Re: My bf wants to convert
Well maybe he wants to convert just so that he can have sex with you. Or he wants to convert at face value. May be he needs a green card.
lol amazing, also teach him that having boyfriends/girlfriends is haraam, and that ur sinning right now, only converting to be get married/for love, and not actually believing is shirk, so in reality u'll still end up marrying a non-muslim.
Indeed Afridi bhai. Having friends of opposite sex is Haraam and do not marry to convert. Sister what should you do is stop thinking about that person regarding love unless your parents are approved to your engagement with that person and get busy amongst your own life. But remember, please attempt your hardest to convert him to Islam and MashaAllah you are willing to. There is no just one way to convert. First, we have to assist that person in different ways and be politeful. Second, get to know his beliefs and compare it with your religion as Wasim bhai said above. Finally, let them know what is right or wrong. Still we should attempt to bring people towards Islam and never give up.
Assalamualaikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatahu 2gd2btrue,
First of all I would like to make clear that the Holy Prophet (saw) forbade a Muslim man from being alone with a strange woman, and forbade a Muslim woman from being alone with a man. The only scinario which allows a Muslim woman to be with a man is if her father or brother or any male relative within the appropriate degrees is accompanying her. That is what was taught to us by the Seal of the Prophets (saw).
But considering the situation that you probably did not know that, or that it was done innocently, not knowing that seeing him alone is Haraam, or unlawful, perhaps its evil is not so great in the sight of the Most merciful Lord.
Secondly, If you want to convert this Hindu into a Muslim, the first source of guidance that you should give him is the Holy Quran, without which the true reality and understanding of the Islamic faith cannot be whole-heartedly believed in.
Also, you should ask him to re-consider converting to the islamic faith in light of his true an inner intention. Do not forget the wise Hadith:
"Deeds are judged by motives. And everyone will be awarded according to what his or her intentions."
Thus if he is converting mainly because he wants to marry you lawfully in light of what the Qur'an teaches, then that marriage will be Haraam, and unacceptable in the sight of Allah. On the other hand if he wishes to convert due to his submission to the truth and his zeal to take the oath of allegiance metaphorically at the hands of the Holy Prophet (saw), and because he is genuinely and sincerely in love with Islam, then and only then will his initiation into the Jamaat of the Seal of the Prophet's (saw) become truly acceptable in the eyes of the Almighty Allah.
I will briefly give you a guidline on how to do Tabligh to your Hinu friend:
First of all the Holy Quran acknowledges the fact that there has not been a township that has not been sent a Messenger from Allah.
It should be born in mind that the status of Krishnah among the Hindu's and the belief held by them about him is almost the same as what the Christians regard and believe Jesus (as) to be.
In a Hadith the Holy Prophet (saw) made mention of an Indian prophet:
"Kaana fil hini nabiyyan aswadal lauwne ismuhu Kaahenaa"
Which means:
"There was an Indian prophet who was dark in complexion and his name was Kahan." ("Taarikh-i-Hamdaan Dailami" Baab-ul-Kaaf. See Pocket book p: 854 by Malik Abdur Rehman Khadim 6th edition Published in 1952."
It is clear from this description of the Holy Prophet (saw) that a prophet appeared in India and was dark in skin color, and anyone aqcuainted with Indian religions would instantly connect this description with that of Krishnah, whose name in snskrit means "the dark one" refferring to his complexion. Whoever Krishna was the Hindu's admit he appeared upon the earth in human form at around 1458 B.C. If you consider this Hadith and study the life of Krishna you will come to conclude that he was undoubtedly a prophet of God.
So you can start with this and show him how the teachings of Islam are truly Universal and are not ignorant of the truth that other religions and faiths might have been Divinely revealed, but where currupted and interpolated through the passage of time.
The main article of belief in Islam is thus:
Laa ilaha illAllah Muhammadur rasoolUllah
There is no diety except Allah and Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah.
The aspect of Allah's unity and of the truth of the prophethood of the Holy Prophet (saw) are the fundamental keys to which one is able to open the doors of understanding about the Universal and Everlasting faith.
But the most important thing to do is to pray and to seek the guidance of Allah Ta'Alaa in this regard and pray this prayer of Abraham:
" O my Lord show me how thou givest ligfe to the dead...that my heart may be at ease." (2:262)
If Allah pleases he will guide Him into accepting and embracing the life of a Muslim with the intention of pleasing Allah, his Creator, and not with the intention of pleasing you.
And Allah guides whomsoever he pleases, and lets go astray whomsoever He pleases, and Allah is not accountable for what he does but we are.
Wassalamualaikum
only Allah can decide that....who are u to say such a thing?
it doesnt matter what made the person convert...even if it is for love. Once they take the Shahadah they are Muslim and you have to treat them as such. You dont know what their intentions are and if they will continue to practice or not....only Allah knows.
Assalam
Conversion into Islam based upon the love of a Muslim women, is not conversion to Islam at all, but is a desperate act of passion and desire for the Muslim woman only and not true love of Allah and His Messenger, Rasoolullah (saw).
But again if the Hindu is converting based upon the attractiveness of Islam and not the attractiveness of Muslim women, only then will his Shahada be accepted by Allah, but even if he does take Shahada based upon the impulse of pleasing and winning the love a woman, even then we cannot call him a Kafir or non-Muslim, for we are not 'AlimulGhaib, i.e. knowers of the unseen. We can only make assertions based upon what wwe have been shown, and from that it seems to me at least that he is not converting with the pure intention of accepting Allah as his Lord, and accepting Muhammad (saw) as the Messenger of God.
I only hope and pray that the Hindu who is seeking to convert, converts solely for the intention of finding truth and abandoning falsehood, otherwise Allah will not reward his allegiance to Islam, unless and until he acts upon the Commandments of the Holy Quran and follows the seblime example of the Holy Prophet (saw) with the utmost of devotion in his heart, what he actually practices is up to Allah to reward, but if he is not sincere in his faith, then his conversion would be that of a vain act.
JazakAllah.
You cannot force someone to convert...not really anyway. Like you can lead a horse to water but you cannot make it drink....Believe me if you will lead a good example he will eventually follow and from the heart. Right now if he does convert you will always be in doubt whether he is a true convert...you will never know. I know a believing woman cannot marry a non-believer...but why force him .... is it for society's sake. Please believe me when I say let him be and eventually....if you lead a good example he will convert. Let there be no compulsion in religion....why convert just to make an addition to islam? Let him do it from his heart or not at all. You will end up in bigger problems later on in your life.
So he told me dat..he cannot lose me..& so he is willing to convert in order to marry me. I was shocked…but I know once he says something..he wud do it. So perhaps he wud be another edition to the muslim society..Inshallah
I know he wants to convert becuz of me…but I want him to embrace Islam first before he embraces me.I wanna take him into Islam slowly before we do anything major like convertion…u know get the basics first perhaps. He doesn’t have too much time in his hand…from sch he has to go to work. For a start I gave him this book to read..its called God & Man ( Questions and Answers
So wat I wanna ask you guys is…what do I do in order to teach him more abt islam? I don’t know how to start…what shud the first step be?
Hs conversion should not be to marry you. Conversion should be from the bottom of heart, not for worldly things including marriage, se*, social interaction.
All these forms of conversions are munafiqat (show off, posing).
It is a funny thread.
Why do you care now if he converts or not, you were not bothered about this in the begining.
What happened in between.
How can you be 100% sure he is converting by his own conviction and not for selfish reason e.g. having you.
Why a sudden change of plan of not seeing him anymore because he is non muslim. To me it looks like you are forcing him to convert by refusing to see him anymore, so he can stay with you.
You are a seriously mixed up woman.
look guys, i am telling u...he wants to convert BECUZ OF ME. I know dat. I never denied it. If his convertion was the ONLY thing dat mattered to me...i wud have had him converted the very nexy day. but no.
like i said...i want him to embrace islam first before he embraces me. i want him to learn abt islam...love the religion...& if he has faith...only then convert.
And thanks angel eyes, bringing him to the mosque is a good idea. i think i wud do just dat. THANK YOU!
and s*onyak*....i know i shud set a good example...but i dont know where to begin from?
You've been dating for 7 months and haven't embraced him yet?
why is it so hard to believe?
Without going into the problem of you dating someone, and that too a hindu, you should have your boyfriend register here and we can all try to stop him from being a pagan and have him convert to the one true faith. Hippies like lightbearer and sonyak shouldn't get involved in this.
Dont ever think about that. There are kind of point of views here. One small mistake by someone and he would be on his way bak…
Roger that light bearer :k:
I love your responses. You seem like a real light bearer.
To add to your comments,
These people who discuss their prayers, their fasts, and now who want to convert others by claiming to motivate them and influence them think they can make Allah fool like us (naoozo billah).
They need to realize,
Wallaho khairul makreen.
Allah knows whats inside our hearts more than ourselves ![]()
halt any relations with him right away. send him to the local masjid and have him learn islam.
once he is ready to accept islam, you may proceed.
Very smart and pious of you to start calling names. Where did you learn this; from a m0llah.
I can also start giving you names but sorry bro I am not m0llah enough.
Assalamoaliekum,
I am new to this forum, i've seen this thread and at first sight i was shoked to see the Subject.
First of all having a BF is itself a big question mark in Islam....r we dat much ignorant abt our religion...
2ndly the BF is a non-muslim.... that is too much
3rdly... lets say you have a relation wd hm for atleast 7 months and nw he wana convert then we should look into the reason. wether he is converting because Islam has inspired hm or the way of Islamic Society (Which is unfortunately nt existing) inspires him.
Either he is fedup of his Fake Religion and he has seen something special in Islam or he is just convertin because he dsnt wana lose u?
Honestly think over it...
Apart from all above if u wana convert some one towards the Islam, then its, like one of my brothers said in the Prevoius threads, is the Aqeeda, that is Tauheed Vs Shirk. This is the base from where u can start. Like the Prophet (SAW) started His Dawa Campaign wd the same base.
If he'll get convinced then u dnt need to tell hm abt the Social, economic or scientific matters of Islam and Quran. The quran elaborates all this to teach abt the Tauheed. This matter is the only thing frm where u can start on. Reffer him to some Gd scholar who can answer his Questions on Tauheed and who can also provide him gd stuff over it. Also there are a lot of books on the lifes of New-Muslims. u can hve them from the Local Islamic Book Center or even from the Net.
and last bt nt the least......... having BF is purely Haram. If u wana make him a gd muslim then make urself that much strong that he may think abt the Islamic values. the Moderate Muslim(So-called Muslims) and the ppl like your BF are of the same catogary. Hvng Kalima in your pockets doesnt grant u the Certificate of a true Muslim.
its a brotherly advice to avoid meeting hm untill he becomes clear abt Islam and untill u urself clear ur own misconceptions abt Islam.
This is my first visit to any of the Forums on Gup Shup... there fore no offences.
Wasalm,
Setting a good example.... begin firstly by not even talking about conversion.....becos in my experience you would be winding him up. If I had to convince someone to believe in my beliefs, I would not be stressing myself or that other person. If you are calm and happy with yourself, I would believe that you are onto something good. You cannot convince someone by ramming things down their throat. Be and show that you are happy with your religion. Imagine the scenario the other way round.... what would you require to see before you could even imagine converting your faith that you have lived with all your life? He would probably require that too. Also, an added thought, Islam is a very disciplined religion...prayers, fasting, the way of life are all defined for you. It is difficult...but not impossible...to adapt. On top of that, you have to fight off the pre-concieved image of a muslim....today it is not easy to convince someone to convert to Islam.
I personally don't think that mixed marriages can work out very well esp if either or both are concerned about religion. Think about this very long and hard...Love can become stronger or weaker later on, and if this is what you are basing your marriage on then it is highly unreliable. How are his family going to react to him converting and are you family repared to accept him? Be practical now and thrash out all these points before committment..please. You need family and friends support.
PS I am also a convert from marriage and I would like to recommend two books I have read and am reading ....The Bible Quran and Sciene by Maurice Bucaille and The Unifying Theory of Everything: Koran and Natures Testimony Muhammad Asadi (sorry if titles are little mixed up) They will give both of you an objective guidance and maybe he can decide after that what is the right thing to do.
You may be doing the right thing if he converts...but then again you may be doing him a huge disfavour by confusing him later on in life when reality hits home! As you say the conversion is not the only thing that matters to you so there is no hurry to convert...the day he is convinced he will be a true Muslim!
Again Sorry if I repeat myself...from the bottom of my heart I wish you all the best. It is difficult to be practical at this point but I urge you both to think things through as though you have been married 5-10 yrs already and the scenario at that time...kids involved...makes it tricky whether you have converted or not.
Thank you Syed A forputting me in the same league as Light Bearer for I have greatly admired his posts!
BTW were you born a Muslim? Or perhaps you have conerted? And if yes do you have an inkling of what conversion involves?!