My experience with a divorced lady.

Ok basically a lot of people tend to have this viewpoint that “ohhh the poor divorced girl, her husband must have been such a *******, ohh bichari etc…” and I agree, a lot of women do come from that sort of situation. No doubt. However lets not pretend there aren’t 2 sides to every story. Lets not risk holding double standards for men, in terms of blaming them constantly.

What happened with me was that I married this divorced Kashmiri girl who had immigrated here via her ex husband (and gotten divorced in 4 months). I married her because I was trying to follow the example of the prophet, and I thought I would be doing a good deed. Also she use to tell me how her husband was abusive, both mentally and physically, he was cheap, ugly, big belly etc.. and naturally I felt sorry for her. She was 25 , I was 24.

Bad IDEA!!! Soon as I did the nikah with her, oh my god did this girl change!!! I was so freaking shocked by her behavior. First thing she did was she started to put down my relatives. Even though my family is small (just 3 ppl) very educated liberal minded and never interfere with their kids.

They would never say anything to her but just be quiet and smile. My parents are very soft spoken. She wanted me to move far away from them, she told me she’d never visit them etc…SO I moved out into a condo.

I use to spend so much money on her, she’d never be grateful. Always saying, “my ex in laws filled my hands with gold” and “you should put some house in my name” (referring to some rental properties I own jointly with my parents). The whole time I was so shocked because the girl I knew before was soft spoken and kind, yet there was some beast before me now. Like a mask that had fallen off. So nashukri

Eventually she took some money from me and went off to Pakistan to visit her relatives (all expenses paid by me of course). There she started making more demands, and creating more drama. I sent her 3 divorces and was done with it. All lasted 8 months.

Anyway to put a long story shot, I did some investigation on her, and found out that her ex was some nice nerdy guy. She was the one who abused him mentally and he was forced to divorce her.

My point is guys, I know some of you want to be nice and do a good thing, but please always do your research. Find out why the girl got divorced. There must have been a reason. Don’t be “jizbati” and listen to your elders. When my relatives in Pakistan heard about this, they all advised me NOT to marry a divorced girl, however I didn’t listen to anyone. Even my parents here were hesitant, but still supportive.

Also, this is something I didn’t know before, but now I know why men want virgin brides. When you love a girl so much that you want her to be the mother of your kids, the thought of another man touching her and having intercourse with her is VERY PAINFUL!!!

So consider that also. Don’t put yourself through that mental torture. I thought I could handle that, but its too painful. I use to keep that to myself though, but the mental anguish was always there.

Re: My experience with a divorced lady.

This is a very interesting post, very definitely a different perspective on this type of situation. Thanks for sharing. I hope you are able to find a nicer woman to marry, we have a few here on GS and they're all hot.

Hang in there man. Inshallah with time, you'll get over this and find someone who treats you and your family with more care and respect.

Oh I already did, but this time to a real girl, not a freakin "Aurat". I don't want to sound like a ******* chauvinistic male, as I was born and raised in the West...

But so much of what my elders say and advise is true! I have to admit my Grandfather/Uncles was right. I would be lying to myself If I didn't admit that.

My wife now is 6 1/2 years younger than me, she was 19 when I married her, a virgin/non divorced. Its been heaven. No mental or emotional baggage.

I mean I am at a stage in my life where I need to focus on my career and profession, and so are probably most Pakistani/Muslim guys in the West. Nobody needs bs and drama, we get married because we don't want to commit Zina anymore. So we a need a good wife who will take care of things at home, not create bs and cause you mental torture.

^^ oh you are soo gona regret saying this and get shot down :p

OP. It was very brave and rewarding action you did by following the sunnah of the Holy Prophet SAW .. indeed you will get rewarded since your intention was positive. and so like my teacher always said in every sittuation there is two sides to the same coin ... and another he would say .. in a bad sittuation .. the sword can go either way since its double edged ...meaning yesss the larkian are thought to be shareef and saaadi bholi bhali etc but theres always an oposite .. which you experienced and which i know that two sisters in khandaan ..one is as the default is .. shareef sadi bholi bhali etc but the other .. total oposite ..

Thanx for shedding light on this as if there isnt enough light shedding already :p ..issue and making ppl aware to open their eyes and keep an open mind ..

I'm sure not all men are/will be as stupid as u and jump in without getting to know the girl or her background regardless of being a divorcee or not, and vice versa

how do you know a virgin/non divorced girl will not the same thing, like looking down on relatives, asking for money as your ex did??

whether you knew about it or not, she did it with her first husband as well so she was a bad person in general not because she was divorced previously

Yes, its certainly an interesting post. If you search GS you'll find probably hundreds of posts where "men" are defined as the most abusive and "satanic" version of the living beings while nobody cares about the other part of the story. So its good that you brought it up. Women (not all) do tend to switch their "soft" version within no time and leave you in surprise and shock. And yes, the mazedar part is the money thingy. Either they are wives or girl friends, get the money spent over them lavishly and once you stop doing that, you'll be kicked out and replaced with another within no time. :D

Tu nahi aur sahi, aur nahi aur sahi...

however I dont agree with the poster's idea that it happend cuz she was a divorcee, not a virgin. First of all, didnt she do the same with her first husband when she would presumably be "virgin". I think its all about the nature of an individual, nothing to do with their marital status. And remember that nature doesnt change.

Good luck!!

I'm sorry you had a bad experience, and it's great that you are happy in your current marriage...

However, like others have stated, she did those things b/c she was a bad person, your wife is good b/c she's a good person......

Age and marital status have nothing to do with whether a person is good or bad.

^ Agreed. Be wary of making generalizations about people based on single experiences.

If you were born and raised in the West…educated…liberal…meaning no one tied you to this woman like a goat…why would you not have gotten to know her well before marriage? You come from a liberal family that would have allowed you to get to know her. This doesnt make sense. Obviously, you went lattoo over her for something and ignored all the advice being given against this decision of yours. Whose mistake is this? Hers or yours? If your parents sense something wrong and you disregard it because you’re so worried about committing Zinna…then the problem is yours.

And her being divorced and not a virgin has exactly what to do with your lack of better judgement? Do you think your current wife likes knowing you’ve been around the block yourself? No, she probably goes through the same “mental anguish” but doesnt share it with you.

:rolleyes:

i agree with this :k:

i get ur point. in most divorces ppl's sympathies are with ladies who do manipulate with their innocent looks n emotional tacts. so no matter u r marrying a girl or a guy, a single or a divorcee research n advice from elders a must. however if u start asking divorcee's ex spouse/inlaws/relatives be it a male or female u might not get the real story. u tried to do a good deed, although it didn't work u'll get ur rewards in this world or the next.

have you been tested for STD's?

^ My thoughts exactly

The lesson here is not, "watch out for divorced women."

It is, "Don't be a self-righteous guy thinking he's doing someone else a favor by marrying her. Go into marriage sensibly, get to know the person, and use some care when making the most important decision in your life."

Best wishes.

I knew her for 6 months before marrying her, use to take her places . However I made a personal rule to myself that I would never just “use” a Muslim girl and leave her like that. So I then decided that it would be the right thing to do to just marry her. I wanted to give her the honor and respect Islam gives to a woman. As she became very attached to me, and would cry when I was not around.

She was alone in the West, she had no one here. She was living of government support. Just wanted to give her a new life.

So I get blamed for trying to help out a poor divorced girl? Yeah you are right, I was naive and stupid, just wanted to help some Muslim girl living alone in the West. Won’t do it again.

No she doesn’t, she told me she was glad to be with a guy who knew “what he was doing”. Plus she said she would have thought it odd/ or taken me as a liar if I told her I’d never been with any other girl. She just assumed it. I mean lets see, even though we try to be religious if you are a young guy, nice looking, nice car, slick hair, go off to college, you are going to get girls. Fine ones too. Its almost impossible not too. 90% of the time that is how it is. I know its haram but there is just to much temptation, that’s why our religion tells us to marry when we can afford it.

Yeah she gets a little jealous at times, esp if their really pretty and sees them on facebook. However its like a innocent childish kind of jealously, not an extreme mental torture that I use to feel knowing some man had penetrated the potential future mother of my kids. I mean that just makes you feel violated.

Only guys will understand what I mean, women can never get this.

I mean I had girlfriends before, and I never cared for a single second about their past, but man wife, wife is totally different thing. She is going to be your kids mother, your grand kids grandmother, she should be pure. Women are a thing of purity, like hidden gems (as the Quran describes women of paradise).

Even in Western culture, a girl who sleeps with diff guys is ridiculed by her peers and looked down upon, while the boy who could get the most girls is idolized by everyone, and boasts about it. That’s how it works, I never said it was fair.

Well of course, before you marry someone you should always get tested. and yeah Alhamdulliah everything was good, as I was never stupid enough to not be safe.

whether the you marry a divorced or not, you should have done some research...OUT OF CURIOSITY and KILL SOME CATS.

RV, what's your occupation?