muslims brougth up in west

I know many guppies will disagree with me here and many will say that every one is not same and stuff like that but the thing is I am disappointed to see asian british youth. And its not only with asian british its with generally all muslim youth brougth up in west. They are in the middle of no where. They try every thing possible for them to be part of this western culture and be accepted by them yet they wanna keep some of their original touch. It looks some what confused with their identity or what I dont know.

Very sad story altogether.

I am very general plz and do not intend to point some one in particular.

Re: muslims brougth up in west

^ Are you all set for heaven that you are worrying about others?

I think someone just read saadiyahs thread 'Why?' :D

The only problem I have with pakis in the west (not all desis, just pakis), is that now they have the opportunity and freedom to get advanced and get educated...yet they still don't. They'll pull all the excuses in the book just so they can be lazy bums and do things the easy way.

Well its only natural to want to "fit in", to be accepted by peers and have experiences similar to theirs...most especially when you are in your younger years. Once you reach a certain age it doesnt matter at all but well when you're a teen, its the biggest thing on the planet. They have to fit in with their western peers and also with their asian parents - a very tough job at a very tough time in life!

cut 'em some slack!

It’s true that many fail to take the opportunities for advancement. That’s just sad because peeps back home would give up everything just to get the chance to be in our place.

However, whilst it’s true that Pakistanis should achieve material success, they should also remember their culture: their shalwar kameez, Urdu zubaan, their tameez, nazaakat, buzurgon ka ehtiraam karna, and shaam ko ghar jaldee aanaa. :slight_smile:

You can't force people to follow their culture. If you wanna leave behind Pakistan, then don't expect your kids to follow thru with the culture that you decided to abandon and resist pressures to conform to local cultures.

That's a sacrifice that you gotta make. If you're not willing to make that saccrifice, then keep your hiny in Pakistan and try to change society there so that there ARE opportunities for people and that people don't try to run away from the country.

Yes, but Pak kids seem to be drawn to their culture and roots even though they are not forced… e.g. how many of us are forced to come to Gupshup?

Being a good muslim has nothing to do with geography.

I didnt said this even for once.

On the contrary, I’ve never seen as many wannabe’s (that is, people trying to be like the gora) in Pakistan.

What’s more, it’s the crappiest aspects of Western culture these guys are picking up.

In a drama about Pakistani kids born in the UK, I heared a phrase that fits very well here. The daughter says to her father:

Paani mai chalaang lagaate hain aur phir geele naa hone ki tawaqqo bhi rakhte hain.

^ yeah thats ture

I would say that its more like parents fault who insist of staying abroad as their kids are raised up, obviously main charm is education and other things. But then keeping ur kids undercontrol is almost impossible. u cant do that.

although I have mentioned asian british but its true for almost all muslims, as say the tiltle of this thread.

hmm id be more worried about the people back home , atleast people who grew up here are like that cuz thats how it is around them. What of back home ? where everyone is trying to be like this even though the culture around them is completely different ?

Kids go through an identity crisis

they get through it and tend to turn out fine and balanced... just take a look at the thirty plus year olds Its normal.

What I tend to see is that as these people get older they do turn to their roots

you can take 'em out of Pakistan, but you can't take Pakistan out of them.

On the contrary, I've never seen as many wannabe's (that is, people trying to be like the gora) in Pakistan.

What's more, it's the crappiest aspects of Western culture these guys are picking up.

dats true ! ive seen dat...

Im not going to be rude Nida…

but who speaks like that?

^ Esay there tiger....you showed her the mirror too qucikly

Hello freinds! i want to say as reply please. I think the western larka larkis very bigray huay!My girl has two friend highschool ki they are wearing the tight cloth and always talking loud and unnka father give them even mobile phone to always talk. abb tou my larki is asking new cloths and money sometime! she want to say she is wanting to job i am telling why you are work? I am not kaafi? kya hum marr gaye hain? today i am depress! my girl is eating only in her room and she waking later than me she is say she is even busy to make the roti and sometime she is wanting to eat the serial not the chapatee! yalaah ye amreeka ka influense ho gaya hai ! i am asking to my wife go back to pakistan she can stay at the with my khala in larkana with two larkis also they can find the good rishta too and i can work and send money to them in dollar! per woh mantee nahi lagta wife parr bhi amreeka ka nasha hai.