If you haven’t already come across it, i’d recommend that you read Mustafa Al-Kanadi’s book on the The Islamic Ruling on Music and Singing. It is a very useful discussion of this topic in the English language that includes an analysis of some relevant hadith, the views of early Muslim scholars as well as looking at the permissible kinds of music and singing and when they can be used.
When clear evidence comes to us from Qur'aan and Sunnah, as Muslims we must take it into our beliefs and actions. By saying that the Sufis practice something, does not make it lawful, particularly when the Qur'aan or the ahadeeth prohibit that very same thing.
We ought to follow the Sunnah of the Prophet - salalllaahu 'alayhi wa sallam - not the sunnah of the sufis or any other!
&peace
"No leaf falls excet that He knows of it, and no rain drop forms except that He has willed it."
Question:
Assalammualaikum wrm.wbt I just want to know about the music in Islam. Manay people and Ulama' said that it's khilaf'. Refer to Dr Yusof Qardawi opinion, he said that our attitute to the music can beazimah' and rukhsah'. Could you explain to me more detail about it. I also like to know your opinion about the mordern music such asorchestra'and `jazz'. Wassalam....
Answer:
Dear Br. M. As-Salaamu Alaykum. Regarding your question: indeed, the issue of Music has been an issue of debate and disagreement between Muslim scholars. Since the question has been very popular, we may be doing a long feature about the subject to clarify it and deal with it in more depth. Since we are still under pressure for the number of questions, we will give you a brief answer. The way we see it is that Islamic Law allows the listening to music under certain guidelines and conditions: First, it should not be the type that is loud, violent, and tough such as Hard Rock, Heavy Metal, etc.... If, on the other hand, it is calm and allows time for relaxation and contemplation, then it is permissible. Second, it should not have any parts that excite, arouse sexual feelings, or any other behavior such as suicide or violence. In that way, soft music such as classical music is permissible. Also, as in any activity, it should never take away from any prescribed worshipping activities such as prayers. It is important here to note that Islamic Law requires a person to read and listen to the Quran to appreciate it, understand it, and reflect on the signs Allah Almighty has revealed. This can be done early in the morning, late at night, or at any time of the day. What was said about music is different, because music should be listened to under guidelines, and as a mean of occasional relaxation. It should not be at the expense of the Qur'an or any other Islamic activity. Thank you for asking, and as-salaamu alaykum.
Source:
IslamiCity
There are Hadiths that people site to prove that music is legal, for example about the one where duff was played while AnHazoor (saw) entered Madina.
There are others where AnHazoor (saw) didn't approve of Music (a few are cited in the above mentioned link).
So it comes down to personal judgment. If you read all the data there is, you will be certain of at least one thing ... that music wasn't favored or encouraged by the Holy Prophet (saw).
... in fact it was prohibited by the Prophet (SAW). The only permissible musical instrument is the 'duff' and that too is restricted to certain occasions as the link provided by Iqbal explains.
mo_best,
The Religion is not there to be followed as you please, picking and choosing what you desire. Rather, it is there to be followed in its entirety.
The purpose of this life is not to live a 'musical carnival'. Are you prepared to indulge in the temporary enjoyment of this world at the cost of permanent enjoyment in the Hereafter?
The enjoyment of this world that you have in mind, shall only bring you closer to the carnival of the Hell Fire - distress, misery and torment.
**40.39 "O my people! This life of the present is nothing but (temporary) enjoyment: it is the Hereafter that is the Home that will last
20.131 Nor strain thine eyes in longing for the things We have given for enjoyment to parties of them, the splendor of the life of this world, through which We test them: but the provision of thy Lord is better and more enduring.
10.70 A little enjoyment in this world!- and then, to Us will be their return, then shall We make them taste the severest chastisement for their disbelief.
3.197 Little is it for enjoyment: Their ultimate abode is Hell: what an evil bed (to lie on)!**
When clear evidence comes to us from Qur'aan and Sunnah**
in this case only Hadith (Sunnah for those who believe these narrations really do tell what the Prophet did and said). Qur'an never stopped you from listening to music or banned any particular musical instruments.
Now imagine, if those who say Music is Haram, come to govern Pakistan. They will close all shops that sell music, will ban music on Radio and TV. In short, it will be like Taliban’s Afghanistan. Really Islamic.
I would rather be in hell with Nusrat Fatah Ali Khan and Suraya Multani, than to be in paradise with some Moulana (yeah, you keep Janat, I will take Firdous).
Boy am I glad that I play Tabla (which is very similar to Duff), so I have 50/50 chance. My son plays Alto Sax, I told him he made a mistake.
Buhut to nahi Kahon Ga Magar Sirf Itna Janta hon aur kai Kitabon main parha hay keh "Moseequi, cha hay woh kisi bhi shakal main ho, agar Allah ki yaad say dil ko door lay jaa eay to haram hay".
I was wondering if nasheeds would also come under the category of 'forbidden/not permissible/disliked'. I remember reading a fatwa or a hadith stating that singing & daff has been permitted for women only. Does that mean nasheeds by Yusuf Islam, Zain Bhikha, etc. are not permissible to listen to?
May Allah (SWT) forgive me if I've said anything wrong.
Brother its not a case of choosing parts of the faith, I admit that I am still at the very beginning of the learning curve when it comes to Islam, and at this time a lot of islamic rulings seem funny to me. But perhaps as a grow in knowledge my perception of Islamic jurispudance and stuff will change to accomodate views more inline with Al E sunna wa al jamat.
Until I learn though, my love of music and catrnivals will not diminish. Thats why Sufis are so cool, whats why the west sees them as the best reps of Islam-they are peaceful and do not have silly rulings. They win X amount of converts cos ppl can relate to Islam in the pure sufi way. :)
And oh yeah my shiekh and the blessings of my master Rasooil Allah will save me from the hellfire-insha allah. :)
[QUOTE] Originally posted by Sadiaa: *
**Does that mean nasheeds by Yusuf Islam, Zain Bhikha, etc. are not permissible to listen to?*
The book i referred to earlier, and provided a link for, addresses this issue and a lot of the other queries raised above. I believe the author deals with this whole topic in a fair, balanced and dispassionate manner and provides ample support for the conclusions he arrives at. In short, the book comes highly recommended.
Iqbal, the book/link you have provided is anything but unbiased and dispassionate. Right from the word go it sets out to condemn music and through out the text you can see to which side the author is inclined.
The book i referred to earlier, and provided a link for, addresses this issue and a lot of the other queries raised above. I believe the author deals with this whole topic in a fair, balanced and dispassionate manner and provides ample support for the conclusions he arrives at. In short, the book comes highly recommended.
[QUOTE] Originally posted by Scratch: *
**Iqbal, the book/link you have provided is anything but unbiased and dispassionate. Right from the word go it sets out to condemn music and through out the text you can see to which side the author is inclined. *
I prefer to go with the author when he says in the Preface to the book:
"The legality of music and singing in the Islamic shari'ah (the divinely-revealed law) is an issue which is hotly debated among individuals and scholars in Islamic societies of our present day. Arriving at the correct view requires unbiased, scholarly research of the available literature which must be supported by authentic, decisive proof. "
The fact that he faithfully discusses exceptions to the general rule of prohibition also shows that he aims at giving a complete picture, not just one view.
We need to be careful with labeling something unislamic/islamic or halal/haram. These are strong words that need a little more proof than just how one was brought up.
Secondly, at the end of the day to everyone is his religion.
For this specific case, in my opinion, there is no clear ruling on either side. As hard it is to prove that Quran prohibits music, it’s evenly hard to prove that the Holy prophet (saw) fancied it.
*Originally posted by Iqbal1089: *
I prefer to go with the author when he says in the Preface to the book:
"The legality of music and singing in the Islamic shari'ah (the divinely-revealed law) is an issue which is hotly debated among individuals and scholars in Islamic societies of our present day. Arriving at the correct view requires unbiased, scholarly research of the available literature which must be supported by authentic, decisive proof. "
The fact that he faithfully discusses exceptions to the general rule of prohibition also shows that he aims at giving a complete picture, not just one view.
Iqbal
The article is biased. Just because he states that he is being unbiased doesn't mean that he is true to his claims. If you read the content, the first line of every argument clearly shows which way his vote is swinging.