My in-laws are judging me.

Whenever I visit them, it seems like all of them are observing me, noticing my every move and mood. They don’t like the way I dress or my preference for music or the kind of food I like. I bet they laugh behind my back because I put ketchup in/on everything. Last time I got a comment on my chapals and the one before on my exceptionally long hair. Most probably they talk about my sanwalee skin … Ok KALI skin and as I probably do have an accent the younger ones find it very funny.

But you know what? I DON’T CARE. The last time one of them tried to find out how much I make, I told them enough to keep me happy. When they enquired about studies, I told them knowledge is a lifetime struggle. None of their nosy comments bother me a bit. It is one of those cultural things you learn to live with. And I believe most men have never thought twice about such questions or keen observations.

Now, why is nosy judging in-laws such an issue with desi women?

Re: My in-laws are judging me.

It doesn't bother you cause you don't live with them. If you did, you would understand desi women and their in-law issues.

Can i see a picture please so i can judge you based upon that :) :D

Um, it is a valid argument that frequency of nosiness might be a factor but I know women who live in another country and still complain about their in-laws asking too many questions when they visit.

What has my salary, hair, accent, outlook gotta do with you? I can't sit with people who discuss these things. I am surprised you were not offended

ok now on a more serious note...

Just imagine living with them 24/7... see men dont realize what women have to go thru. Especially if her in-laws are like yours. It would be like hell.

Why do you think they feel this way about you? didn't they see you when you were getting married to their daughter, your looks, style , taste should not even be an issue at this point?? Although some people are just very happy to please.. if you are happy the way you are and your wife is happy thats all that should matter. :)

It is a desi thing...I have my aunt and uncle visiting from India. They feel no hesitation within 5 minutes of our first meeting asking " so..You must be getting a good package" I said, "package"? "haan.." they reply... "kitney miljaate hain finance mein?...apney cousin koh koi posting karvaadey apni compny mein"..

Usually after these conversations, I ask them to send me their kid's resume and once received I proceed to pose questions to my couin, so what makes you want to enter hte world of banking, what is your experience etc etc...to which I am often told.."joh bhi miljata hay Theek hai"

I promptly tell him that he needs to do anothr advanced degree a phd in something or another because he is not ready to grow up.

^ true enough

I put ketchup on everything also. :)

what were they like when u got married?or when you first met them?

its a desi thing i reckon... i usually ignore such things too. Well my inlaws are sweet people so ive not heard anything from them... but i guess we just gotta grow a back bone and tolerate such remarks..

^ agree

i dont like ketchup

^ But it’s not abt katch up …its abt Inlaws, judging n questioning a “masoom damad”

wesay… how shooooooooooooo weeeeeeeeeeeeeet. :smiley: (an innocent damad Ji complaining)

:blush:

So, ajee, how much do you make?

And that watch, how much did you pay for it? eh eh? :smokin:

Backbone would be to tell the other person not to intrude in your privacy. Tolerating such behaviour is rather submissive.

Ahmadjee... ab aap baray ho jayein.... ketchup in everything? Eeewww!

hmm true..

maybe what my mum taught me was wrong.. hmm

haha ab aap bhaRi ho gai hain..start rationalizing yourself :-) You don't let ppl run all over you, nobody taught me that :-p
Respecting other's space and privacy is simple courtesy.

^ hehe.. i get that allll the time ---> "dont let people run over u silly!"

i call it, ignoring... haha