their payroll have also played a key role in keeping these differences
alive.

Although I was born into a Sayyid Sunni family, I did not know of many
differences while growing up as a child. Our families always respected
Imam Hussain (peace be upon him) and his parents and participated in
ceremonies marking the anniversary of his martyrdom (the 10th day of
the month of Muharram which is called Ashura) by reciting the first
chapter of the Quran (al-Fatihah) and other chapters and verses of the
Quran and fasted on the ninth and tenth days of that month.

Now when I give lectures on Islam to non-Muslims, one of the questions
they always ask me is if I am Shia or Sunni. I ask them if they know
the difference. They have no knowledge, other than what has been given
to them by the media. So they say Shias are the ones who are the bad
guys, the militant version of Islam, and cause all the trouble in the
Middle East these days.

These non-Muslim American audiences of mine are surprised to learn that
some of the known tyrants like Saddam Hussain and troublemakers like
the PLO and Hamas are all Sunnis, just as they are surprised to learn
that Tariq Aziz (Iraq’s Foreign Minister) was Christian and not a
Muslim.

This is what I say to them about Shi’ites."If Ali Ibn Talib (cousin of
Prophet Muhammad) was a Shia, then I am a Shia. If he was a Sunni, then
I am a Sunni *. In Islam
there are five recognized schools of Divine Law: 1) Hanafi; 2) Shafi;
3) Maliki; 4) Hambali and 5) Jafari.

The first four are called Sunni, and the fifth one, who in addition to
following sayings and actions of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH), also follows
those of Ali and consider him as the rightful successor of the Prophet,
are called Shia. The first four have many major theological differences
among themselves and according to a Christian friend of mine, “The only
time Sunnis are united is when they are fighting Shias.” Shi’ism
started as a political movement (Shia means follower or partisan) to
help Ali become successor of Muhammad (PBUH).

Around every successful popular figure, there are some admirers whose
own future interests rest with the rise of their leader. Thus in
Indiana, we have “Friends of Lugar Club”, who are hoping that some day
Senator Richard Lugar will become a US President. Nationally, we now
have a “Hillary Rodham Clinton Fan Club” with 4,000 members! Thus,
there were the Followers of Ali Club, which later on became a political
movement. During the initial battles with unbelievers, Ali, the Sword
of Islam, was in the forefront and defeated and killed many of their
leaders whose children and grandchildren, even when they became
Muslims, always remembered who killed their father (animosity).

Ali was raised by Prophet Muhammad as a child so he knew Islam very
well. Thus, when he became a judge, his judgments were based on strict
Islamic principles, much to the disappointment of many who expected him
to be lenient to the rich and powerful. He was so well respected and
trusted by both Caliph Abu Bakr and Umar, that in difficult cases they
asked his opinion.

Nevertheless, I tell my non-Muslim audience that both Shia and Sunni
have many things in common. They both believe in One God (Allah),
follow the same Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) as the last Prophet, offer five
daily-prescribed prayers, perform the prescribed fast in the month of
Ramadan, go to Mecca for the pilgrimage (hajj), read the same Quran,
and pay the poor-due.

However, my answers can only satisfy my uninformed non-Muslim audience.
The Sunni brothers, misguided by western propaganda, who are ready to
embrace non-Muslims (especially the white ones), in the pretext of
invitation to Islam, will not do so for Shia. They are ignorant Sunnis.
Our job as a missionary should be to invite both groups to the true
Islam and not chase them out. There is a movement in the Sunni world to
have Shias labeled as disbelievers. I have been told that Shaykh Bin
Baz of Saudi Arabia has declared an edict that the meat of the People
of Book (Jews and Christians) is permissible for Sunni Muslims to eat
but not the meat slaughtered by Shias.

There are scholars on both sides, like Imam Khomeini and Shaykh Shaltut
of al-Azhar who have done their best to minimize these differences and
bring unity, but it is not working due to the misinformation prevailing
in the common masses of Sunnis about Shi’ism. Thus I am listing their
misconceptions of Shia belief and practices. For answers, I have
consulted two Shia scholars in America. Dr. A. S. Hashim of Washington
and Imam Muhammad Ali Elahi of Detroit.

Professor Seyyed Hossein Nasr wrote to me “to ignore and not waste time
in responding to such wrong allegations.” He also mentioned that “a
great deal of money and effort is being spent in the last few years to
fan the fire of hatred between Shia and Sunni in the Persian Gulf
region with obvious political and economical fruits for powers to-be.”
However, in the interest of Islamic unity, I must deal with the
questions rather than shun them. Please note that Imam Jafar (peace be
upon him), founder of the Shia school of law, was the teacher of Imam
Abu-Hanifa (peace be upon him).

Misconception #1: Shias have a different Quran. They add another 10 chapters to the original Quran.

Response: Not true. I have checked many times Quran kept in Shia homes
and mosques. I still find it the same as the original Quran. More
recently, I took care of an Iranian lady patient hospitalized here. I
saw a copy of the Quran by her side. I borrowed it from her and browsed
through cover-to-cover. In Arabic it was the same as our Quran. Of
course, since I did not know the Persian language, I can’t say much
about the translation. It is a sin to even say that the Quran can be
changed or added to by Shia when God protects it.

Misconception #2: Some Shia considers Ali as God.

Response: Not true. It is disbelief to even think of such a thing.
During the time of Ali, some pagan groups called Gholat did consider
Ali as Lord. When he found out, they were burned to death.

Misconception #3: Shias have different declarations of faith and they add to the call to prescribed prayer.

Response: The declaration to become a Muslim, as administered to non-Muslims, is the same. Some Shia add to themselves, “Ali is a friend of God (PBUH) or Ali is a spiritual leader of God,” after the call to prescribed prayer, but not as part of the call to prescribed prayer.

Misconception #4: Shias do not perform Sunnah prayers. Sunnah prayers are non-obligatory prayers performed by Prophet Muhammad.

Response: Shias do perform non-obligatory prayers, 36 cycles per day in total, but call it Nawafil and not Sunnah.

Misconception #5: Some Shia believes the Angel Gabriel made a mistake and prophet hood was meant for Ali and not Muhammad (PBUH).

Response: Not true. No Shia thinks of such false claims. “Only demented minds think of such questions.”

Misconception #6: Shias slander and ridicule the first three caliphs (Abu Bakr, Umar and Uthman) and Prophet Muhammad’s wife, Ayisha.

Response: Shia considers the first three caliphs as companions and administrators, but not spiritual leaders (Imams). Imam Jafar Sadiq, whose mother and grandmother came from the line of Abu Bakr, said of Abu Bakr, “He gave me birth twice.” Ayisha is respected by Shias as the"Mother of Believers," as Ali respected her when he sent her back
from Basra to Madinah after the Battle of the Camel. If some Shia do slander the three caliphs and Ayisha, they do it out of ignorance and should ask God’s forgiveness. (As we have witnessed how Imam Khomeini The Shia bravely declared death of Salman Rushdie -The author of Satanic Verses who abused the wife of Prophet Ayesha and Shia Leader
declared blasphemy, just for his Fatwa the whole western countries became against Iran. See how much price did Shia pay to defend Ayesha - while Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, UAE etc. etc. as the Sunni government were silent they did not defend Ayesha. Now who loves Ayesha?)

Misconception # 7: Shias combine all five prayers into one prayer in the evening.

Response: Not true. In Shia mosques, whether in Iran or the USA, all five daily prayers are performed. Shia do combine noon and afternoon
and evening and night, but Shia scholars recommend performing them separately. Such combinations may not be ideal, but better than not
praying at all. How can a Sunni who does not pray at all be better than
a Shia who combines prayers?

Misconception # 8: Shias do not pay zakat (poor-due).

Response: Not true. They not only pay 2.5% left over from savings as
zakat, but also an additional 20% as Khums or general charity. However,
they prefer to pay directly to the needy rather than corrupt Sunni government.

Misconception #9: Shias practice temporary marriages (Mutah).

Response: Mutah (temporary marriages) was allowed during the time of
Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) and he himself practiced it. Ibn Zubayr was
born out of the temporary marriage. Later on Caliph Umar prohibited it
due to social reasons as the Islamic world was rapidly expanding. Shias
discourage Mutah but do not consider it prohibited. Some do abuse this.
As a temporary privilege during travel, it is better than adultery.

Misconception #10: They consider Imams infallible and above the Prophets.

Response: Not true. All prophets are born Prophet but as mentioned in
Quran about Abraham that after passing the test, a prophet becomes a
leader (Imam). Muhammad (PBUH) is the Prophet (Nabi), Messenger (Rasul)
and leader (Imam). Imams are carriers of the message of Islam. Shias
consider Ali only as an Imam and not prophet.
With the little knowledge I have, I have tried to do my best as a Sunni
in defending my Shia brothers in Islam with the hope and prayer to God
Almighty that He will “instill love in the heart of the believers” and
bring us closer to each other so that we jointly can fight our common
enemy, Satan and his followers.

May God forgive my mistakes in this article and this book (Amin).
“Knowledge is better than wealth because it protects you while you have
to guard wealth. It decreases if you keep on spending it but the more
you make use of knowledge, the more it increases. What you get through
wealth disappears as soon as wealth disappears but what you achieve
through knowledge will remain even after you.”

wassalam
Syed Mohammad Masoom*

Re: MUSLIM UNITY SHIA-SUNNI UNITY Misconception

Jazakallah Khair for sharing information. Pleasured to read this. Comparing Wahhabi to Deobandi is complicated ever. Therefore, I have found out Wahhabi or Salafi term is used for people who follow Quran and Sunnah. By the way, Sunni is the short form of Ahle Sunnah Wal Jammat.

JazakAllah...

I guess the semantics could also be some reason for the rift…

Assalam-Alikum Syed Sahib,
Thanks for such a great article.. it is really an eye-opener. Where did you learn so many things yaar? Are you an alumni of Qudaratullah Gulzar-e-Taleem? Cuz I am. Khair, your article doesn't talk about Barelvi religion and Sufism- both faiths are very close to my heart and I seriously believe they can show light to not only muslim world but the world in general.

smma59

Should we believe on internet declarations or authentic books written by shia scholars.?

please tell me the books you have read to have an understanding of shia faith.

Wasalam

I think summa 59 is just another shia in disguise.

And in trying to defend shia, he writes lies about our beloved Prophet saw.

Misconception #9: Shias practice temporary marriages (Mutah).

Response: Mutah (temporary marriages) was allowed during the time of
Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) and he himself practiced it.

In trying to defend shia he writes that Prophet saw pratied mutah ASTAGHFIRULLAH ASTAGHFIRULLAH

I have been*told* that Shaykh Bin
Baz of Saudi Arabia has declared an edict that the meat of the People
of Book (Jews and Christians) is permissible for Sunni Muslims to eat
but not the meat slaughtered by Shias.

BY WHOM?????

Jazakallah, few comments masoom bhai, to introduce some balance.

Misconception #2: Some Shia considers Ali as God.

Response: Not true. It is disbelief to even think of such a thing.
During the time of Ali, some pagan groups called Gholat did consider
Ali as Lord. When he found out, they were burned to death.

Some people who call themselves shia do consider Ali to be at par with Allah, including Agha Khanies. Mainstream/majority shias consider them all to be a brand of Nusaires, the Gholat you mention from Hazrat Ali's time, and consider such a belief to be Kufr.

Response: Shias do perform non-obligatory prayers, 36 cycles per day in total, but call it Nawafil and not Sunnah.

Not true, atleast not everyday. Non obligatory prayers for us are exactly that, and are usually prayed according to one's discretion. No shia i know prays 36 cycles everyday, but maybe thats because I only know Pakistani shias.

Response: Shia considers the first three caliphs as companions and administrators, but not spiritual leaders (Imams). Imam Jafar Sadiq, whose mother and grandmother came from the line of Abu Bakr, said of Abu Bakr, "He gave me birth twice." Ayisha is respected by Shias as the"Mother of Believers," as Ali respected her when he sent her back
from Basra to Madinah after the Battle of the Camel. If some Shia do slander the three caliphs and Ayisha, they do it out of ignorance and should ask God's forgiveness. (As we have witnessed how Imam Khomeini The Shia bravely declared death of Salman Rushdie -The author of Satanic Verses who abused the wife of Prophet Ayesha and Shia Leader
declared blasphemy, just for his Fatwa the whole western countries became against Iran. See how much price did Shia pay to defend Ayesha - while Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, UAE etc. etc. as the Sunni government were silent they did not defend Ayesha. Now who loves Ayesha?)

some shias, particularly in the subcontinent do blaspheme the caliphs and even Bibi Ayesha. That is usually representative of village mentality and a desire of "scholars" to increase their fanbase by cashing in on sectarian passions.

"Tabarra" is a shia term for disassociating oneself from people or ideas one considers wrong. This has been warped to name calling and flaming, which is very sad.

That said, there have been incidents that i know of where some shias objected to such cursing from the pulpits enough to eventually result in brawls.

Response: Not true. They not only pay 2.5% left over from savings as
zakat, but also an additional 20% as Khums or general charity. However,
they prefer to pay directly to the needy rather than corrupt Sunni government

The corrupt sunni govt has relevance in Pakistan, but even in Iran, the zakat/khums is administered by religious authorities rather than govt ones (if they happen to be the same then so be it :) ).

The negative aspect of shia zakat laws are that they havent evolved from the time of the Prophet. A lot of the rules just dont apply anymore, for example most people dont stock their savings in camels and silk.

Response: Not true. All prophets are born Prophet but as mentioned in
Quran about Abraham that after passing the test, a prophet becomes a
leader (Imam). Muhammad (PBUH) is the Prophet (Nabi), Messenger (Rasul)
and leader (Imam). Imams are carriers of the message of Islam. Shias
consider Ali only as an Imam and not prophet.

Hm well, thats shaky ground. I dont know if a Prophet becomes an imam after a test, I do know that the notion of Imamate is that of the sunni connotations of vicegerent. Ibrahim was such a vicegerent, and in shia faith each generation of man has such a vicegerent physically present in them. Why? I dont know.

This very topic has been throughly discussed before: Check the following thread

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=180193&highlight=Misconception

There are two issues with "Muslim Unity".

1. Unity based on religious Maulvis is bound to fail. There is no room for negotiations, give-and-take, as everyone gets their orders directly from Allah.

2. Unity means benefit for the "uniting" groups. Muslims countries are so diverse economomically and geographically that it is very difficult to offer each other concrete benefits for the "uniting" members. So this "unity club" is a failure just see the example of Oh-I-See (OIC).

That is why "muslim unity" crowd is limited to "halwa khori" (dinner and dance) and nothing else.

^ and European Union is possible because they are uniformly aligned in economy, culture and diversification etc..... such pessimism.

Pessimism or pragmatism.

EU succeeded and Oh-I-See failed. What gives?

what they need is introspection, well defined objectives, extend scope etc. of course it won't work when your money is not where your mouth is. If one organization failed doesn't mean all will fail.

Respected smma59
Assalam-o-Alaikum and welcome to GupShup
Mashallah and Jazakallah for sharing your nice views. I generally agree with what you have written. May I add something more?
The single most important issue in being called a SHIA is allegience to Hazrat Ali (KAW). Any one who testified to this doctrine was called a Shia. Later, many divisions and differences crept in them. Most inportant ones were/are Twlelvers, Ismailies and Zaidies. Among Twelvers are the Usulis and Akhbaris. All of them are SHIA on the base of allegience to Hazrat Ali (KAW), but they have certain differences. It has had happened in past that certain references of one Shia group were taken by critics and imposed on another Shia group. This led to certain misconceptions about them in the minds of those who were not Shias. Even among Twelvers, the refernces quoted by Usulis at times are not agreed upon by the Akhbaris. Similarly most of the times references given by one school of thought are not agreed upon by the other. When a group tries to adopt the way of reconciliation, by way of a book or speech, the other comes up with another book or speech to refute them. And the process goes on.
You have done a good job by trying to highlight these misconceptions. Rest everyone has certain prejudices and idiosynchracies. Some will consider it a good effort and some would start doubting your own intentions.
Just have a faith in Allah and keep on doing the good work.
Wassalam.

As salamu alikum,
First i would like to say thanks to all members and their coments. Some tried to find the faults and some said i am defending any sect. At this point i would also like to clear i am neigther a shia nor a sunni. I am MUSLIM and Muslim only. And that article is not written by me. It was written by a muslim Brother
Shahid Athar M.D. is Clinical Associate Professor of Internal Medicine and Endocrinology, Indiana University School of Medicine Indianapolis, Indiana, and a writer on Islam.

Here by sending this message my intention was to invite all muslims on one plateform that is MUSLIM UNITY. So i request all the members to concentrate of that Muslim Unity Not on the difference of different sects.

For those differences we can discuss in other threads by point to point in a islamic manner by keeping following point in your mind..

• Theological differences between Shia and Sunni are old and are better left for God to judge, as He knows best and has said in the Quran that He is the final judge of religious disagreements. The killing of Shias or Sunnis will not resolve these disputes.
  • The principle of "no compulsion in matters of faith" (Quran 2:256) is not just limited to Muslim-non-Muslim relations. It applies to Muslim interpretations of Islam as well. This instruction of God serves as a guideline for the Muslim community to not impose one's interpretation on others. That is why throughout history, not only have Hanafis and Shafis worked with each other despite differences, but Shias and Sunnis have lived and worked side by side with each other as well.
  • When human beings sit down and talk to each other, they learn to respect each other.
  • Dialog allows parties to understand each other better by allowing participants to acquire direct knowledge about beliefs instead of relying on propaganda and stereotypical images. (Quran 49:6-12)
  • Dialog will isolate the extremist fringe. It is a major sin to kill a human being. Killing a human being is like killing the whole of humanity. By talking to each other, Shias and Sunnis will be able to save lives, which is like saving the whole of humanity. (Quran 5:32)
  • Revenge is not justice. Killing in revenge is unjust, inhuman, and un-Islamic. Retribution through the state, which the Quran sanctions via capital punishment does not amount to individuals taking the law in their hands or killing an innocent person in revenge. The call for, "an eye for an eye," does not mean an innocent eye for an innocent eye.
  • Even if some Shias and Sunnis consider each other enemies, the Quran asks us to be just even toward one's enemy "O you who believe! Stand out firmly for God, as witnesses to fair dealing, and let not the hatred of others to you make you swerve to wrong and depart from justice. Be just: that is next to Piety: and fear Allah. For Allah is well-acquainted with all that you do." [Quran 5:8] MIGHT IS RIGHT IS A PRE ISLAMIC THEORY. NOW WE HAVE QURAN AND TEACHINGS OF OUR HOLY PROPHET (s.a.w) AND LOVE FOR AHLULBAITH. DO YOU NOT THINK THERE ARE BIG BIG DIFFERENCES IN CHARISTIANS, JEW? WHY THEY ACT UNITEDLY AGINST MUSLIMS?

I once more say thanks to Dr. Sufi for beatiful comments here and also beautiful words in one thered MUSLIM UNITY..

It is high time that we should forget about these labels and become only Muslims, because all the Non-Muslims are one and united. Don't we see that when it comes to Non Muslims, the west potrays them as Nazis, Indians, Russians, Israelis, Americans, British, French Japanese, Chinese etc etc and not Jews, Christians, Catholics, Protestants, Hindus etc. But when it comes to Muslims, west potrays them as Shias, Sunnis, Wahabbis, Kurds, Druze, Ismailees, Moderates, Fundamentalists, Radicals etc etc.

My friends, its high time that we should **hold fast to the Rope of Allah **and let no Schism divide us. Becuase it started with Afghanistan, went to Iraq, has spread to Lebanon and who knows, where would it go in future. Act before its too late.

hope all the members will try to understand Importance of muslim or Islamic unity.

wassalam
Syed Mohammad Masoom

Beautiful thoughts mashallah masoom bhai.

But there are some valid questions asked by some like brother Ravage and Ibn Sadique, promoting harmony should not be at the cost of truth, we could better co exist with out making provocative comments about respected Ahle bait:razi: and Shabah:razi: , every one is entitled to hold a certain belief , rather then misqouting belief of one sect we should better learn to respect others trying to keep certain disputed believe to our selves.

Thos questioned your first post are equally willing to promote harmony but NOT at the cost of some lies.

Wasalam

As salamu alikum brother Bao bihari,

Liers are Disbelievers is written in quran so using word like lie for difference of openion is not correct word. Ofcourse it is our duty to search the truth. But we msut also learn to respect others openions.
Think why we are muslim? Because our father was a muslim? or we adopted islam after learning islam properly. In majority of cases we act like muslim(shia, sunni wahabi ) muslim because of our fathers sect.
I am wahabi because my father was wahabi and my duty is to declare other liers, I am shia because my father was shia so it is my duty to declare others lier. It not a proper way.

And our bad luck that majority of muslims falls in this category and discuss on islamic differences without having proper knpwledge of islam or without learning islam and increase differences among muslms.

what Our brother ravage said is his own thinking which is based of extreamist muslims and some on his own findings.
for example i said Some Shia considers Ali as God which is not true. and he is discussing abut nusahri and extreamist. Do you think any reply required on this matter. This is not islamic difference but a difference of openions.

He is also my muslim brother and have right to ask question and clarification. Normally people do not ask question but take objections and force others to accept what they said was right. which is wrong.

Brother if you think any sect of muslim speak lie on any matter please tell. and never forget The enemies of Islam to their benefit have always fanned
these differences. Unfortunately, some so-called Muslim scholars on their payroll have also played a key role in keeping these differences alive.

wassalam

Bhai you got me wrong-

I am not referring to some sect rather was commenting on some misqoutes from the original articles Dr shahid athar?

Ok- My original questioned , have you varified the claims of Dr shahid? have you read books of others groups ?

Respect based on some illinformed source do not last longer, trust me :)

Peace

As salamu alikum Brother,
Do you not think we must study more on this topic before making any comment that Dr. Shahid is a lier or trying to defend any sect. He is a our muslim brother an d want islamic unity. If there is any difference , discuss it with proper reference of Quran and hadith. Please tell me is it true that Zubayr al-Sahabi married Asma, the daughter of Abu Bakr, and from this union were born ‘Abdallah ibn Zubayr and ‘Urwah ibn Zubayr. These figures were all among the most famous companions of the Holy Prophet.

A muslim fights for the respect of Our Holy Propeht (s.aw) and never write lies about him. do not think i am trying to say what Dr shahid said is 100% right. I respect differences of openions by thinking positevely about him.

wassalam