My experiment - Ras malai

With some inspirations from suroor and afia’s description of ras malai(in cafe and family forum)..i thought why not i try to make them.. instead of buying them from a mithai shop. So, today i am sharing my experiment of ras malai making.

First i’ll share the recipe then i’ll share the pics..Feel free to try the recipe..if you want :slight_smile:

** Recipe **

• Ingredients: *

Milk powder 1 cup
Baking powder 1/2 tsp and a pinch
Egg 1
Oil 1/2 tsp
Milk 1 litre, fresh
Sugar 4 oz
White cardamoms 4
Pistachios (chopped)

• Method: *

Boil milk with cardamoms and leave it on slow fire until slightly thick. When slightly cool, take off stove and thoroughly mix in sugar. Take powder milk, add baking powder and egg and knead into a dough. Make balls out of it and press between your palms; make as many as you like. Now put one by one in boiling milk (the same milk you had cooked before, put it on medium flame again). Cook for 8 to 10 minutes. You will see the balls with double in size. Shake the pan at intervals. Remove from the fire and let it cool. Keep in the fridge in a serving dish and garnish with finely chopped pista.

Here’s the collection of pics i took while preparing ras malai:

[thumb=B]rasmalai1.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]rasmalai2.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]rasmalai3.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]rasmalai4.JPG[/thumb]

[thumb=B]rasmalai5.JPG[/thumb]

:slight_smile:

looks great :k::yummy:

wah!

meri amma oor bhabie aksar banaati haye,
good that you tried on your own.
it looks really good. :)

Qruis were they soft at the centre? I tried making some once, they looked great intially and then they turned flat :( and I gave up.

Nice stuff Qrius :k:

I was going to post a recipe for ras malai but yours is pretty much close to the way I make it so there’s no need now :slight_smile:

They look delicious Qrius, I'll have to try this recipe out when i get a chance and hope they turn out as good as yours.

my mouth is watering......

Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
Qruis were they soft at the centre? I tried making some once, they **looked great intially and then they turned flat *
:( and I gave up.

Were you making it with Matsui?

:yummy: :yummy: :yummy: :yummy: :yummy:
:mash: great job Qrius baji :hug:

you won't believe after seening this post, I called my ammi ... and u can imagine why .. :D

yum yum!

lolz at sadiaB :D

Zabardast Qrius , great job ....

*Originally posted by funguy: *

Were you making it with Matsui?

Allah karay tum ko kavvaa utha ke le jay manhoos.

Qrius…it really looks nice n yummy :slight_smile:

btw …i always used my gulab jaman recipe for ras malai balls n even though i recently had too much problem with gulab jamans …but funny thing is that for rus malai the same recipe is still doing great :slight_smile:

anyway …great job

now i’m waiting for your next week’s experiment …

:yummy:

:slight_smile:

now i want some too :frowning:

looks yummmmy! :yummy:

• nescio, hanie, Mr. Xtreme, shahree, shirin, irem, mehroo, suroor: * thanks :-)

• femme fatale, * actually they were :-) My mom told me once that when you don't take enough milk for soaking..that's when they go flat..and sometimes its the powder milk that's not suitable.

• SaadiaB: * so did aunty made ras malai for you?

• Afia: * actually this one was from last week experiment..this week i had day off today..so i made gulab jamun..and they are yummy as well :-) Next week i am gonna make rabri inshaAllah..or maybe this week..

:yummy:

Qrius baji please adopt me :crying:

Almost the similar recipe that i use to make rasmalai....Qrius i face the same problem.although the centre of the ball is soft,its colour is darker than the whole outer look :-( And i always think i should have it cooked for a few more minutes.....

:crying: i went some!!!
it looks divine!

wipes drool That looks delicious, Masha’Allah. :k: And the recipe is so easy. :k: i’m going to try it in about half an hour.

A few questions in the meantime - how much is 4 ounces? (Sorry, my metric conversion skills are non-existent). Is using one litre of milk absolutely necessary? Baking powder - you mean just regular baking powder used for cakes, right?

Thanks, Qrius!! :slight_smile: :flower1:

Qrius, taste nodoubt acha ho ga, per ye kuch zayada moti moti rus malaiyan nahee ho gain...:)