Ira I would really recommend that if you are coming to Pak anyway to get your dress made then you might as well look around and see what's avlbl here before making your mind from before becoz believe me you'll see so much amazing stuff in the shops that you'll want to do that.
Also, the done thing these days is to just order your dress through one of the famous designers and they take care of everything from matching shoes, purse etc to the color combo and producing an outfit with the in colors and everything, so why don't you do that? Most of my friends who got married did that. The downside is the cost ofcourse. The good designers take about/around a lakh rupees.
Even then if you want to do it yourself, once you come to Pak, all you need to do is just go to the shops which sell bridal wear and they'll show you all kinds of variety and the shopkeepers themselves will tell you whats in, suitable for weather etc. Its going to be a much better idea to make those decisions then, after making 2/3 rounds of the shops and seeing what is avlbl.
Ira yaar I don't think you should worry about skin tone at all btw. I have seen so many brides of different skin tones look good in so many different colors. As long as you carry off your color well, and your skin makeup is done such that your skin looks smooth, every color should go.
Also shaadi ke waQt dulhan ke moonH pe bohot saari lightein parTi haen so whatever color she wears looks nice.
Wow Sahar, those are awesome pics!!! There are so many different shades of red, I am always amazed at how many different possibilities of red there are.
irem: yaar i know there must be so many different designs, etc. first of all, I dont want to spend a lakh rupees on a dress I am going to wear only once in my lifetime. I think tahts a total waste of money. Plus i think if we shop around, i am sure i will be able to find someone who take care of the matching purse, sh oes etc etc without having to pay a lakh rupees. Also, before i come over, I want to have a certain image in my mind. We arent gonna have enough time to browse a lot of bazaars but I am hoping for the best. Thank you so much for the suggestions though yaar , they are most welcome.
Also, i aint worried abt the skin color bit yet: although i will be once i come back from pak June kay maheenay main pak main rang jal kar kaala hojata hai
Tikhi: yes, i guess when i see the “right” dress, i will know InshaAllah just like I was sure about him
Afia baji i would love to see what you were trying to upload. If you want you can email it to me at my hotmail address.
Ira -- I do agree with Irem. Go there and look around. The photos online were nothing compared to what I saw in stores (clothes with ready-made kaam, as well as those that were specifically designed for the bride). You can find nice, delicate stuff, and it will surpass the photos.
this thread is making me want to get married!! i want a red lenga too :(
i bet its real hard chosing the right one though... i dont really think it matters what u wear and which colour as no one can look as lush as the bride. not even the odd person who comes dressed up in their own wedding lenga as they need to get some usage out of it :D
i hope all u lasses getting married post pictures of ur weddings and u as brides!
Aslaam alaykum everyone hope all is well.. I am a new user i read about this topic and i thought it was great.
so i thought i will join all you creative people.....
sykes