My DIL does not know how to cook

is it ok if i send her back to maika( moms home)?

did u know cooking at the time of ur marriage?

Re: My DIL does not know how to cook

ajj kal ki DIL’s :nahi:

i dont think its appropriate to send her back to her mums house. I could cook but still can not make roti.
its kind of normal nowadays for girls not be able to cook. i know alot of ladies who could not cook when they got married.

I even know someone who cooks very very well; gets praised for her cooking by every one but she only cooks. after cooking she leaves kitchen in such a mess; she never packs her kids toys-they are every where; and finds it hard to clean her house.

so i dont think not being able to cook is an issue. its important for girls to know/manage their household with cooking.

teach her to cook! this issue doesnt even warrant a whole thread.

iss main kon si buri bat hai wo khana nahin paka sakti time do seekh jy gee ek na ek din inshallah

^Seriously? :rolleyes:

I think cooking is a developmental process…it has the potential to get better with time and practice. It’s also a process of trial and error. You make a mistake in measuring…cooking time…flavors…and you learn from those mistakes. As you go along, you modify and make adjustments and experiment…all of which contribute to refining the skills.

What if your DIL’s mom is not a good cook? That’s quite possible too. Should she be sent back to her maika in this case? And let’s assume that she HAD learned to cook well BEFORE the wedding…that still doesn’t guarantee that she’s good at cooking. Also, people vary in their tastes when it comes to cooking. What is delicious to one person could be inedible to another.

Cooking is one aspect of married life…it’s not the be-all/end-all to a relationship. She may be good at other household chores. Or even if she struggles with domestic chores…perhaps she has good character, is compatible with your son, and is not only willing to learn cooking but will also put forth her best in maintaining a healthy marriage.

send her back asap... before she does any more damage.

don't listen to RV. she's making stuff up as usual. either you can cook or you can't - it can neither be learned nor taught. you're born with it. and cooking is indeed the end all be all of marriage/relationships.

so, my advice - send her back and ask for a refund/exchange/store credit. sounds like you got a bad piece.

No.

Cooking is something most girls learn or master after marriage. Before marriage, mom makes food and has her kitchen set up the way she wants. After marriage...agar aap khana nahin pakaogi...to bhookay sojao. So you have to cook.

It can be easily learnt over time and really doesnt make that big of a difference in the overall fabric of a marriage...IMHO.

Alright…let’s think on Samb’s level. If she’s not going to be cooking…she could be spending more time with you, Samb. (Shudders at that image).

With this ^“logic” in mind…it increases your chances of becoming a granny sooner, K337. So, don’t send her back. See, that makes sense. :rolleyes:

Give her a good wack across the head, with all those youtube videos anyone can learn to cook.

Why does the DIL need to know how to cook? How did you eat before she came into the family?

Back in the 70's when my parents married, my mom didn't know how to cook. My dad taught her how to cook over the years. But to be honest, my dad enjoys cooking and even 'til this day, my siblings and I prefer his cooking over hers.

I don't know how to cook. My SO loves to cook and is very good at it. He has taught me a few dishes and I plan on learning more from him as time goes by. But he hates to clean and I love it. So usually that's how we "split" the kitchen duties...he cooks but I do all the cleaning.

If she is loving and obedient daughter, YOU cook for her and also train her gradually.

Kya aap sirf khanay aur baaton ke liye hain :)

Pingo why don’t you start cooking and let her suffer eating your food :cb:

Extra chamach of salt in her plate . . . whooooppsssssss :wink:

Woho. Is this a joke? U hopefuly brought in your dil as part of your family not as a cook. Not saying that there is anything wrong if she cooks but give her time. There is a right way of everything so the mil can cook and ask her to give you company this way she wl learn and you two can spend time together.

agree, well said :slight_smile:

even if you know how to cook, sometimes when you go into a new house with a new family it seems totally different....cuz their way of cooking is totally different....hence even if you know how to cook, you still need to do abit of learning etc....and cooking improves with time...its not hard at all....and shouldnt be made such a big deal about...some people learn faster than others...just give them time :)

Oh the western Culture …Islamic Teachings to ham mein hai hi nahi ..So unfortunate .. Islam Ki kia zaroorat thi .. with this sorta culture in existence no one learns .. tab hi to Islam ki dhajiyaN uraaee jaa rahi hain ..cos Muslims cant follow their own religion propperly .. and Muslims talk about propagating Islam to non Muslims :smack:

I agree with Roshni.

Cooking is not a rocket science it can be mastered after marriage too. Most of the girls these days are occupied with studies & job before they get married and do not get much involved in cooking. I knew someone who loves boasting about her cooking skills yet her kitchen is full of cockroaches , when she fries something she puts it on newpaper for the oil to be absorbed …..this har fan mola still does not know that news paper ink contains lead and it can get into your food and it’s very bad for the health :smack: srif cooking ana hi achi baat nahi hoti over all ghar manage karna is the key and that can be learned afterwards.

double post