Muslims Contribution To Science

Astronomy

Muslims have always had a special interest in astronomy. The moon and the sun are of vital importance in the daily life of every Muslim. By the moon, Muslims determine the beginning and the end of the months in their lunar calendar. By the sun the Muslims calculate the times for prayer and fasting (sawm). It is also by means of astronomy that Muslims can determine the precise direction of the Qiblah, to face the Ka’bah in Makkah, during prayer. The most precise solar calendar, superior to the Julian, is the Jilali, devised under the supervision of Umar Khayyam.
The Qur’an contains many references to astronomy.
“The heavens and the earth were ordered rightly, and were made subservient to man, including the sun, the moon, the stars, and day and night. Every heavenly body moves in an orbit assigned to it by God and never digresses, making the universe an orderly cosmos whose life and existence, diminution and expansion, are totally determined by the Creator.” [Qur’an 30:22] ……
More about Islam
tafreehmazaonline.com

Re: Muslims Contribution To Science

nice share.muslims have been without a doubt the undisputed champions of all the different fields of sciences we see today.

One of such Great Muslim Minds was Abbas Ibne Firnas,810-887 AD who built the worlds first Planetarium.
He is also credited with being the first person to attempt Manned Flight.

.Abbas ibn Firnas - Wikipedia

Thanks for sharing guys.

MuslimHeritage.Com is also a good site.

There is no link between Islam-the-religion and science.

Religions DO NOT allow science. Why?

Religions are based on "blind-followership" (that is so common in Muslims, Christians , and other religions).

Science on the other hand is based on "Questioning EVERY THING".

That's why scientists are at odds with Pakka Muslims all the times.

Those who want to spread the false rumors of "Islam and science" should answer this first!

For the last 1000s of years, why has no scientific development and innovation come out of Makkah Madina or Saudi in general?

Because "blind followers are summun bukmun. and thus scientifically illiterate.

p.s. Scientific development during Khalifatic times was done by liberal minded citizens who were hardly pakka Muslims aka Jamat Islami members.

Great video!!

Ignorance is bliss. Do not bring your insecurity into this buddy, the knowledgeable men of our ummah were great Muslims who followed the sunnah and obeyed Allah's every command. That's what's lacking today, if we had that kind of imaan today we would surpass everyone in this world.

We don't need you weak people to tell us how Muslims should progress in this world. Keep your secular thoughts at home.

Please quote the verse of Quran and Hadees ( the very base of Islam) prohibiting people from questioning, on contrary there are number of verses of Quran and hadees urging people to ask questions and do research...

I'll be waiting for the references asked above,

again the scientific development was done in different Islamic centers at different time, i.e. when the center of Islamic Leadership was Damascus then the greater Syrian territory was the birth place of such inventions, when the center shifted to Baghdad, Same transferred in the Arab region, same was repeated when the center was in Spain and in Central Asia.. only a biased person can ask such question that y Makkah and Madina didn't produced scientist etc,

Makkah and Madina has their on importance, they are not always been the center of scientific re-search and knowledge... it is like somebody saying, if Islamabad is the capital of Pakistan then why financial center is Karachi and cultural center is Lahore... why not Islamabad has not been cultural and financial center of Pakistan

and just for Burqa as he might not understand the above example, it is like why Newyork is labeled as Financial nerve center of USA why not washington???

:slight_smile: ^

For those who understand and love to learn more, I recommend this talk: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/religion-and-scripture/422700-the-need-to-revive-the-islamic-spirit.html

Dr. Abdus Salaam.

Was not only first Muslim to win the Noble Prize but also first and only Pakistani to date to win the prize. Also great example of modern day Muslim contribution to Science.

And he wasn't just Muslim in name only, but a true practicing and believing Muslim. Great role model to inspire all Muslims today in Science and beyond.

He was Qadiani, :chai:

Sorry my mistake. I didnt know Cricketplayer, that you had the authority and understanding to decide who is Muslim and who isn't. A thousand apologies. On that note let me know where you live so I can change my Qibla to your location. Obviously I have been worshiping the wrong deity.

But on a less sarcastic note, take what you can get. Beggars cant be choosers. Us Muslims are beggars when it comes to Scientific contribution in the modern world.

Same time we don't need Qadianis to represent us. They can have their own religion, we're fine with that. Just don't go around mocking Islam the pure religion by putting Qadiani beside it.

ha!

So no answer! So you can't establish the link between religion and science and yet you insist on "Islamic science".

Damishq and Baghdad were secular in nature and thus science flourished there for a while.

However once Mullahs became powerful in Baghdad especially, science was kicked out.

Just see this thread. A Pakka Muslim is not willing to respect Dr. Salaam just because of religious shenanigans.

This is exactly how Mullahs did back then. Anyone who didn't conform to strict interpretation of Mullahs was considered heretic and put to sword.

Once scientists were kicked out or killed, Mullahs went after each other litterally dragging the opposing Mullahs by pulling their beards.

Esoteric topics like Quran makhlooq hai keh Khaliq, the dualism etc. were in vogue, and the result was a terrible end of Khalifahs.

the point came when people started calling their barbers as "Khalifa ji". Because this was the status of Khalifah zadahs in the society.

But you all want to close your eyes to the present and to the past, and do ayeeen baaayeeen shaaayeeen and dig up false rumors that Sharia + mullahs allow science.

They do not!

Our Mullahs and Shariah is a ditto copy of medieval Christianity, and that's why no scientist can develop in Saudi.

Nor it did in the last 1400 years all because of Mullahs and Shariah.

And if you guys want to be summun bukmun about it. Well that's the proof right there.

Come up with more bakwas while your at it. Mocking the law of Allah and you feel good. Nice!

Hey CP

search and finout undermentioned muslim inventors SECTS too
might be u declare all of them non muslims becoz they are not belong
to your SECT. sharm magar ham ko nahi ati

Al Kharji

Ban O Mousa

Al Kindi

Abbas Iben Firnas

Sharaf Din AL Tosi

Al Masud

Al Tamimi

Ibne Sina

Al Ghazali

Ibne Khaldoon

Jaber Iben Hayan

and dozens of more nobel muslim Astronomers and Astrophysicists

Well said:k:

What are you smoking? Calling these people belonging to sects? Are you serious?!

These were pious Muslims.

AFAIK Qadiani didn’t come until late 1800s. :rolleyes:

His work and contribution to physics will be remembered for ages to come. As a Pakistani, I am truly very proud of his achievements and him being the first and so far the only noble prize winner for our country. He took his noble prize with traditional clothes of salwaar kameez and pagri, which shows how much love he had for Pakistan. People like him are born in centuries.

very very inspiring and to be proud of.

What the hell are you smokin these days?

You said Islam does not allow to Question i asked you to prove it and you come up with total non-sense, yes it is not for the 1st time you have done it, now that i know you don't know what are you talking about, so i'll just say, Peace on you and pass by...

Leave the sect-discussion apart, as none of the sect think others are muslim... and what is true islam is way out of the lead of all the sects..

Infact few of them are well-known Scholars of Islam as well as Scientist of their times...