abuse to leave. What she is describing is over the top emotional abuse.

ok maybe it is but I still feel there are other ways to solve the problem before considering the extreme option of divorce

Yeah of course. Especially if you got into it knowing there could be problems...you owe yourself the chance of making it better at least.

Firstly,

ignore your SILs and their attitude towards you. Forget what your MIL says or what little she says. Who cares if they are bricks and dont talk much... maybe they just dont have much to talk about.... A lot of people are like that

Dont worry about your SILs or watever. Focus on just you and your husband. Go out alone and talk about stuff... have you two had any time on your own away from inlaws and your own parents?

Dont think about leaving and divorcing at this stage.... these things happen. Ive seen them happen and they can be worked on. Only when you think leaving is the only solution, then you will see your marriage aint going anywhere.

You need to be positive about making it work. You need to shut out anything to do with your inlaws and focus on your marriage, and on 'US' (as in the hubz and you).

clothesmad...i can't decide if it's worth working for....like when i have fight with him i feel resposible n regret marrying him...post-fight when evrything is slightly calm i feel like putting up with all the crap and dream of a better future...exactly how i felt during my engagement but back then i wasn't aware of his financial condition/lies, etc...

I honestly dont know what is stopping me from taking a decision...everything is so clouded....i never ever ever thought of being in a position to think about divorce....m so unfortunate, n still don't know what to make from my life...

My parents know exactly what i am going through.....m so unfortunate to give them pain....they did all the hardwork, even accepted to agree to the marriage after all the accusations n all that just for me....i know they are deeply hurt inside but they tell me to think about my future..they just want me to be happy if that even means putting up with this marriage...