My Aapi's wedding clothes n jewellery..

Huma ur sister looks beautiful mA esp on the baraat day.

imaani studio in manchester sells pakistani designer wedding clothes. mongas in southall has awesome stuff too, although im not sure if they are classed as 'designer'

Re: My Aapi's wedding clothes n jewellery..

PLEASE read my post again. i said i didnt even KNOW about designer stuff they all look the same. Then poddy said they r VERY different indeed. so i said where wud i find them to see the difference. she said lahore. now lipstick says manchester which is more ideal. i've heard of imaani i will go n check her out soon.

well did u see how i str8 away said to you that ur sisters walima outfit was gorjus. now u jus said thats designer i neva knew that. but to me tht one stood out the most. So yeah i guess that prooves that designer is better?

lol I dunno girl... all i know is that u should wear what u feel is the best for u .. designer or non-designer, just make sure it makes u feel happy on ur big day.

The only reason i started this thread was to let girls like yourself know that it is possible to have a gorgeous outfit even without spending 3 lakh and going to a top designer..

hope it helped..

Hunni, i didnt even know there was designer outfits in pakistan/indian bridal wear. lol when i told my boyfriend he didnt believe me. lol i didnt even know either. but yeah ur right if it looks good who cares how much it costs etc . but everyone wants to look good on their wedding day. :) we'll see what happens. It gets more n more confusing everyday this wedding stuff!

^ I understand, it wasn't even my wedding and I was soooooo confused n all over the place for my sister's wedding (thinking what I'm gonna be like on my own wedding!!)

I'm surprised u didn't know about designer stuff in pakistan. Pakistani designers make millions upon millions every day!

Anyways, do go shopping in bazaars, one of my cousins got her wedding dress from a shop in lahore for 1 lakh! So its not like ur only gonna find cheap things in bazaars. You will find dresses in these shops that go up to 4-5 lakh!!!

Huma - your aapi looked so beautiful and it must have brought you so much happiness to see her looking like a dulhan!!! :D

Thank you for posting this thread. I fully understand the meaning behind it ... it's so easy to get all caught up in spending loads and being obsessive over designer stuff ...this was a good reality check.

As long as the bride loves her outfit and feels stunning on her day - that is what counts. Designer stuff and spending loads does not dictate this. :) InshAllah, when I start my shaadi shopping in the near future, I will be considering both designer and non-designer outfits and basing my final decisions on how much I like hte outfit and how much it suits me.

Oh PunjabiRose, you just hit the bull’s eye yaar !!! :sara:

That was exactly why I started this thread!

And thanks for the compliments , yes, I was in tears when I saw aapi all dressed up!

baraat outfit:

chose the colours and bought the materials myself (except the gharaara which was my mothers)

chose the kaam from palki boutique in liberty (yes liberty...even though someone said do not go to liberty...i recommend it...you have to search but u can find something perfect for you)

valeema outfit:

once again chose the colours, material and kaam myself...designed the lehnga etc myself ...had it made from instyle sarees a boutique in rabi center, tariq road, in karachi

i guess u could call me valeema outfit and my baraat outfit (except the gharaara which was my mothers, but i had additional kaam done on it) designer...in the sense that i envisioned something and had it made...but it isnt like maria b or hsy or something and they were not overly expensive..definitely not even 1 lakh

so i totally am a firm believer in the fact that u can get a wonderful bridal that may be even better than designers at a fraction of the price u wud spend if u went designer

llxxll u look so cute in the first picture, they way ur holding ur hubby's hand!

And I'm soo gonna be bothering u for ideas etc. , HOW did u design that valima dress?? I'm being completely honest, it looks so professional!

I have already remarked on your dresses in another thread, but I'm going to compliment you again on your outfits!!! They are well deserved compliments :) mA you did a lovely jobs designing your outfits.

Where did you get your makeup done from?????? It is SO SO suiting on both days. :D I especially luv your Valeema makeup.

aww hehe thanks..actually my cousin told him…aap jaake meri behen ka haath pakkrrenge please? and my husband came to grab my hand and lead me to the stage lol

and yes you can bother me for ideas anytime …the valeema dress was a huge vision i wanted to do everything with that dress since i was pretty limited with what i could do on my baraat dress you know since it was my mother’s gharaara so the only way i could make the barat dress my own was with extra kaam and a totally new shirt and dupatta,

so for that one my vision was that the coul of the shirt should be different than the gharaara and the dupatta and the colour of the dupatta should be different than the shirt and the gharaara and all these three pieces should be brought together by the kaam --so all of them were to have the same motifs and colour of kaam

i had worn a gharaara on my nikkah as well and i was going to wear a gharaara for my baraat as well…so for the valeema i knew i definitely wanted a a lehnga… i also knew i wanted a train, i knew i wanted the whole look to be two colours, i also knew i wanted a train and i knew i wanted it to be a double lehnga (i will explain what this means soon). double lehnga means it has two layers…it has a layer of light blue jamawar silk with kaam only on the bottom border…this kaam goes around to the back as well…then over this layer of jamawar is a layer of light blue net which has a jaal kaam on it…the shirt as you can see is dull light pink. now we come to the dupatta i wanted it to be made up of light blue jamawar, light blue net, and two pieces of pink jamawar each having different motif of kaam but same colour of kaam (see picture)

so with these things in mind i just had to design how i wanted the light blue net to go over the light blue jamwar on the lehnga and what kind of kaam i wanted on each layer and i just had to design how the pieces woulod go together on the dupatta and what motifs of kaam will go on it (the motifs were chosen at the boutique itself from the kaam they had available i chose my motifs from there)…the only tough part was finding a boutique who would be willing to do kaam on net…most boutiques i went to refused to take a lehnga that contained net since it requires double the labour to work on net…and guess what i had my makeup done at sabs and i would say a majority of the brides the makeup artists and hairdressers commented on how i was a unique bride that they had not seen a bride use the material i used on my lehnga…that made me sooo happy and confident hehe plus the jewellery i wore on my valeema was from my parents so that was also something i had designed myself…to this day the jeweller i had it made from is asking me to send him pics of the set so he can make more…

picture of dupatta

SABS for valeema
madeehas for baraat

Lovely pics huma..mashAllah..

Congrats and prayers for her ..:)

llxxll- Oh my goodness! you look like a model hunni. You look sooo beautiful its unreal mashallah. You look SO stunning on your walima. WOW. seriously Mashallah, one word 'wow' xxxxxxx Hope you have a long and successful marriage xx

^^ well said.....yea it possible to look good in non designer wear but its personal preferance, as well as budget and most importantly Whatever makes u HAPPY.........all u need is a big smile... :D ur sis looks nice.... MASHALLAH

the lehnga is really pretty

llxxll I hate u for being so creative! lol… I can’t believe u designed the jewellery urself as well! And I must say ur the first bride I have seen wearing a double lehenga with that western style train.

PS: If I need to make a lehenga at any time in the future, I think I’ll copy your train idea! (love the pic below)

One more PS: You look cuter in baraat pics, put on some weight yaar!

Oh and I forgot to say that llxxll you were totally lucky to have the dress made exactly as u wanted it to be... I mean thankfully the boutique didn't mess it up!

You must have been really really thorough in explaining and drawing sketches etc. The experiences that I've had with tailors and boutiques in pakistan have been not so good 90% of the times!

They mess up the fitting etc. very easily you know. You were very brave to trust them with your dress, especially with the net material.

Which boutique did u get it made from??

edited

This is my uncles wife's wedding dress, Isit designer or not? I cant even tell. All i know is that it is absoloutly stunning! I love it!

^ sorry yaar I'm the same as you with dresses, I can't tell either..