My desi family

Long time no gupshup. Once again I turn to my fellow guppies in need for some advice and insight on stupid lil things. Fine! You caught me I JUST need to vent.

Life has been taking a lot of wrong turns lately. Over the years I’ve become very distant and detached from immediate family. My life now only revolves around my studies, my group of friends from university, my parents who I hardly see all day and paindo pathan.

Before summer started, I had my finals, which all together with my personal life was just a bad, dark episode of asthma attacks, depression, drugs (sedatives so I could sleep), intense smoking, and a year-long syllabus to study for. I went through major weight variances, fat, thin, super fat, normal. My diet increased enormously. I can’t study empty stomach, and also needed to free my mind of off things. So, I would just keep munching on and on to escape. Exams are passed on coffee, garam garam chai ka maga (every 20 mins), munchies, candies, peanutbutterjelly sandwiches, roti with achar, Rite kay bis’coat, rolled paratha with chai. It’s hard to have a fine toned mind and a fine toned body at the same time.

Then summer came, finally got rid of all my bsing from university. And it was time for a big family reunion that only meant MORE depression and asthma attacks. I’ll tell ya’ll why. My siblings came from States, Canada with their spouses and kids. All lovely people, wait, all lovely KIDS, that’s about it. My mom’s sisters came from London with their children. I’d lie if I told you I love them all, because now I really don’t give a tiny rats ass if they all died today. I hate them all, because all my life I’ve seen my parents fight like dogs over each others siblings, “teri bhein nay yeh kaha”, “to tere bhai nay who kaha”. My mom and dad are no angel either, lets face it my mom is the sister of all-them conniving and selfish women I once called Khalas. They are all the same, illiterates from the slums of Chaa’meran. My phopos? I hardly even know their names. We see em once a century. All the children have grown up now, so all the parents start to compare, get jealous, of who has how much, or who is studying what, or who is getting married when. And we muslims call ourselves civilized? Hell NO! We are by far most the worse, idotic, selfish, asses ever created. They all pray, do “Allah-jee, Allah-jee” all day and then turn around gossip about others daughters and use words for them like “ghusti”, and “kanjuri” thinking they sound so funny. This is their idea of fun. They all sit in one room, with chai in one hand and the other hand up peoples assz to gossip.

Now, my OWN siblings. Out of which my eldest brother is “Allah mian ki gaai” who is completely whipped by his wife. She has him by the balls, because that fool has all his property under her name. Shes became even more confident, after bearing a “BETA” as their first child. Khair they are not much of my concerns only their son is, who I would die for any minute, very sweet and blessed child. Im his favorite phopo, I get him the most candy :).

I met my sister after 6 years; she was visiting from Canada with her daughter. Her and I have total opposite personalities. She has turned into one of my Khalas. And for that we had some major fights when she was over here for 2 months, I felt bad at first, but then I realized the fact that I can never in future live with her for more than 2 days. She is the kind of women, who I would never want in my house for more than a week, because then my husband and I would prolly get divorced. She loves to do “lagai bhoojai”. Im glad we don’t live in the same country.

Then comes another one, a guy. Over the course of 6 months, this man has made my life turn upside down. Sometimes I wish I were single again, when he acts like a bitch. But then life would be too boring. I like fighting with him 24 7, I like bitching every single minute. I feel like I have adopted a 13-year-old kid, who always wants attention and candy;). I like being his mommy. My parents seem to like him a lot. My mom especially, only because he’s a med student and drives a hot car, its not even his. It’s his dads. My dad thinks he has small ears. He’s worried if we get married would our kids be blind? We both wear vision glasses. Do I still want to get married to this man, everyone approves off? I really don’t know. Is that good? Or bad? Argh why are men so much trouble?

Now summer is over, back to school, things seem okay. I’ve worked on my weight, its back to perfect, according to my body. Family is gone, and my peace of mind and privacy is back. My 13-year-old kid, is trying to act 24 now, and bought ME candy instead. My parents seem happy now. They sit and stare at the TV, sippin’ on some garam garam chai, without having to say “teri bhein”, “tera bhai”. My result came, I passed everything but math. I got to admit I didn’t study for it, like I should have. But now I am, so lets hope I pass my resit. I have my resit next week, so pray people.

wow. yeh kiya cheez thee.

What a typical desi family. Good luck on your resit.

atleast ur summer was way interestin than mine. Hun life needs a lil spice, n ure seems liek the briyani of it all .. n props to u for bein blunt n realistic, straight forward n honest.. about others n seems liek bout urself too... atleast, for seeing the black as black n the white as white..
hope u do well on the upcomin exam.

Re: My desi family

*Originally posted by LahoriMaharani: *

Life has been taking a lot of wrong turns lately. Over the years I’ve become very distant and detached from immediate family. My life now only revolves around my studies, my group of friends from university, my parents who I hardly see all day and paindo pathan.

who is the paindoo pathan ?

Lahori, how old are you? Just wondering.

As for the extended family, you just have to learn to ignore them. Don't give them any importance if they are incapable of respecting you and your parents.

Have you tried talking to your sister about the issues you have with her? Who knows why she acts the way she does. Maybe she's jealous of you or has some other issues ... you just don't know unless you talk with her about it. You don't seem close considering you hadn't seen each other in six years. Was there any communication at all between you in your time apart? Just keep it to a casual acquaintance until you are both more comfortable with each other. Maybe you just need to get to know each other as people first instead of as "sisters".

There is this added pressure in desi society that you have to get along with all your siblings, especially sisters. I don't know what to say about your brother. If he wants to be a pushover, there isn't much you can do about it.

Good luck with your math exam.

woah :eek: Good for you for having survived all that. :k:

I always thought our elders were better, more mature people, don’t tell me they all turn into materialistic, shallow gossip-mongers. It’s so sad really.

LM, tum pagal ho kiya? There is no fun without these colorful characters and personalities in our immediate or extended family. You just need to learn to lighten up.

LM Hugs you completly dispeared for the longest time :(

I know all that family drama all to well, as long as you don't change who you are and stick to your morals than forget the rest of them. I'm so sick of hearing gossip and such too.

As for the 24 year old, you have to have someone keep you on your toes right.

Best wishes with your exam. Insh"Allah you will do good.

skhan > Typical family, yeah. Typical reply, hell yeah.

devilicious > I learned it the hard way, to be myself and always stand up firm in what I believe. Life sure is all spiced up, but it affects my health alot. I've had more asthma attacks the last couple of months than my whole lifes long combined. The day of my physiology exam, I had this swear panic anxiety attack (which aggrevated my asthma), only because my parents were fighting like crazy and I missed my bus, and got late for my exam. Sigh I wish, I could became more apathetic. Even for my parents.

Fatalist > Paindo Pathan, is my to-be fiancee. But Im still contemplating on whether he is "the one" or not.

Mehnaz > I am 20. I try ignoring my immediate family as much as I can, but I can't ignore my parents fighting cuz of others. I talked out all my issues with my sister, the day she was leaving. I sat down, tried telling her each and everything that bothered me. I dont hate her, its just that, we are totally different. She is 9 years elder than me, a whole wide generation gap. Shes been married for almost 9 and a half years now, I don't blame her for becoming this weird desi aunty, who only eats and gossips all day long. Her married life was hell, before she moved to Canada. Her daughter and I get along really good. She is 8 and a half, her being raised up abroad, I can relate to her in a lot of way.

Catty > It IS SAD indeed.

Roman > Baby if only you were in my life....

Belle > I disappeared cuz the net in Pakiland is total crap, and also caught up in all the above I have written. As for the paindo pathan, I can never be on my toes around him, cuz he is a bit TOO hot lol.

go by my policy whenever i see something happening in my house like my kid bro and sis fighting or my parents arguing over anything i step in and literally starts scolding anyone who comes in to the way. i must say that i am very good at it too i mean my mom really gets scared and she won’t talk about any fazool ider udher ki baatien in front of me and my dad is a sweetheart he is getting all naram as he is getting old so i don’t say anything to him. but yeah i understand what u go through and i would suggest is to take matters in to your own hand like mere ghar mein bekaar ki baatien nahin hongi and then u just need to live up to the reputation ke bhai aa rahe hain sab chup ho jao. mind u here scolding parents doen’t mean ke unn ki jaan nikaldo so much as to let them know what u mean :slight_smile:

PS: Good luck for the exams :k:

so pray people.

May Lord give you strength and patients. All will be good if you ask guidance from Allah. His dad may be rich but purity of heart, love and respect makes a life happy. Think about it. Good Luck!!

BKB Hmm good advice, I would so do that only if I had a penis.

At one end you despise your parents for fighting with each other all the time and then you tell us that you fight with your paindoo pathan 24/7 every minute of it and love doing it.

End of story. Math can kiss my ass.

All lovely people, wait, all lovely KIDS, that’s about it. My mom’s sisters came from London with their children. I’d lie if I told you I love them all, because now I really don’t give a tiny rats ass if they all died today. I hate them all

Have u ever thought of writing poetry? :hehe:

BKB Hmm good advice, I would so do that only if I had a penis.

hmmm never thought like this before :D

*Originally posted by funguy: *
At one end you despise your parents for fighting with each other all the time and then you tell us that you fight with your paindoo pathan 24/7 every minute of it and love doing it.

Well, they're my parents, ofcourse I despise their fights. My fights with paindo pathan, are different though, we dont fight cuz of others. I like them only because I get "lets-make-up-Im-sorry-honey" candy afterwards. Fight all you want before getting married, they all apologise anyways. After marriage, only the woman apologises.

Lm here's a HUG for you, b4 that paindoo can say anything about it.

Welcome back jaanu :kiss:

we all grow through similar stuff.
Just tell you family to stop cussing and shrug the rest off.