Mustansar Hussain Tarar

What’s his background?

What’s he up to these days?

How old is he?

I am reading one of his travelogues and it’s very entertaining. Anyone who’s been to any ‘old cities’ can relate. His prose is a bit saqueel but I can make out most of it. It’s amazing how your verbal muscles atrophy due to lack of use.

Khair, any info/comments appreciated.

Re: Mustansar Hussain Tarar

No M.H. Tarar fans here?

which one are you reading?

I don't know about his backgroung or what is he up to these days. I guess his new book was published last year. I am assuming he is in his 60s.

Undulus maiN Ajnabi. Have you read it? It's very nice!

dear

i think he rites well about his journey-- but there is one problem, he is alwys keeping himself and 'dashing hero in all his ritting ups..........there is one joke on him-------------that Ziaul Haq Qasmee-- who is like him a riter--- once wrote:

I was in plan and one lady falling sleep, threw her head on my shoulder....I did remove it,

again, she put her head on my shoulder and again i remover her's

When she did it third times-- i said to her " Look lady I am Ziaul Haq Qasmee- not Mustansar Hussain Tarar

Sorry if that hurts you, i got no more clue of him------

Kind regards
Impressionist

isn't he the host of shaadi online?

I have read all of his books about northern pakistan
I would strongly recommend NangaParbat and K2 Kahani :k:
He is an accomplished drama writer, actor (although he hasnt appeared on TV for a while now), Show host and also writes in newspapers. Lives in Lahore and is in his 60s

He is best selling writer in pakistan, second is Amjad Islam Amjad.

This can be the touchstone of his popularity in a country of 150 million inhabitants

He was the poineer host of ptv's morning transmission He was a very popular figure among folks in Pakistan ( now his popularity has declined slightly ). And a complete generation grew up watching him. He is Chacha jee for them. The generation is now in late 20s/ early 30s.

There are more thread here about him here

Similar scenes play out in the book I am reading. :D He hints he even schtupped a Lebanese doctor in his book. Khair, his book is entertaining and contains chock full of historical information.

Thanks for the recommendation. I will check them out. :k:

i think amjad islam amjad is a better writer than him :)

I have nearly finished this book. MH Tarar visited Andulusia in the 70s. So he must have been in his 30s.

yea i think mustansar husain tarar is a pakistani james bond 007.. who finds a gal where-ever he goes .. even a lame gal gets interested in him only in a few hours journey :rolleyes:

whereas amjad islam amjad rules the peotic and dramatic world :hooray:

Is Mustansar writing any new drama????????

That is true for most of Urdu travelogue writers , the are like advertisement companies who think that their book will not be popular if they do not put romance in it in the form of pretty girls from wherever they go. The girls will make a pass at them at every corner of a new country , they cannot even speak the language of the country but a girl will still be interested in them romantically not as some stranger from some other corner of the world.

When M. H. Tarar went to euorpe, it was still a free world, heavily influneced by Beatles culture .. so it might be that hoe got lucky few times ..

but other than that, I think he lost his thingamagic. He still writes his column in Akhbar-e-Jahan but its a drag now ..

I read many of his books and columns… The recent one couple of years back was Andulus maiN Ajnabi…

A great book bringing our muslim history back to mind while visiting spain and at the same time comparing it with the current culture and tradition … but for some reason, I found him a big time “choRoo” on certain occassions specially when things were about meeting a spanish girl :smack: same thing with Ata-ul-Haq Qasmi’s travelouges, for example his meeting with this european girl on train station going to Holland in his book Shoq-e-Aawaargi…

I have read hunza dastan and k-2 kahani. I tried reading Undulus main Ajnabi but the urdu was too hard and I couldn't continue read after first few pages...lol

One of his new books came out couple years back, I had started reading it but never finished it. I just forgot the name but it is about his hajj experience with his sons.

Undlus Main Ajnabi aik Arbi novel ka tarjuma thi haqeeqat main ( I mean Charba):chai:;d
Waisy andazy tehreer or chunao darust tha ky her aik perhny main dilchaspi lyny laga
Piyar Ka pehla sheher parhi:aq: Paskal wali woh kitab yaqeenan kisi French novel ka tarjuma ho gi magar ju bhi hy shandar hy:D

LOL yes he is jaisa main ny kaha yeh mirch masala os ny arbi or other novels ky trajim su churaya jisy buhat sy log nahi perhty bas fitt sahih tareeqy sy kia safar namy main:Dwaisy Hunza Dastan main Mustansar musharf Ba Islam sa ho giya hy (Ya shaid apni shadi ko dill sy qabool ker liya hy os ny is kitab ky likhny tak:hehe:)